We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas fayre with flair”
Review of The Old Boat House

The Old Boat House
Ranked #7 of 35 Restaurants in Amble
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Durham, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Christmas fayre with flair”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

I have visited the Old Boathouse on a few occasions now, and have always enjoyed the food. This week I went on a lunchtime and chose to have the Christmas menu. £20 for 3 courses seemed very reasonable. The food was delicious, the presentation, the quality, absolutely faultless. If only all Christmas meals could be that good. Perfect sized portions, no overdoing of accompaniments, just perfectly cooked vegetables and a twist on the traditional turkey meal. The homemade christmas pudding was served with a wonderful vanilla, brandy sauce. I wish I had known about the lunch sooner and I could maybe have squeezed in another visit and tried one of the other choices. The christmas menu runs until the 24th Dec, lunch and dinner. I would highly recommend trying it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sally R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    702
    230
    89
    45
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“If you want fish and chips go next door to the take away”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We had fish and chips stodgy thick batter poor value for money wine was nice statt ok won't be going back

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gilly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“anniversary meal”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Visited the Boathouse for our anniversary meal on Thursday 12Dec. We have been to the Boathouse now 8 times and I think it is improving all the time and we have never had a bad meal here.The freshness of the product is superb and the variety of the menu is excellent.
Last night we both selected from the Xmas party menu and chose the mini fish and chips starter which was really tasty and then had the sea bass and crispy squid with crab linguine which was scrumptious.We finished off with xmas pudding and a cheeseboard.At 23£ a head we thought this excellent value.The staff are very attentive and the chefs very friendly well done lads you are doing Amble proud.
Will we be returning in the future? Yes! Yes! Yes.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank saltpansjohnandkaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing Crab”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Back here again, becoming an addiction, the food, staff and ambience superb as usual.
I had spicy sticky crab claws off the special's board and they were amazing .
We took my dad and sister for dads 90th and they were blow away by the food.
Booked again for Saturday see you then.
We run a B & B and always recommend a visit to our guests looking for a seafood restaurant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melanie-and-Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Really nice then not so...”
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Visited twice whilst on holiday in the area.
First visit (Wednesday lunchtime) was really good both in service and food so much so we booked a table a couple of days later.
Second visit (Friday tea time) not so good - on entering an 'empty' restaurant we were shown to our table near the kitchen/door which leads to the toilets - we asked the waitress if we could sit elsewhere but were bluntly told 'no you have to sit here' this attitude immediately left us feeling uncomfortable and maybe at this point we should have left. The food wasn't as good as our previous visit the biggest disappointment being the fish & chips (tasteless fish, soggy batter and soggy chips). The service was pretty average, apart from when we were served by the waitress from our previous lunchtime visit. Before we left (approx. 90mins later) there was only a table of 2 and a party of 6 in the restaurant so why we weren't allowed to move is a mystery...

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DAAA26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Boat House also viewed

Amble, Northumberland
Amble, Northumberland
 
Amble, Northumberland
Amble, Northumberland
 

Been to The Old Boat House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing