We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing authentic Indian food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zayka - CLOSED

Zayka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $31
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: The exquisite flavours you will encounter at Zayka (meaning taste) are unlike anything you will have experienced before. Our authentic, Punjabi-style cuisine is meticulously prepared by one of the most talented Indian chefs in the UK and our unique combinations of food are certain to enchant even the most sophisticated palates. If you appreciate first class service, you can look forward to being pampered from the minute you walk through the door. You'll also find the ambience of the restaurant just as delightful as the food - the modern decor and contemporary furnishings help to make every visit a truly memorable occasion.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing authentic Indian food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

It was our first visit to this cosy,modern restaurant. The menu had an amazing variety of food to choose from. We started with popudon which was served with home made condiments, slightly different to regular Indian restaurant. We noticed that there was no colour added to the curries, they looked and tasted delicious. The food was light and we would highly recommend the prawn starters, tikka masala, vegetable side dishes and nan breads. Children were made welcome and staff friendly and efficient. On final note, try the Indian white wine it was as good as any French wine.

Helpful?
1 Thank Anoma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    38
    12
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Outstanding food... I wish it was in Manchester!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

We visited for our second time last night. The food is the best Indian food I have had in the UK since the Rajdoot in Manchester moved from it's former location behind John Dalton Street.
The choice is completely different than you would expect to see on an Indian menu in the UK. Everything is obviously freshly home-prepared using the very finest meats, herbs and ingredients, the flavours are spectacular, well presented and served by very friendly waiters.
We talked to the owner on both occasions, he is very proud of his restaurant (and with good reason!) he even offered to drive us back to our boat on our first visit when we could not get a taxi (and the pub we had intended to eat at would not serve us a short time after their kitchen closed).
The prices are fairly high for an Indian restaurant but please don't be put off. Considering the quality of the ingredients and complexity of flavours I would say that it represents absolutely outstanding value for money.
The decor is contemporary and tasteful and must have cost a fortune. I hope they do well as they really deserve to... I just wish Zayka was in Manchester, we would be going all the time!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkMcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Big improvement”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Our second visit to Zayka, the food is gorgeous. The service is far better than our first visit and I am pleased they have sorted it out as it means we will be returning. The owner is very attentive and cares what his customers think. I can recommend the takeaway also if you are looking for something special. We took family who had not been before and they were impressed too. Well done, it is so nice to have somewhere upmarket to dine in Whaley Bridge.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Runners-world50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“"High end restaurant quality food delivered to door "”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Thought we would try a takeaway from Zayka as I had heard so many rave reviews about this place but not had an opportunity to eat here as yet. I generally think the quality and choice of both Indian and Chinese takeaways in the area is pretty substandard. I personally can't stand the thick layer of Ghee floating ontop of most Indian takeaways and get sick of the same old options on most menus.

However what a refreshing change to see scallops, fresh salmon and monkfish on a takeaway menu. We opted for Maharja platter for two which consisted of an assortment of fish tikka, chicken tikka, galfi seeks kebab and onion bhaji. Chicken Dum ki biryani which had a raita yoghurt, mustard and orange sauce which was sublime . We also opted for Zayka platter that had King prawns as big as the palms of your hands,salmon tikka, chicken and lamb chop with mint sauce.

The biggest surprise was that the chef and owner Manish came to deliver the menu and even gave us two extra dishes to try with his compliments.Miloni Tarkari a beautiful fresh medley of crunchy vegetables in a tamarind sauce and a laccha Parantha. We had so much food it has made a second sitting for tonight's meal. This truly is exceptional quality food which I put on a par with a Knightsbridge restaurant I visited whilst working in London. What makes it extra special the dedication and professionalism of Manish. What a talented chef. Yes it isn't cheap but if you want cheap you can stick with the typical coronary fat laden rubbish that is on offer in the area. Each to their own of course.

This is a culinary delight and well worth the money . Good Luck to you and your team Manish you deserve every success in these difficult times.

Therefore to see

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
150 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Up there with the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

When my partner and I moved to Whaley Bridge a few years ago, one of the very few restaurants in the town centre was shut down. When signs of life started several months ago, we were excited to see what would emerge. When it was announced as an Indian, we were very disappointed. Whaley is a small place and yet it not only has an Indian restaurant already but several Indian takeaways! Plus the menu seemed much pricier than the competition. We finally gave Zayka a go a few weeks ago and we were blown away - incredible food, lovely atmosphere and fabulous staff! We were gutted we'd waited so long to go!

The food really is stunning and on a par with the famous Akbars in Manchester - and much better than Curry Mile. It's actually not that expensive either. The wine selection is much better than we've encountered at other Indians and the service was very attentive. The chef came out several times to see how all the diners were getting on and even made us a "special" naan, which was amazing. When we went back a few weeks later, we were warmly welcomed back and the waiter even remembered what wine we'd ordered!!!

So pleased to have such a fine restaurant on our doorstep!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mariannelynton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zayka also viewed

Whaley Bridge, Derbyshire
Whaley Bridge, Derbyshire
 
Whaley Bridge, Derbyshire
Whaley Bridge, Derbyshire
 
Disley, Cheshire
Kettleshulme, Cheshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing