We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful stay - would not hesitate to return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Springbank Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A wonderful stay - would not hesitate to return”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We booked this to stay at while attending a family wedding. The welcome was very warm and friendly and the accommodation excellent. Our room was just as described but made even better by the many little extra touches. Breakfast in the morning was brilliant too. We wouldn't hesitate to return.
Thank you

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
47
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2013

After driving through the peaks district, enjoying the sights, my husband and I were looking for a place to stay. Unknown to us, it was festival time and there were no rooms to be found in Bakewell or Buxton, so we carried on through more villages, finding nothing. Alas, the most beautiful and comfortable and charming stay was to be found in Whaley Bridge! We were so thrilled with this serendipitous gem, nestled in a quaint village. Susan is the perfect hostess, the breakfast was wonderful and we also enjoyed a local pub, a walk along the canal and shopping in the village below. It was the perfect stay for us!

Room Tip: We stayed in a beautifully decorated spacious room, en suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ktfiddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This B&B is special. Susan has retained a warm homely Victorian feeling with the special guest bathroom, blue delft toilet, pictures, and scattered ornaments and nic nacs. It was so nice to have a guest lounge too. If you are without transport it is in a great position around the corner from the railway station and main street.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tasbeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I enjoyed a lovely restful night at Springbank guest house.

Susan, I love the bath? Can I take it home with me? For any future guests, you MUST factor in at least half an hour of your stay to grab some me time in the most beautiful origional victorian bath!

The breakfast in the morning was lovely and my husband enjoyed the fresh coffee of which you have a choice of four different kinds.

I would certainly visit this guest house again when I am next in the area and I will be recommending it to friends.

Thank you Susan for a really lovely stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emno18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

I have just stated here for 3 nights- originally to be 2- but due to snow and a sore ankle I stayed another. And where do I start....

I stayed in the King size room which is absolutely gorgeous. It has a large original fireplace with stripped wooden floors with rugs and an amazing king size bed. This bed is so comfortable I overslept for breakfast one morning. The room has a TV and DVD player and the main channels but no satellite so don't expect sky. But this is not the place to be watching tv anyway quite honestly. There is however a large book case with many books to choose from.

The room had an ensuite with a shower and toilet..... But if that's not enough there is a lovely large bathroom with a very deep original Victorian bath just over the hall! This room has gorgeous deep red luxury carpet and the bath is heavenly, and there is a choice of bath foams to use and candles all ready- all you have to do us run the water and you're in. I actually spent nearly an hour in this bath after a long days walk in the snow capped hills with a glass of wine (see pics)

There is the Downstairs guest room with useful info about the area for guests an where breakfast is served. The full English is great with proper meaty sausages and smoked bacon and fresh local bread. As I overslept Susan (the owner)was great and still did a late breakfast at 940am- excellent. And there was a variety of fresh coffee beans for choosing your morning coffee.

Susan, The lady who runs this guest house is so accommodating and such a lovely lady made my stay so welcoming I will definitely be coming back. And she also welcomed my guide dog which was great and went the extra mile to ensure I had everything I needed. As a person who is partially sighted this is very reassuring. Finally on my last night as I had hurt my ankle she even brought a take away up to room After I ordered it!!! As I say superb, and fantastic value for money. If you're looking for a walking holiday this is the place to stay :))

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fishcakesfyfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We spent one night here and it was fantastic. We were greeted upon arrival by a lovely lady called Susan. The room was very clean and welcoming. The bathroom although not used was amazing very deep bath. Breakfast was very nice and freshly cooked. Overall impressed to say the least. Will be recommending to friends and family and possibly returning too. Well done Springbank!!

Room Tip: Family en suite. Has king size bed and en suite shower and wc
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We (2 couples) stayed at the Springbank Guesthouse as we were attending The Buxton Charity Ball in September 2012 and we couldn't get anywhere in Buxton as we left it too late. However, this turned out to be excellent as we found this guesthouse. The decoration is fantastic, the breakfast was homemade, the bed was extremely comfortable (king size) and the place was spotless.

The lady who ran the guesthouse was so friendly, which made the stay even better.

We will all definitely return here this summer.

One couple stayed in the king size room and the room parallel which had twin beds. Both rooms were awesome.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M88ULV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whaley Bridge
4.3 mi away
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
5.4 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
9.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Manchester Airport Wilmslow Pinewood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
5.4 mi away
Hollin Hall Hotel
Hollin Hall Hotel
#4 of 8 in Macclesfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Shady Oak
The Shady Oak
#3 of 4 in Whaley Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springbank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springbank Guest House

Property: Springbank Guest House
Address: 3 Reservoir Road, Whaley Bridge SK23 7BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Whaley Bridge
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Whaley Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Springbank is a substantial double fronted detached house located in the centre of Whaley Bridge in the High Peak of Derbyshire. Built during the 1840's it retains many original features.We offer doubles, twins and a family room most with an en suite shower and toilet. The beautiful original bathroom is available to all our guests.Your breakfast is freshly home cooked with free range and locally produced ingredients used whenever possible.We pride ourselves on a warm and friendly atmosphere to ensure your stay is comfortable, enjoyable and refreshing! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Springbank Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing