We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful, so disappointing” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mimosa House & Apartment

Mimosa House & Apartment
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Elizabeth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mimosa House & Apartment
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awful, so disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

... and very unfriendly staff/owner - mosquito mire, had to move out. Over-prices and under-serviced - do not deserve guests.
Recommend yous tay elsewhere on island, do not be tempted by lovely garden, turns into mosquito infested lake in summer - staff can barely be bothered to locate spray let alone close rooms, or clean properly..

Room Tip: stay elsewhere - island is full of places full of charm. Do not be deveived by outside appearance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlp0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed at Mimosa for a week (grandparents, and two families including 3 children aged 4, 6, 8). The location was wonderful - proper beach front and beautiful garden. However the amenities were poor, and the house was uncomfortable. The mosquitos were a major problem - our whole party including my 4 year old daughter suffered with tens of bites nightly.

The review above mentioning this is in our experience accurate.

Things got so bad that we ended up checking into a charmless, but air conditioned and mosquito free room down tne road to be able to sleep comfortably.

The owners were unapologetic and arrogant. Other people in our party (on bequia for a wedding) stayed at various other properties which we visited and which were substantially better.

(Note, our travel date is incorrect - we went in 2010 but i can no longer select this. i am only a recent user of trip advisor so did not post a review earlier, however felt so strongly about this visit thought i should share our experience to help others make an informed choice).

Room Tip: Over priced
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mick b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2011

We planned a very nice stay in Bequia and got very much disapointed. We payed US$ 7000,- in advance for 22 days to stay and reached at the place and could not believe it. There is a nice garden and a nice old House when you look from the outside. But better do not go inside. Since nobody lived there since quite a while the animals took over the place. You see moskitos, Cockroaches and others all over the place. You don t find any safety deposit box, no pool, no washing mashine, no dish washer, no propper electrical appliances, no TV, no CD or Radio player but a lot of holes in the Moskito net around your bed. The house needs overall maintenance badly. Since it is located just at the beach it is probably worth going there if you pay less than half the price.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ReneHamburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mimosaBequia, Owner at Mimosa House & Apartment, responded to this review, April 5, 2011
Such a shame that Rene was disappointed and did not read our information prior to booking. We pride ourselves on providing what our guests need. Not everyone wants TV's and CD players but when requested we do have them all available. In fact we did provide a radio/casette and Barbeque when his wife asked for it. I am sure Rene knew all this.

So sorry Renee was unable to enjoy the tranquility and natural beauty of Mimosa House. We maintain the property in good clean condition and ensure that everything functions. Bequia is a small island with no central water system which is why we include free laundry facilities.

I am glad Rene appreciated our house and garden as we strive to provide a welcoming environment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bohuslän
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2009

We stayed in the Mimosa House for almost 3 weeks.
The best location in Bequia - no doubt! Close to the beach - wonderful garden - the Belmont walking to Port Elizabeth.
Like a kinder egg - all in one.

We where six people in the house - and it is the most relaxing vacation ever. We did not have to hustle like - "should we go to the beach now - or later?" Anyone felt going to the beach did. Who wanted to spend the day in the garden reading did. Who wanted to take a dive in the sea from the dock did. Who wanted to take a 5 minutes walk to town did.

Same in the evening.
We went out. The ones who wanted to go home did - the rest stayed out. And whenever - just a few minutes and then we where home.

The rooms are big and nice decorated. The view fabolouse. The breeze nice. The bathrooms niiiice.

Best of all?
The feeling of relaxation in the swinging chairs?
The view?
The prekitchen - just to make drinks in?

Hard to say.
We just looooved it.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annalyza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
0.0 mi away
Spring House Bequia
Spring House Bequia
#1 of 1 in Port Elizabeth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gingerbread Hotel
Gingerbread Hotel
#3 of 7 in Port Elizabeth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bequia Plantation Hotel
Bequia Plantation Hotel
#1 of 7 in Port Elizabeth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mimosa House & Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mimosa House & Apartment

Property: Mimosa House & Apartment
Address: PO Box 187, Port Elizabeth VC0400, Bequia
Location: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > Bequia > Port Elizabeth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Port Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Mimosa House & Apartment Bequia/Port Elizabeth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing