We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice rooms, but service needs improvement”
Review of Gingerbread Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gingerbread Hotel
Reviewed June 12, 2014

The rooms of this hotel are really wonderfull and everything you need is available in the room.
The room service (cleaning) is not as it should be. The dishes were washed but still greasy so we had to do the dishes all over again ourselves.
Also when we asked the staff when they came in to clean the room for clean towels but despite are explicit request they were NOT changed.
The excuse was that we need to throw them on the floor if you want them to be changed. But we asked the staff when they entered the room for cleaning to change them and anyone could see they were dirty and needed changing. Really this cleaning service is not up to standard. Also it was said that this was written in the room (to drop the towels on the floor), but we could not find this notice anywhere in the room.
Despite this point we loved are stay and we would definitely come back. We do hope the service will be improved by that time.

Room Tip: Room # 2 is where we stayed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 58 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Gingerbread over the recent Easter weekend and could not have been happier with it. The building has that quintessentially Caribbean feel with detailed and well maintained creole fretwork all around. The room was spacious, spotlessly clean, free wifi, kitchen stocked with free coffee, tea and ample anti-mossie supplies including those great zapper raquets! All in a lovely location set in a well tended mature garden just back from the shore with the walkway to Port Elizabeth steps away. A great selection of lovely cakes, coffees and icecreams at the Gingerbread cafe on site. And a warm welcome from owner Pat Mitchell on arrival.... All in all excellent! Recommended for those looking to enjoy the laidback ambience of Bequia from a central location with plenty of amenities onsite and nearby....

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaribJDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Stopped here for Ice cream and refreshments after a lot of exploring. What a wonderful way to sit and relax and enjoy the bay and all the sailboats.Price was as to be expected but wow, what a place. We'll be back

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Homerclees S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

This review only relates to the lovely Gingerbread café next to the hotel of the same name on the Belmont Walkway. It has several tables under the shady trees with a great view of the bay. The coffee was excellent and the cakes are also first class. It does get very busy however when there are cruise ship passengers in town.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 944FrequentTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

we didn't stay there, we were on a sailing cruise and anchoring in the bay, but were there for the 3rd time and (over 25 years) and we enjoyed good Food, excellent bakery and the best ice cream we ever had (including hagen daz :-). Nothing better than sitting in the shadow of a tree by the beach Promenade and simply enjoy life.

Room Tip: Sorry, we only enjoyed restaurant and bakery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is our second time at the Gingerbread, and it's truly magical in every way. This time we were lucky to stay in room 2 which is the one on the brochure. The view, the welcome from Pat the owner, the girls in the coffee shop and in Restuarant are just lovely.
When coming to Bequia you have to understand its nothing like all the other Caribean islands. It's almost under developed and quite rustic, it's not all 5* but if you like to go and be on your own this is the place to relax. We like the Gingerbread as its in the hub of Restaurants and things to do, we ate at a different Restuarant every night of our weeks stay.
It is not the easiest of places to get to, but when you do it is like Heaven.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Bluenos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I stayed for one wonderful week at Gingerbread. The owner Mrs. Pat Mitchell was everything a foreigner needs. My upstairs suite was large and comfortable. It had a full kitchen and built in small eating area. The balcony was huge with enough furniture and lighting. The 'on property' restaurant was open from breakfast thru dinner. Curtis and Sandra of Challenger Taxi were my excellent tour guides. Bequia is a quiet, restful place. Don't go there if your looking for the 'Caribbean'. It's a sweet, sweet West Indian haven for people who appreciate the sound of the rolling tide, quiet byways, local artists and conversations with friendly folks. Cons: Mosquitos at night and invisible flies in the daytime. Take something with Deet and you'll be fine. ENJOY.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madelaine111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Elizabeth
1 mi away
Spring Hotel Bequia
Spring Hotel Bequia
#1 of 1 in Port Elizabeth
73 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sugar Reef Bequia
Sugar Reef Bequia
#2 of 10 in Bequia
185 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bequia Beach Hotel Luxury Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Blue Lagoon Hotel and Marina
1.2 mi away
Firefly Bequia Plantation Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Old Fort Natural Hotel
The Old Fort Natural Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mount Pleasant
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gingerbread Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gingerbread Hotel

Address: | Admiralty Bay, Port Elizabeth, Bequia
Location: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > Bequia > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Port Elizabeth
Price Range: $120 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gingerbread Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Gingerbread Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gingerbread Hotel Bequia/Port Elizabeth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing