We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Ripley Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ripley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Have recently returned from a two night stay, on arrival we were greeted by two friendly receptionists, our two daughters were kindly given crayons and colouring pages whilst we were waiting to be checked in (we arrived early). On entering our room (11), we were pleasantly surprised by how spacious it was. Also the cleanliness was of a very high standard. Throughout our stay all staff including Housekeeping and Reception were very friendly and helpful. We were a little worried after reading reviews about noise, but other than occasional footsteps from the room above, there were no issues.

We ate at the Brewers Fayre on both evenings, on the first night we ordered the sausages, these were disappointing to say the least, anaemic looking and tasteless. At this point we were a little worried about the breakfast booked for the following day, that was pre-paid. We need not have been as it was thoroughly enjoyable, the variety available meant that there was something for each of us. All in all a great start to the day! We decided to give this place another chance on the second evening, I ordered the Smothered Chicken and my partner ordered the Gammon, this was a big improvement on the previous nights. I must add that on both occasions the children enjoyed their meals.

We would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Peak District and will be returning.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheza77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (682)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

495 - 501 of 682 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

This reservation was for the first night only of a 5 night trip to visit Crich Tramway museum, steam railway lines in Yorkshire, and the National Rail Museum in York. The other nights were booked with another 'chain', which enabled us to do a good comparisons.
The Premier Inn Ripley was chosen due to its excellent location on the edge of the peak district, short driving distance to Crich tramway museum, and being just a few miles off the M1. The hotel is located on the main route into the Peak district, so do expect some road noise. Their is a Brewers Fayre adjacent, and a big Sainsburys next door. Their is also an Ikea a few miles down the road! The hotel has a secure, barrier controlled car park.
Check-in was quick and easy - the receptionist very helpful with a big smile and warm welcome to all guests.
We had booked a room suitable for disabled guests (located on ground floor), as this gives a large walk-in shower ideal for those who have mobility issues that make using a bathtub difficult. The twin bedded room was clean, with air conditioning, tea/coffee making facilities, small flat screen tv etc. Their is a small hanging area for clothes. The beds are indeed very comfortable with good quality pillows and duvets provided. My only small gripe about the large 'shower' room is a lack of shelf space round the wash handbasin for washbags, razors etc.
The Brewers Fayre pub adjacent is obviously very popular with hotel guests, but also with locals, as it was extremely busy during our stay. As other TA's have pointed out, book a table in advance especially at weekends. The carvery is extremely popular, and had already sold out by 6.30pm the evening we went! The all you can eat buffet breakfast at around £8 is a bargain - especially for those with big appetites! However, if you just want a standard fried brekkie, my advice would be to use the Sainsburys cafe.
Overall a very good one night stay with a good nights sleep!

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the car park will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OdieUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Looking for a place to stay and spend a short break in the Peak District without costing the earth AND getting some sun as well what more could you ask for! Situated right on the edge of the Peak District its a superb location. However, this Premier Inn has one draw back - Noise from the nearby road and because of the weather, wanting room windows open was a big compromise - yes, we know the rooms have a really good air conditioning unit and it did work exceedingly well - but we like real air coming in the window, probably our age but there you are! So the noisy road. Unfortunately we had a room facing it and the traffic stopped around 2.00am and started again about 4.00am..... I know because I couldn't get over because of it. Shut the windows, aircon on and fine, but very stuffy so put up with the noise. I guess during a normal stay this would not be a problem but my advise whilst the weather is so good is to ask for a room facing the carpark. We knew on this occassion we would not be able to change rooms as they were full. Only noise you'll get then is the Police helicopter as it lifts off from police HQ across the road. The Premier itself was as we'd expect, spot on rooms, clean, tidy, staff really helpful and obliging and cannot fault them. The bonus for us was the Brewers Fayre pub / restaurant adjacent to the Premier. Good pub grub - ate there both nights of our stay, with breakfasts both mornings. Food excellant, hot, hot, hot! Go for the buffet 'eat what you want' offers that change daily. It's a real bargain, but suggest you book Fridays & Saturdays as they were queuing out of the doors and obviously come from nearby Riply for meals. The coffee machine (it's round the corner past the food serving point) is a dream. Churns out spot on whatever you want and as many as you want. Look on line and you'll probably find a freebie money off voucher for the food - I did, and lo and behold received another one from the staff for my meal the following night. Oh and did I forget to mention the huge beer selection. Well done Riply team - you keep a good pint and weather like it was it was brill to come back and sit outside and let that real nice brew quench our thirst. So, if you want a good place as a base for a Peak District trip I would recommend the Premier at Riply.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the car park it'll be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lincsdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great place to stay, lovely staff and excellent rooms with very a good shower in the bathroom! Also car parking was easy, the breakfast was good and we received full attention from the restaurant staff. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 944Mattster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night, car park big and secure, reception team efficient and friendly. Room was spotless, had a meal in the adjoining restaurant again great. Yet another quality Premier Inn, highly recommended

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BenjaminPops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

You know what to expect from a Premier Inn and this delivered. Clean rooms, efficent service offered by cheerful and smiling staff, an average breakfast but overall a good value package. It would be stretching a point to say "everything's premier" but certainly no complaints for a decent place to lay one's head for the night.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Reception staff very welcoming. Room as expected, high standard of cleanliness and decor. Thank goodness for air conditioning as it was very hot on the night we were there. The restaurant next door was good. It happened to be "Curry buffet night" and we both enjoyed an excellent curry - 6 to choose from.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graunty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ripley
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Alfreton
Travelodge Alfreton
#1 of 1 in Alfreton
270 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Lion Hotel
The Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Belper
362 reviews
4.7 mi away
Premier Inn Mansfield Hotel
Premier Inn Mansfield Hotel
#1 of 2 in South Normanton
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Makeney Hall Hotel
Makeney Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Belper
1,073 reviews
6.2 mi away
Days Inn Chesterfield Tibshelf
6.2 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Ripley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Ripley Hotel

Address: Nottingham Road, Ripley DE5 3QP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Ripley
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ripley
Price Range: $61 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Ripley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the edge of the Peak District, ideal location to visit Matlock, Matlock Bath and the popular Chatsworth Estate. With Sherwood Forest, Centre Parcs and Alton Towers all within easy access. Excellent universally accessible facilities available, including a wet room and inter-connecting family/carer rooms. With Derby and Nottingham on our doorstep you can shop till you drop, then enjoy a relaxing evening in our Brewers Fayre, Buffet Place Bar and Restaurant situated next door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Ripley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Ripley Hotel Ripley
Premier Inn Ripley Hotel Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing