We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crazy”
Review of Harbour Fish Bar

Harbour Fish Bar
Ranked #13 of 34 Restaurants in Amble
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Crazy”
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Went in to this chippy for fish and chips was served after a long wait asked to put my own salt and vinegar on told by the girl serving I'm not allowed for health and safety reasons CRAZY batter on the fish soggy won't be returning the one along the street is better.

Helpful?
2 Thank bigfatmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    56
    18
    10
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips in Amble”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Fantastic fresh fish and chips. Prices are very reasonable. Staff are helpful and friendly. I take all my visitors here!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Naked”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

This was given the thumbs up so we had to try.
If they have a reputation they are living on it ,rather than enhancing it .
The chips were soggy and the cod was totally naked on the underside ,so with no batter to cook, the fish was inedible.
There is the Storehouse along the road who are working to bring customers in,try them instead.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bordertroot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,674 reviews
1,257 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 856 helpful votes
“Worth the drive”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Amble is fast becoming a little gastronomic gem of a town and the Harbour chip shop certainly plays a big part. Meaty and moist battered cod fillet with big chunky chips always as fresh as day. Their mushy peas are juicy and well seasoned don't forget to treat yourself to a scrummy 'beanie' while you wait. The staff service is always consistent apart from one member who is a little curt....

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank thefooddood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
144 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Delicious fish n chips”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Wonderful Fish n chips, cooked to perfection and a good sized portion (we had medium). This is the 4th year in a row that we've bought our meal from this shop on a weekend break to Northumberland and we've never been let down. The staff are friendly and they cook the fish to order, so it's fresh, piping hot and crispy and it goes down well with a takeaway cup of tea,

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Boropanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbour Fish Bar also viewed

Amble, Northumberland
 
Amble, Northumberland
Amble, Northumberland
 

Been to Harbour Fish Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing