We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Evening with Friends” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blackboys Inn

Blackboys Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Blackboys
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Blackboys Inn is a 14th Century public house and restaurant located in the pretty hamlet of Blackboys, situated on the outskirts of Uckfield, East Sussex. The Blackboys Team have been introducing exciting new menus and offering superb hospitality as well as offering traditional home cooked Sunday Roasts. To accompany your meal, there is a superb selection of Fine Harveys Ale and also an excellent wine selection. Whether you want a family Sunday Roast or an informal gathering with friends or even a celebration with an extra special twist, you can be assured of fresh, seasonal food at its best. The Blackboys Team are very sociable and enjoy nothing more than hosting regular entertainment, live music, quiz nights and wine tasting evenings.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“An Evening with Friends”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Our friends booked this pub/restaurant for a meal out. It was very busy and friendly and we had a drink at the bar before our meal. The food was very good with friendly and efficient service. The main drawback was that they did not serve Prosecco by the glass and also the Red wines we had were very poor. Neither the Rioja or the Merlot had 'legs' and tasted very wishy washy and cheap even though they were £18 - £21 per bottle. The waiter poured our Rioja without suggesting we taste it first and also let it drip on the table. Summing up; I would say that the ambience, food and service was great but the wine needs to be much better. Also, don't have a table next to the window as it was very cold and drafty with single glazed windows and curtains that do not close properly.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shawej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    76
    34
    32
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We first discovered this pretty pub when my partner and I were going for a drive and said we would love to go for dinner there. We went back one Sunday lunchtime late last year and received a very warm welcome. We had a lovely 2 course lunch, I felt there was quite a good choice of vegetarian options whilst my partner had a roast. We really enjoyed our desserts too. However we decided to visit again as we enjoyed it so much last time and made the journey of 45 minutes to get there. We hadn't booked so were told we would need to wait for a free table, which was fine. We were give menu's and there was no vegetarian options, I asked one of the waitresses what was available and she looked a bit confused by this!! She came back and said it was just Mushrom risotto or fish....so i had no choice (I get a bit fed up of only ever having mushroom risotto where ever I go!). We had soup to start which was nice and then our mains arrived. What a disappointment, mine had absolutly no flavour at all, and there was more onion in the dish than rice. I barely touched it. We then had desserts and although they were nicely presented again there wasn't much flavour... When we asked for our bill we were given the wrong one completely!! Throughout the whole experience we were looked after by so many different waitresses, i dont think we saw the same one twice which meant they didnt seem to know what stage we were at of our meal and it wasn't very personable. I can't see us going back which is a great shame as it is a lovely pub and we really enjoyed it previously.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MISSLMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horam
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely old pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

This old pub is very atmospheric with its beams, low ceilings and old floors. It is also quite a squeeze at busy times. The men of our party are Harveys beer drinkers and this was one of the reasons for this visit!

Four of us ate in the restaurant and the food was very good, reasonably priced. Service was quite slow but the friendly waitress apologised and explained that there was a party going on in a private room that evening. All in all, a pleasant evening with good food and we would all be happy to return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank FouroaksHoram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
404 reviews
294 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Great local pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

We have dined her and called in for drinks many time during visits to friend who live locally and have always found it delightful. Food in the restaurant is good value for money and is well presented and tasty.
Great place to move into a corner on a cold and wet day with a pint or two or maybe a glass of wine.
Nick the owner has spent a number of years in Australia and is an interesting and gracious host to all who visit.
My only complaint is they should be playing background music to suit the patrons and not the young staff. I have heard many complaints about this and could well drive away good customers.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very Romantic Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Have eaten here several times in the last year with my partner and also my daughter and friends who live just round the corner and everytime had a lovely meal and service excellent.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blackboys Inn also viewed

Blackboys, East Sussex
 
Uckfield, East Sussex
 
Heathfield, East Sussex
Uckfield, East Sussex
 

Been to Blackboys Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing