We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“sunflower house amazing”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Amble, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
gardennan...
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“sunflower house amazing”
Reviewed August 28, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Stayed at sunflower house for a week wish we could have stayed longer. John and Irene were most welcoming and the extra touches ie wine chocs milk in fridge were a very kind thought. We will most certainly stay here again on our next visit to Northumberland.The house is a few mins walk from shops restaurants pubs and 5 mins to harbour Excellent fish and chips. Also very central to lots of attractions

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 7, 2017
Thank you for your generous review. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay in Amble and appreciated the many delights of Northumberland. We hope you are able to return, and stay at Sunflower House again, sometime in the future. Best wishes from John and Irene.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladylesle...
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“ALL you need & GREAT LOCATION”
Reviewed August 5, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

House was really lovely with EVERYTHING you need. Very modern & spacious, safe & secure location, very friendly owners who welcomed us personally leaving home-made jam & chocolates, parking was no problem, house was very clean, had all modern things you'd need for a week, eg. internet, washer, HUGE TV, wide range of DVD's & books plus Tourist info. A modern & fully equipped kitchen, lovely private courtyard to sit in sunshine with cold beer. Handy for strolling to shops & main street just 1-minute walk & all restaurants & pubs plus for the harbour & pier. We loved Amble & have been to the area a few times, will gladly re-book this property. Thanks guys. PS. Sorry for the late review, life has been Hectic. Cheers & Good Luck, Andy & Lesley

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 6, 2017
Thanks Andy and Lesley for a great review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.
Best wishes
John and Irene
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven B
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Late booking turned out very well! ”
Reviewed July 11, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

A deceptively spacious and wonderful little home from home in a great location to explore the Northumberland coast.
We did just this on our first visit to the area and would go back. Close to Amble centre and harbour whilst being quietly situated.
The personal touch from the owners in contacting us prior to our visit and also meeting us at the house was great, we were made to feel very welcome.
Would definitely use the house again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 18, 2017
Thank you for your warm review. We are really happy you enjoyed your first visit to the area and would love to welcome you and your children back to the house. It was lovely to meet you all.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindaandi...
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cozy and comfortable”
Reviewed June 30, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The house is about a 5 minute walk from the harbour close to shops so is ideally situated. There are lots of things to see and do around Amble and the surrounding area. The house was cozy - although it was June we had a cold week so needed the heating on, which warmed the house. The bed was very comfortable with a good mattress. It was very clean and had everything we needed. It's in a quiet neighbourhood and the owners are very welcoming.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 18, 2017
Thank you for your review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and found plenty to do despite less than favourable weather. Glad you found the house comfortable. Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oudi14
Marsh Harbour, Great Abaco Island
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A very satisfying week”
Reviewed June 29, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The rental is right in the middle of town, on a quiet residential street. Three bedrooms, one full bathroom upstairs, everything else downstairs, a small backyard, the place was very comfortable for the 3 of us.
John and Irene, the owners, met us, and showed us how everything worked. They left us a bottle of wine, some chocolates, and a jar of John's home made jam as a welcoming gift. And, after a 5 hour drive up from London, the wine was very welcome indeed!
There were no maintenance issues of any consequence, we enjoyed the week exploring the northern part of Northumberland, and the town of Amble, and were sorry that the week went by so quickly. I would definitely recommend this place for someone visiting the area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 9, 2017
Thank you for your kind review. It was really nice to be able to offer hospitality to guests who travelled from the Bahamas to this beautiful part of England. We hope you are able to return in the future. Our best wishes to you all.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne k
1 review
“Ideal location”
Reviewed June 3, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

John and Irene are very welcoming hosts. Everything you could want to make your stay comfortable is in the well furnished, clean, spacious house, plus some lovely extras to welcome a weary visitor from Australia, like chocolates and homemade jam. The house is well located in a quiet street. Made my visit to family and friends such an enjoyable experience.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 9, 2017
Thank you Anne for your favourable review. We are pleased that we were able in some small part to make your stay so enjoyable. It was lovely to meet you, and your sister from Warkworth. We send our kindest regards to you in Western Australia and hope you will be able to visit again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richjwhit
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb stay!”
Reviewed April 27, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A great stay. So much bigger than expected and brilliant facilities. Washing machine / freezer etc. We had two small children so benefited from the large living room and kitchen. Only 2 mins from supermarket and 5 mins from Harbour.

Would definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 29, 2017
Thank you for your kind review. It was really nice to have you stay at Sunflower House. Hope to see you again.
John and Irene
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing