We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks for making us unwelcome”
Review of The Shady Oak

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Shady Oak
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Have been here a few times before in the past and have always been happy, lovely location etc, however the moment we walked in the first thing we were told was 'do you know foods not served til 12' more barked at us that just friendly information, yes we knew we were 20 minutes early but we didn't think it would be a problem waiting, next thing was we noticed a childrens easel and chalks by the bar and my daughter wanted to play with it (it wasn't in a private area) my partner asked if we could move it near our table then our daughter could use it (the pub was empty) and the lady snapped 'as long as my granddaughter isn't coming' what kind of attitude and service is that, she was miserable and rude and it was the most unwelcome I've felt anywhere, and we are expected to pay for this treatment, we didn't finish our drinks, we left I felt that uncomfortable, what a shame, lovely pub otherwise!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank Amylou123k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
There are newer reviews for The Shady Oak
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 155 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

Perfect location at the end of the reservoir walk and were more than happy to take dogs. Our food was delicious and hearty and the atmosphere very friendly. In fact it would have been five star had not the service been appalling - our waitress was fine, but the bar attendant was rude, inconsiderate, unhelpful and clearly didn't want to be there. Except for her, perfect.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Katharine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Lovely remote country pub that allows dogs to stay in room (£5 charge) and also be in bar while you drink. Nice beer and lovely reasonably priced food. We ate early so had the 3 courses £9.50 menu. Rooms spacious modern and comfy with nice view. Road can be busy but its not too bad. Breakfast pricey at £8 a head bit was a lot of choice and decent. Good location for Buxton and then on to bakewell and also has some lovely local walks around reservoirs to fill the evening! Would stay again

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chrisimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed two nights at the shady oak pub in July, the rooms were adequate but the throw pillows needed a good freshen up. Matress protector needed replacing too. Dissapointed with breakfast, a lovely fresh fruit salad was followed by a full English breakfast, sadly most of the cooked breakfast was done in a deep fat fryer and wasn't very appertising, as there were only two of us for breakfast it would have been nice to have the sausages, bacon and mushrooms etc grilled. I had told the landlady that I was avoiding fat but this oviously didn't get passed on. We stayed when we had very hot weather and had to sleep with the windows open which was fine except for the very busy road outside, the noise from motorbikes can be quite deafening.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed for one night only whilst in the area for a wedding, but were made very welcome, unusual as a lot of places stipulate minimum 2 nights.
We stayed in the Bakewell twin room, very comfortable, extremely clean and best of all a bath as well as the shower, HEAVEN. Plenty of hot water, good tea/coffee facility incl choccy chip biccys lol !!
Given a key to separate entrance if wanted to be late back ( we weren't late but nice to have the choice).
Breakfast was perfect, can't say enough about that.
We're shown to room immediately on arrival at 12.00 midday, another bonus as plenty of time to get ready for a 1.50 pick up, most places would insist on 2.00/3.00pm but I had phoned Sue in the week and she immediately said 12.00. Would stay again no question if/when in the area again, Thankyou Sue and Craig

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sceneit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We were recommended to try this pub for a meal after being let down at Cavendish Golf Club. As it turned out, it was a silver lining in the cloud. The food was very good and the service was excellent. There were 9 of us, but it was no trouble for the staff to look after us so well at such short notice. They have a varied menu with a good choice of specials on the board. Everyone enjoyed their meals and the choice of ales. I'll definitely call again when out that way.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billhayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Have visited here many times as the food is good, plenty to choose from and great value but often wonder why the staff work here as they don't appear happy nor welcoming.
Outside seating available shaded and non-shaded.
Decent size carpark.
Love the cartoons in the toilets.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buzzybee61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whaley Bridge
4.0 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
4.3 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,132 reviews
4.6 mi away
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,805 reviews
1.5 mi away
Springbank Guest House
Springbank Guest House
#1 of 4 in Whaley Bridge
88 reviews
2.4 mi away
Old Hall Inn
Old Hall Inn
#9 of 160 in Peak District National Park
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shady Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shady Oak

Address: | on the A5004, Fernilee, Whaley Bridge SK23 7HD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Whaley Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Whaley Bridge
Price Range: $76 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Shady Oak 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Shady Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing