We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Day Out!”
Review of World of Owls

World of Owls
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: World of Owls is the largest most diverse collection of owls in the UK and Ireland. There is also other birds of prey, reptiles, insects & many other animals to see. There is a small children's play park, tea, coffee and light refreshments available, gift shop and it is wheelchair accessible. Please visit our website for full details. worldofowls It is a voluntary registered charity with all the staff working for no reward to look after the animals and educate the guests. It is a licensed and regulated zoo but not government funded. It is rustic and rural and the vast majority of the animals there have been rescued.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Great Day Out!”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

World of owls is a small centre beside randalstown forrest, I wasn't sure what to expect but was interested in having a look. First I must say it is not a big place but it has plenty to see, the owls,hawks,falcons and eagles are simply stunning and to see them up close is fantastic. they also have some chickens and rabbiats and a lot of reptiles which is really cool. the Price is really good considering everyone is voluntry and every penny goes to the animals. the day on my visit they were flying some of the hawks which was great to watch. and the staff were so helpful and nice, Matthew if i rememeber correctly was full of information and was always happy to answer questions and explain about the birds, and another guy Stuart was so helpful and explained to me a lot about eagles and gave some really cool facts, you can tell they know what their doing. A must see for anyone with an intrest in birds of prey and a fantastic day out for any family!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Andrew s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    32
    6
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Magherafelt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“very intresting”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

price has gone up from last review` was published £4 for adults £3 for children family ticket £12 .a lot of owls to see also 'crawlies cavern' has snakes spiders .etc. allow about 1 to 1 half hours for you visit the car park is a short walk to the center it also doubles as park for forest park free entry (randalstown forest park ) it was noted that all the staff were voluntarily it is really a sanctuary

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank glenburn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Kids loved it!”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Visited World of Owls today with our 2 boys - aged 6 and 2. Had a really good time and the boys loved it. There are some amazing birds and lots of information on their usual habitat, favourite prey etc. Very Informative! The place is a bit run down, but the kids wouldn't have noticed that! Inside they have a small but interesting range of snakes, tarantulas, lizards and insects. The kids were amazed! We really only dealt with one member of staff, Mike. He was very friendly and accommodating and made us feel very welcome. A very personal service. There is a small gift shop - not a lot in it, but enough to get a small souvenir for the kids and it's not expensive. It's early in the season, so the coffee shop was low on stock but when open you could get a drink and snacks and they are happy for you to bring a picnic. It's not that big, so an hour or 2 is ample, but the Forest Park is close at hand and there's a great playground in the town and a lovely walk along the via-duct. Worth a visit if you have small kids!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank LittleTrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice little Collection”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Great little collection of various birds of prey, from owls to hawks, vultures and eagles. It does not talk all that long to get round, but is still worth it. On the day i visited the staff seemed uninterested in visitors, we did not even get a hello out of anyone at all, which was a shame, as it would have made the visit so much more nicer if there had been the opportunity to discuss the birds etc.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank terryfandorla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portstewart
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excelled my expectations.....”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I had a couple of hours to kill in Antrim and took a trip to nearby Randalstown to check out World of Owls. I knew nothing about the place over than apparently it was an "Owl Sanctuary". I visited on an absolutely awful and miserable day - but I shall be back soon in better weather. I've learnt that this is privately-funded and what a great job they've done! Set in the beautiful Randalstown forest and a stone's throw from the mighty Lough Neagh there are various types of birds of prey in large and spacious pens. I'm no fan of cages but the birds have lots of room and given that apparently many are rescue-birds they're all in great nick. There's also a cafe and various other creatures on display to further enhance the experience. I'm looking forward to returning very soon and just wish there was something like this near where I live - I'd be one of the volunteers!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank BrianPortstewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed World of Owls also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to World of Owls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing