We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cottage was perfect, really enjoyed our stay”
other travelers have booked this property
Welcome to Honeysuckle Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Honeysuckle Cottage
Sit  by a real log burner, in a cosy lounge Kitchen and Dining Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
47 reviews
Welcome to Honeysuckle Cottage
Sit  by a real log burner, in a cosy lounge
Kitchen and Dining Area
Lounge and sitting room
Lounge and sitting room
King Size Bed, snug and cosy
Single bedroom, clean and contemporary
Rear patio garden, a real sun trap, ideal for barbeque's
Canal walks 2 minutes from the door step
Canal walks 2 minutes from the door step
Canal walks 2 minutes from the door step
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 3
Whaley Bridge, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Moomulvey
1 review
“Cottage was perfect, really enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed July 16, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Really great location next to the train station, well appointed kitchen and a homely feel to the cottage but plenty of space. Outdoor patio was great for relaxing over breakfast and the fish n chips from up the road were spot on! Only slight down side was one bedroom was quite warm at night despite leaving the windows open. But overall it was fantastic and a great base from which to explore the peaks.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judib10
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful cosy cottage”
Reviewed May 31, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We recently stayed in Honeysuckle Cottage for a week with our 9 year old son. The cottage was spotless, cosy and had everything you needed and more. It was an ideal base for our first ever trip into the Peak District and only 15 minutes or so to Buxton which we actually prefered to both Bakewell and Ashbourne. Whaley Bridge itselt has plenty to offer. A really excellent Indian Restuarant Zayka, fabuous Italian Casa di Pizza and the Cock Pub where we enjoyed a lovely Sunday lunch. There is an excellent wine shop at the end of the road and a great bakery. We also enjoyed walks alongside the nearby canal. Would defintely recommend Honeysuckle Cottage - the complimentary milk, tea, coffee, wine and chocolate for our son were a lovely touch.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hazellucy...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Relaxing week, lovely cottage”
Reviewed May 19, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed in Honeysuckle cottage from the 12th until the 16th of May at a really reasonable price. The cottage was really clean and well decorated with lovely personal touches like a bottle of wine on arrival. The beds were comfy and the living room practical and nicely decorated. Its a beautiful cottage close to several really nice restaurants and within easy drive to places like Bakewell. If your considering booking, do it! Its well worth the money.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie R
Rye, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm, cosy and comfortable”
Reviewed March 30, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Karen and John have created a wonderfully homey yet trendy 3 storey townhouse in the pretty village of Whaley Bridge. It is a joy to experience from the moment you enter and find a warm cosy house with milk, wine and chocolate treats supplementing a beautifully decorated home with all mod cons and great atmosphere. Their welcome pack extends beyond treats with all aspects of the house clearly explained in a folder.
We wish we could have stayed longer so the living area could have been enjoyed more with its comfy lounge, chair, games, TV, books and wood burner! We tended to stay on the ground floor till bed time as it was so cosy. In our case perhaps this was more about being tired after sightseeing all day. We used the house as a base from which to see Lyme Park at Disley, visit Quarry Bank Mill and The Lowry in Manchester. These only scratch the surface of what is on offer in this quaint and friendly part of England.
Thanks so much to Karen and John for creating such a lovely place to call home while on holiday in the Peak District National Park. We can highly recommend this high spec accommodation so thoughtfully decorated and arranged!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam9Scfc
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
“Perfect rental. We'll definitely stay again.”
Reviewed March 23, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Where to begin. On arrival you are welcomed to this beautiful cottage by a thoughtful welcome package from the hosts. It's immediately welcoming and becomes a home away from home.

It's a wonderful area in Whaley Bridge and the beautiful surrounding Peak District.

The cottage sits by the canal and next to great little cafe's and shops that will have everything you need. You're 1 minute away from the train station which will take you into the city (Manchester) if you desire or Buxton the other way which is a beautiful town.

The beds are comfy. House is well lit and modern inside. There's plenty of fridge and cupboard space.

The only thing we didn't figure out was how to control the heating as it was a bit chilly but not really a big issue as it does come on and I'm sure you can figure it out or ask.

Definitely check it out if you're going to stay around this area. Myself, my wife and 8 year old son stayed and it was plenty of room.

Thanks to John and his wife!

Adam and family.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromer, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 2, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
caraf952
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“beautiful cosy cottage”
Reviewed January 17, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in honeysuckle cottage over new year. The cottage itself was clean, cosy and well furnished. The area is beautiful with lots of lovely walks for us and our dog mandy. The local people are very friendly too. I chose this area because my husband is a professional driver and I thought it would be nice for him not to have to drive during our stay. There is everything you need within walking distance. It was a lovely relaxing break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything. I cant pick one thing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing