We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant - You wont be disappointed.....Few useful bits of info others miss”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kuredu Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuredu
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough
Level Contributor
49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Brilliant - You wont be disappointed.....Few useful bits of info others miss”
Reviewed October 12, 2009

Brilliant place.

First when you arrive in Male you are bussed to the hotel lounge where drinks are complimentary and in an air conditioned room which is very comfortable waiting for your air taxi which can be an hour or 2.

Air taxi takes 40 minutes and in our case can not be the first stop, so take some water and prepare yourself because there is no air con in those air taxis but have your camera on you ready for the view outside!!

We read (like you probably) that its best to take hand luggage with you in a back pack say sun cream, swim wear, hat, book and other small necessities. This really only rings true if you leave or arrive on Mondays - thats when your luggage doesn't fly with you. HOWEVER do it all the same as we flew with our luggage but it was about 3 hours before we saw it at our beach villa.

We had a beach villa which was lush and was cleaned twice a day, with 1 litre of water complimentary. Good selection of TV channels and a safe complimentary.

We were at the O resort which was beauitful and only a 5 minute walk to the O restaurant and bar. Service was brilliant all day. You get assigned a waitor rather than hit and hope when you turn up, so that same waitor serves you for all 3 meals.

On the island there are 2 types of AI, we were on the cheaper one but all in all there is very little difference when you read the info manuals in the room. The only things not included are cocktails however all soft drinks, beers and any combination involving gin, whiskey, vodka, rum and something else - which lets be honest covers most drinks you could possibly want and the mini bar is complimentary on the expensive AI.....thats about it quite frankly.

Sun cream on the island was priced at $38 so bring your own!!!

Anything you buy in any of the shops gets charged to your room so dont worry about currency, just be sure to have $1 bills for tipping. Although looking round we were the ONLY couple doing that in the resort.

Golf was $12 per person.
I bought a baseball cap for $25

You get an introductory massage on All inclusive, a 30 minute massage was $41

You also get a free sunset cruise on AI as well.

You can walk round the entire island in under 25 minutes right around the beach parts and it does not take long to walk anywhere on the island no matter where your villa or room is quite frankly.

The whole experience was brilliant and the best we have ever experienced and we were expecting to put the armour on after reading some reviews.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank TheQuietObserver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,328
    1,159
    265
    76
    55
See reviews for
906
5,066
67
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,453)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
cleckheaton,west yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2009

Stayed at kuredu for 13 nights september/october in beach bungalow had had a fantastic holiday.We did try to book a beach villa before we went but were advised they were fully booked much to our dissapointment and was dreading staying in the bungalow but when we got there we found them to be fine-can not understand the previous reviewer saying he would rather go home than stay in one! We never found having a yellow band restricted us either,we were happy with the bars available to us.We did drink in sangu once after we had renewed our wedding vows(which was also great) and found it to be too quiet but some people might like that.The food was great,plenty of variety and the al a carte's are worth the extra cash for a bit of a change-franco's pizza's are also very good.The staff are really nice once you get talking to them-especially kandy(madura) man and darsha who were both working in the akiri bar and looked after us and all our friends very well.The only down-side is on the last day when we were leaving i was very ill with the stomach bug and had to travel home with horredous stomach cramps and sickness and even now a wk after our return i'am still ill and awaiting test results but the doctor thinks i have salmonella poisoning.I know bar staff who had the bug were still working when they should'nt have been but i do plan to contact the hotel once i get my test results.All in all we had a great holiday which was made even better by the friends we met-all you leeds people you know who you are and would defo return in the future.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank shanenang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2009

Went for 10 days on 28th Sept 2009.

Flights.
Flew with Emirates from Manchester to Dubai and then from Dubai to Male.
Flights where of good standard though food was not great.
We then had the sea plane flight from Male to the island itself which I was not looking forward to at all! We did have to wait for about 4 hours for our sea plane but that was down to the weather being so bad as we caught the tail end of the hurricane from the Philippines.
Once on sea plane journey was not actually that bad though as there is so much to look at below. Have camera ready….

Weather
Was shocking for first 3 days of trip as we caught the tail end of the hurricane from the Philippines. But even when it rained it was warm and certainly didn’t ruin the first few days, It didn’t rain constantly but it wasn’t sunny which is what you expect.
The next 7 days where amazing though. Barely one cloud in sight…Make sure you take some factor 50 with you for first few days and then drop down. Remember you are right next to the equator so you burn easily and quickly if not properly covered. Most people including me had a swimming/surfing t-shirt which you can buy from the likes of o’neils etc in UK and saves your back getting burnt when doing all the snorkelling!

Accommodation
Wow… What can I say. We stayed in one of the water villas which was amazing even though a bit rocky in the first 3 days with the storms. They all come with air con which is vital but cools room down very quickly! You also get a big lcd tv with all live prem games on and 4 odd English movie channels. Came in useful for the first few rainy days when you cant be bothered reading 24-7. Water villa has balcony on back where you can sun bathe which is good. Looks out too sea with awesome views of sunset.
Our friends we met there stayed in a beach bungalow which quite a few people have written bad reviews about. They didn’t have a problem with it. You don’t get a TV and your bathroom is outside. You still get your own little area in front though with sun loungers on beech but I was glad we paid the extra to get the water villa. You get what you pay for.

Restaurants.
We eat at the Sangua restaurant which is at the top end of th island and is for blue band all inclusive people. Now I am a fussy eater as I have a very weak stomach even in UK but I have to say the food was excellent! Different every lunch and dinner and so much choice. The staff where excellent! You have one waiter who looks after you for the whole holiday in your given restaurant and ours was excellent, He did have one bad day where he seemed in a mood but who doesn’t have a bad day at work!
But I cant tell you how good the food was! Enjoy. I did keep away from Salad just in case it was washed in local water.

Activities
Plenty to do for a island! It is one of the more active of the Maldives. I took my gym stuff as they do have a gym which is well air conditioned and plenty of equipment. We also played tennis which you book at gym reception which was extremely hard in the heat.
They also have a small golf course and driving range which I went to a couple of times just for something different to do.
We did the introduction to snorkelling by the pro dive team non the island which is excellent. The bloke who took it was so passionate about his job he really got all his points across on the talk. Its worth doing as you get told of all the hot spots to snorkel and which fish to avoid as there are a couple of trigger fish to avoid which swim in lagoon which will attack you and try and bite if you invade their space! But wow…. The lagon… so many colourful fish and swimming with the sea turtles is just a n amazing experience! You soon just bypass the fish and head straight for the grassy area to find the turtles!!!
Also plenty of water sports to do such as canoeing and windsurfing as well as diving.
Plenty of trips you can book as well….turtle caves snorkelling, sunset cruises etc.
Spa there for women..

Beaches
All are excellent….. Pure white with blue sea. Our holiday photos look fake as it is so beautiful. Did read a review about someone complaining about the north beach which is just behind the water villas as the sea grass washes up on it…. Well get a grip…. I live near a beach on the UK and we have a lot worse wash up….. The staff constantly rake the beach up of the sea grass..

Staff / Tips
Staff are great. They are so helpful and polite. Never had a problem with them.
We did tip and take some US dollars with you! Our waiter in the restaurant we tipped on first night and then every 2-3 days. I think we tipped about $80 dollars in end and rooms boys about $30.

The Famous Stomach Bug
Yep its there… I have a very weak stomach at best of times and had a shaky couple of days but its fine. Just take some tablets with you and get on with it! A fair chunk of people did seem to go down with it though and some worse then others. It happens just take some tablets. You can still sit in sun and enjoy the island. Toilets are all extremely clean.

Conclusion
Great Island. Highly recommend it! Staff great, Beaches great, Plenty to do and swimming with turtles is awesome. Food great, Just take dollar with you for tipping.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank s9908377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2009

flew out on 6th sept from gatwick on honeymoon arrived after an amazing sea plane flight from male 45 mins and we arrived at kuredu. straight away we saw stingrays as we departed ea plane. we were upgraded at receptionwhich was nice suprise from koamas beach villa to jaccuzzi villa. room was lovely and cleaned twice daily by our room boy. staff on this island are amazing so polite and friendly. big shout goes out to amir in o resturant and sarath in main bar by koamas resturant top guys made us very welcome and always made us laugh. snorkelling is amazing especially in front of koamas villa 236 this is were the turtles come to feed saw several every day amazing experiance. house reef was bit murky at times but still awsome. did get dodgy tummy on last 3 days but think it was mainly due to heat and not drinking enough water. on a whole this island was stunning great beaches and snorkelling and staff treat you like royalty shall go back again one day.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dazspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodford Green Essex
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2009

Prior to booking our holiday we spent a long time trawling the internet to try and find out more about Kuredu and the difference between the types of accommodation on offer. Despite stiff fingers and a head-ache we were none the wiser and opted to book a Beach Bungalow.

On arrival to say we were disappointed would be an understatement! In fact if we could we would have turned round and come back home. This was NOT what we had expected of our dream holiday.

Beach Bungalow’s are on the North Side of the island. They are very basic and overlook scrub land and a poor beach. There is a lot of sea grass here and the tide line is a mass of washed up seaweed. The outlook is onto the breakwater. You are allocated a yellow wrist band which only allows you to eat in one restaurant which is a bit like a school canteen with sand on the floor! You are also only allowed to drink in one very noisy bar where there are party nights, Mr and Mrs Quizzes etc. The only thing missing was BINGO!

The other (South Side) of the island was delightful. Powder soft white sand, clear turquoise sea, palm trees etc. But unless you had accommodation on this side there was nowhere to sit and very little shade on offer.

We approached reception to see what possibility there was of changing accommodation and initially met with very little help. Fortunately my husband is not one to give up easily and thanks to his perseverance we managed to change to a Jacuzzi Beach Villa on the South side although we had to pay $165 a day for the privilege. This however was money very well spent and had we known prior to booking what a difference this would make we would have booked this in the first place.

So for those considering booking here is a break down of the different types of accommodation.

Beach Bungalows – See my description above. ( not recommended )

Beach Villas and Jacuzzi Beach Villas – the only difference is the Jacuzzi! These are located on a wonderful stretch of beach and are highly recommended. The accommodation is spacious and consists of wrought iron four poster bed with mosquito net, TV, sitting area, CD player, his and hers sinks an outdoor bathroom and in some cases a day bed outside with a ceiling fan. Outside there is plenty of personal shade under the palm trees or sitting on your own decking area. If you are in this accommodation you are given a blue wrist band, which entitles you to eat in any restaurant and drink in any bar. We tended to use either the Sangu restaurant at the western tip of the island or the ‘O’ restaurant at the eastern tip. Both these restaurants are smaller and more personal and have a lovely ambience overlooking the sea. You can even get a table on the sand.

‘O’ villas. These are the most modern of the accommodations and looked very good. They have a day bed outside with a ceiling fan. However they are not on a very good stretch of beach and are on the ocean rather than lagoon side of the island (North side) so don’t have the same tranquil turquoise sea or views. You are still Blue bands.

The Water Villas/ Stilts. People we met who were staying in these said they were very good. Not dissimilar to the Beach Villas- but they are MUCH more expensive. However these are also on the north side and are on the same stretch of seaweedy beach as the beach bungalows. We didn’t think they were worth the extra money. Still Blue bands for all facilities so no other extra benefits for your money.

Once we had moved accommodation we had a delightful holiday. Yes the pool was crowded and noisy- but we didn’t go there except to have a drink at the pool bar.

There were far more activities on offer than we had anticipated. Tennis, Table Tennis, Volleyball, wind surfing, kite surfing, canoeing, pedallos, waterskiing etc. which could have made the place feel like Butlins. However these were all situated around the centre of the island and easily avoided.

In fact I forgot they were even there once I started snorkelling on the excellent house reef and coral gardens. The marine life is superb. Turtles, Manta rays, Moray eels, and fish in every size shape and colour. The sunsets were amazing and walking along the soft sand to dinner was special.

We did meet lots of people who had tummy bugs however we were fine. I wondered if the source of infection was the swimming pool as neither myself or my husband used this and yet all the people we met who had been ill were swimming regularly.

We were also lucky with the sand flies and didn’t get bitten at all. I should imagine that the North side of the island where all the seaweed is would be worse for this.

Everything was very expensive at the shops and the excursions and they seemed to want to extract every extra dollar from the guests even to trying to charge you for extra coffeemate from your room. Also if you want a decent cup of coffee you have to pay extra

The Sea plane flight is amazing – have your camera to hand.

Be warned that if you arrive on a Monday your luggage will be transported to the island by boat which takes 8 hours and therefore make sure you have enough stuff in your hand luggage to last you until bedtime.

To summarise. If you are looking for peace and tranquillity- maybe consider a different island although you can achieve this here if you move away from the centre of the island and be very careful with your choice of accommodation. STICK TO THE SOUTH SIDE.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank BowlerP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2009

Island was beautiful although we planned to learn kite and windsurfing but that was not possible due to lack of wind. We had a lovely time up until four days from the end of our stay when I contracted D&V and was laid up for a number of days. Three weeks on I still have the bug. On investigation each couple we became friendly with each female became ill, all staying in different locations on the island. At one point my partner was so concerned that he thought I'd have to be airlifted to the main land as I could not keep fluids in and became very weak. We had been very careful about what we ate but further research suggests that it is feces in the food upon preparation. This illness has left a bitter taste to our honeymoon.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank gert_minger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2009

We stayed in Kurdeu in September 2009 for our honeymoon.

Flights...............
- Heathrow to Dubai with Emirates. No problems, very smooth flights. Very good personal entertainment system to pass the time
- Dubai to Male, again with Emirates, and again no problems. (Even the food was nice)
- Seaplane from Male to Kuredu was an experience; the pre flight safety speech took only 30 seconds compared to the usual 10 minutes you would expect on a standard airline.. If you don't like small propeller planes, then you won’t enjoy this. A 40 minute flight and we were there.

Accommodation................
- Our accommodation was perfect (Jacuzzi Beach Villa No. 113 on the Koamas side). Very clean spacious wooden hut style. Big 4 poster bed, LCD TV, Coffee machine. From a door in the main room you can enter the outdoor bathroom. This is better than it sounds, it is private, you can not be seen showering. The jacuzzi is very nice, but really suitable for only 2 average sized people at a squeeze. If you are of the big boned variety then you will have to take turns in the water.
The room was cleaned twice a day when we were in the restaurant. The room boy was very polite and friendly and gave us a 1.5 L bottle of water every day.
The view from the room was perfect, straight out on the beech with a few coconut trees here and there, 30 meter walk to the sea. Very nice!

Food...................
- We were allocated the Koamas restaurant, which after testing the other 2 turned out to be the nicest one. We were all inclusive so we ate here most meal times. Food was very nice, plenty of selection and themed nights e.g. Indian, Chinese, American etc. Drinks are served by your allocated waiter, who will happily keep topping you up as you please. The only negative comment would be that the desserts were not the most imaginative, but I am not a dessert person so this didn’t bother me too much.

Massages..................
- We had a 75 minute massage which was very good. I went for the Swedish full body and my wife had the reflexology and Indian head massage. Together cost $160 was not too bad. The staff were very friendly and polite as you would expect in a relaxation facility.

Trips..............
There are plenty of them, snorkeling, fishing, diving, boats etc, but we were more than happy in the sea and on the beach, so we didn't book any.

Swimming pool..............
Why spend a week in the pool when you are on an island in the Indian Ocean??? I have no idea, but it seemed to be popular with the tattooed crowd. The one reason to go there it that it’s a good location to watch the fruit bats that fly from tree to tree above the pool. Otherwise we stayed clear.

Beeches..................
The Koamas side of the island where we were, is by far the nicer side of the island. White sands, clear water and strangely hardly an people. Even though the villas were all booked, the beeches were often deserted, which was good for us. The views were as you would expect from a paradise islands.

Bugs..................
No stomach bugs / pains to report. Functioned as normal for the entire holiday.
However, there are other bugs to watch out for, SAND FLEAS / FLIES. You won’t see or hear them but you will discover many many bites across your body, mainly on feet ankles and legs. Thy are just about going 2 weeks after returning from the island. Very very itchy.

Tips:
I know some people might be unsure of what and who to tip so I will tell you what we did. We gave $20 to our cleaner and $15 to our waiter. The waiter would have got more, but he seemed to be running on empty for the last few days, he got slower and slower. Nice guy though. We also gave $1 or $2 to the guy who carried our luggage.

Overall:
We thoroughly enjoyed our 8 days in Kuredu and have no complaints what so ever. The island was beautiful, very clean and all the staff were very polite and hardly bothered us at all. Would definitely recommend it to others. Would we go back? No, but we don't go to the same place twice and that's the only reason.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TravellersCzech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuredu
13.2 mi away
Cheval Blanc Randheli
Cheval Blanc Randheli
#1 of 1 in Randheli Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
4.8 mi away
Komandoo Maldives Island Resort
16.6 mi away
The Sun Siyam Iru Fushi Maldives
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Palm Beach Resort & Spa Maldives
Palm Beach Resort & Spa Maldives
#1 of 1 in Madhiriguraidhoo Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hurawalhi Island Resort
Hurawalhi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Hurawalhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
15.4 mi away
Atmosphere Kanifushi Maldives
Atmosphere Kanifushi Maldives
#1 of 1 in Kanifushi Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuredu Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuredu Island Resort & Spa

Property: Kuredu Island Resort & Spa
Address: Lhaviyani Atoll, Republic of Maldives
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Lhaviyani Atoll > Kuredu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuredu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kuredu Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, surrounded by a beautiful lagoon and long stretches of white, sandy beach, is the only Resort on the island of Kuredu, in Lhaviyani Atoll. It is 1800 meters long by 325 meters wide, about 57 Hectares (143 acres). Your seaplane transfer from Velana International Airport is a scenic, 40 minute flight. The 383 Rooms include 10 Sultan Pool Villas including 1 Villa Family Suite, 50 Sangu Water Villas including 1 Honeymoon Suite, 100 Jacuzzi Beach Villas, 93 Beach Villas, 90 Beach Bungalows & 40 Garden Bungalows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity, TravelUp, Expedia, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kuredu Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuredu Island Hotel Kuredu
Kuredu Island Resort And Spa
Hotel Kuredu Island
Kuredu Island Maldives
Kuredu Maldives
Kuredu Island Resort Maldives
Kuredu Island Resort & Spa Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing