We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
other travelers have booked this property
Felton Brook Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Felton Brook Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Felton Brook Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Whaley Bridge, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LouCheshi...
Cheshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed December 31, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Just returned from a wonderful festive Christmas break at Felton Brook Cottage with all the family. The cottage truly is a home from home and the effort the owners had gone to to decorate the cottage for Christmas was fantastic, we even had a real tree :) The amenities the cottage provided made it a perfect location to hold a large family celebration and we were left wanting nothing as everything we needed was provided. Lovely spacious rooms and lovely and warm even on a cold December night! The pool room was an added bonus much enjoyed by the whole family, we are hoping to return for many more christmasses to come! Thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Brilliant for staying in or getting out and about!”
Reviewed May 15, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I stayed at Felton Brook with six friends for my birthday – and it was delightful! Around twenty minutes’ walk from the centre of Whaley Bridge, the cottage is situated on a quiet country lane, surrounded by rolling fields with stunning views across the valley. The interior is beautifully maintained, with everything you could need in the kitchen, and a spacious, comfortable living room. The pool table room is also a great bonus! The village itself is very pretty, with some great pubs on the walk from the cottage and also along the canal. We definitely hope to return to Felton Brook in the not too distant future!

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liz762015
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Excellent cottage - would highly recommend”
Reviewed April 8, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

8 of us stayed at Felton Brook for a weekend in March & we were very impressed with the cottage. It was well fitted out, comfortable, plenty of space for all of us & importantly at this time of year it was lovely & warm. Nice quiet location with good walks from the cottage & only a 5 minute drive into Whaley Bridge. The pool table was an added bonus! Would definitely stay again if we were looking to stay in this area again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trudy H
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay in Whaley Bridge”
Reviewed April 8, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We were 3 couples and 2 children staying at the cottage. We had a fantastic stay- the accomodation was well maintained, with beautiful views and it's only a 10-15 min walk into Whaley Bridge. The pool room and free wifi were an added bonus. The owners were really helpful too. I'd highly recommend this accommodation.

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsYR1
1 review
“Lovely, homely, very well appointed, warm and welcoming.”
Reviewed December 23, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Three generations of our family all had a lovely pre- Christmas stay. A beautiful house,in a convenient location, with pretty country views and everything thought of-even a Christmas Tree and decorations. We could not have felt more at home, and the pool table was a great added extra. I highly recommend this for a holiday. We had been before in the summer, and had a lovely holiday then too. Will definitely return again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie4664
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay,great views”
Reviewed April 29, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

This was an excellent place to stay for a family get together,I celebrated my 50th birthday here with my family,it was the ideal place,,plenty of space and the pool room was A******+ views from any window was beautifully. Plenty of car park space too.We also walked around the farm and was lovely to see baby lambs and cows,I would highly recommend this cottage

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool room and wi if connection
Liked least: TV too small
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NinesT123
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Christmas cottage”
Reviewed January 17, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We stayed here with family over Christmas.

The cottage was very spacious and the photographs don't do it justice. The kitchen is very well stocked - even for christmas (lots of crockery, glasses, pans and knives - lots more than people staying which is always good). Bathrooms are nice and all bedrooms are a good size. Lovely location too. There is plenty of space for cars outside, with lots of nice walks in the surrounding area.

Only minor issues was when we first arrived the heating kept switching itself off (which obviously isn't ideal in winter!) but we read the manual and managed to reset the timings. Another minor thing was that the garden outside was all concrete (so not great for our dog) and we had to keep him on the lead as the garden gate wasn't secure enough and we were scared we was going to escape.

But overall this was a great holiday rental. The website and photos need to be update to reflect the high standards of the accommodation. Would recommend this.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was very spacious
Liked least: Concrete garden
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing