We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good curry”
Review of Taj Mahal Amble

Taj Mahal Amble
Ranked #17 of 35 Restaurants in Amble
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Bangladeshi
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good curry”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stopped here for a curry whilst on holiday. We had two good meals, well spiced, generous portions and good quality.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ODP_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    53
    20
    8
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Skelton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Sloppy Service”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We spotted this restaurant whilst driving through Amble and decided to try it as it was new. It was a Thursday evening and it was half full. Even so, the waiters seemed preoccupied. We eventually ordered drinks - a bottle of "real ale" and a white wine. Instead the waiter brought a pint of draught lager. When I queried it he simply said there was no bottled beer left and walked away. Our starters (prawn puri & onion bhaji) were a long time coming and were both completely tasteless. The main courses were marginally better. But the service - strewth: plates were dropped in the general vicinity of your place, and the cutlery more or less chucked at the table. All the time there was much sighing and moaning and dragging of feet by the waiters, but never once a "please" or "thank you" or even a "how is your food?" For the first time in years we didn't leave a tip. This is a real shame as Amble desperately needs small businesses to regenerate the town. Sadly, The Taj Mahal merely lets it down.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Folkytypes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tyne and wear
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Little Gem”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

we decided to give this new restaurant a try last night and how glad we were that we did. Beautiful food and plenty of it in fact we could not finish it all. The staff were helpful offering great service and knowledge about the different meals available as my partner fancied something special. All in all fantastic we will go again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scarlettbambino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Just what was needed in Amble/Warkworth.”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Couldn't wait for this Indian restaurant to open. Have a caravan at Warkworth, so not too far to travel. We've now been there many times and have never been disappointed. Food, choice of drinks, and service all first class. Would highly recommend it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ecowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“delicious”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

had the most delicious meal here last night. ambience was just right, service was spot on and food was the best.
nicest chicken saag i think i've ever had, perfect rice and tasty naan.
reasonably priced. will definitely be back and highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bbhmanager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taj Mahal Amble also viewed

Amble, Northumberland
Amble, Northumberland
 
Amble, Northumberland
 
Amble, Northumberland
Amble, Northumberland
 

Been to Taj Mahal Amble? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing