We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality gone in 1 year”
Review of Quayside Cafe

Quayside Cafe
Ranked #25 of 34 Restaurants in Amble
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: First class fish and chip cafe; will write full review once added
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quality gone in 1 year”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Returned to cafe after last visit a year or so ago to find the excellent product that was has gone to poor. The chips were crunchy dry as was the fish, I had haddock and wife had cod both were as above. Sorry to say the quality product that was no longer exists

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susnig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    29
    25
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always a good place to start”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Atmosphere is always good, drinks are cheap, loads of seats, outside area, foods nice and service is quick

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lisa_Sweetpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geordiland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Rude and unhelpful”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We bought our food but as we were leaving the heavens opened. We stood in the shop for a minute hoping the rain would ease. We were told to leave the shop even though we had two babies with us and no rain covers. The staff were screaming at us to leave after we had bought our food even though the shop was empty. I would never spend another penny here

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cazjack2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northumberland
Level Contributor
509 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 820 helpful votes
“busy cafe but lacking something.”
Reviewed May 27, 2012

visited this cafe at the weekend as we were travelling through amble and decided to stop off for some food. cafe was busy and staff i thought really did not want to be there. quality of the food is the usual cant keep up with the demand and every order is just thrown in and charged the usual expensive prices no real customer service. although the cafe was full it was not the best food with the chips looking very anemic looking nothing special.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank holiday032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“check your food for flies”
Reviewed March 28, 2012

we paid a visit today the 28th march to this fish and chip shop the lady behind the counter was quite polite as she took our orders for our fish and chips and boy were we ready to tuck in to our meal, that is when it arrived. we had a short wait as she was the only person on at the time and she forgot to put one of our meals in to cook so had another wait , i asked if i could put my own salt and vinigar on my food and was told there was no way i was allowed to that, seemed very odd to me as everywhere else we have been we could season our own food, well we all sat getting stuck in to our dinners and they were not that bad apart from on a lot of the chips were black as in bad yukky and i found a cooked fly stuck to one of the chips i went in and told the woman behind who served us about the fly and promptly showed her it had been cooked on the chip. but no she wouldnt have it and insisted the must have flew in the chips whilst i was eating them and she wouldnt budge except for saying why do you want a free bag of chips , she must have a short term memory as i had just spent over £50 in the shop, i was bloody furious with this remark and told her i would never eat at the place ever again and after i threw my food in the shop bin i made sure other customers were warned to check there food for fried flies. overall bad service and no customer care. i gave three marks for atmosphere because of the people who were outside of the shop and said they wouldnt eat here either and they lived in amble and reccomended a diferent place were the locals go to eat

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank margy7554_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quayside Cafe also viewed

Amble, Northumberland
Amble, Northumberland
 

Been to Quayside Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing