We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel generally, especially for divers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kuredu Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuredu
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“great hotel generally, especially for divers”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

excellent value for money, all inclusive good. al a carte restaurants are very good and additional cost marginal. however, best of all is the diving; great location with plenty of very good dive sites. excellent dive centre, well run. if you are diving, take the effort to qualify on the scooters and do a cross channel dive - awesome in the middle of the channels, much more big stuff that you simply don't see on a normal dive.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenFlockhart, General Manager at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Robin,
Tropical Greetings from Kuredu Island Resort and Spa. Thank you for your concise review of your recent diving holiday with us. Chef Owen and his Culinary Team are delighted you enjoyed the fabulous and varied food on offer. The a la carte restaurants are indeed great value options to enjoy world class cuisine, amongst a stunning beach setting. Thank you also for recognizing the dedicated and professional team at Prodivers. They are industry leaders; passionate, not only, about dive quality but also the preservation of the fragile ecosystem that surrounds us.
Once again Robin, from all of us here at Kuredu and Prodivers, thank you for sharing your holiday memories with us and we hope to see you back very soon.

Regards,
Ken Flockhart,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,877 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,324
    1,157
    265
    76
    55
See reviews for
905
5,061
67
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,453)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stayed in in the O Resort part of the island in a beach villa. It was an amazing part of the island. We were going to opt for the water villas ( on stilts), but are so glad we didn't. For us, were we stayed was just perfect. We had decking outside the villa with a double bed under an outdoor ceiling fan for a lazy snooze in the shade, our own stretch of the beach with sun beds allocated to each villa. Where we stayed, we had our own lagoon to swim in right outside our room so we were safe from the big ocean. Just a short walk around the island was were we could swim in the open ocean safely. This was due to the currents. The restaurant we were allocated was, what we considered the best. So much so, we have booked again to stray in the same villa next year. Cannot wait to go back. Oh, and I didn't mention the staff. They were the most polite and obliging people who couldn't do enough for you, always with a big smile. Well done Kuredu, you have it spot on

Room Tip: O Resort, but ask to make sure you are allocated the O Resort restaurant too. We actually stayed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenFlockhart, General Manager at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Brenda,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your stay in Kuredu.
The O Beach Villas are many people's favourite, as they offer our most modern room category as well as the facilities of the O Resort, with it's over twelve years old only policy.
It sounds like you will be joining our growing family of Repeat Guests when you return next year.
We look forward to welcoming you then.

Regards,
Ken Flockhart,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

As my title says this island is nothing short of amazing, if you are looking for complete luxury with the most amazing service and attention to detail then this is the right resort for you.

We stayed in one of the water villas which was an experience I will never forget, the sound of the waves at night was very soothing.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon-linden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenFlockhart, General Manager at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Simon-linden,
Thank you for the concise review of your vacation in a Sangu Water Villa. For many, the most idyllic way to spend a Maldivian vacation is in a unique over water villa but whether that be your accommodation of choice or a Beach Villa, we can guarantee that the experience will be one you will want to repeat.
Therefore, we hope it will not be too long before we are welcoming you back to our Paradise Island called Kuredu.

Regards,
Ken Flockhart,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

So, I will try and keep this short and sweet with just the info I was looking for when i was looking to book.

Kuredu is a beautiful island and we had a great holiday mostly just relaxing and spending time together.

When booking don't stress too much about where you stay on the island. We stayed in the Koamas jacuzzi villas to the east of the jetty.

Every area has it's good and bad points but look at it this way :

If you really can't stand Kids - stay in the 'O' area (drawback - long walk to main area)

For best beaches and access to snorkel straight onto house reef i you want somewhere along the south side of the island east and west of jetty (drawback - busier with a minimal amount of extra noise from planes/boats/people).

But don't get bogged down with reviews trying to convince you the area they stayed in was perfect and the other areas were horrific. Wherever you stay you will be fine with although just think about what is most important to you as as no area gives you everything prefectly.

Buffet food was pretty good in the main restaurants (we were all inclusive) but it's definitely worth booking one night at The Beach restaurant and spending the extra cash for the experience.

Service was pretty solid on the whole. Although do feel they could be a bit sharper with the mini-bar refills for the rooms.

Wi-fi was patchy for us so download anything you really want before arrival.

From our experience, i wouldn't bother with the Sunset cruise as the reality is they are a bit busy and full of people. Snorkelling excursions and Spa are WELL worth it though.

Would definitely recommend this place for a visit as it ticks a lot of boxes while not being too crazy on the price.

Room Tip: Every area has it's good and bad points but look at it this way : If you really can't st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IXW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenFlockhart, General Manager at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear IXW,
Thank you for the honest review of your stay in Kuredu Island Resort & Spa.
As you rightly say, location of accommodation is important depending on your holiday desires. However, with the frequent taxi buggy service, bicycle rentals and some healthy walking you are never too far away from all the island's facilities.
For clarification and for the benefit of future guests staying on our All Inclusive Plus plan, the in room mini bar is restocked once per day based on the consumption that has been signed for.
Also the free wifi service is designed for basic web surfing as well as sending and receiving emails. Guests that wish to download movies, music, etc. will need to purchase an upgraded wifi service.
As you have indicated, one night at the a la Carte Beach restaurant is a treat not to be missed and makes for a very pleasant contrast to the wonderful buffets prepared by our talented Team of Chefs.
We hope that as we have "ticked many of the boxes", we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Kuredu one day.

Regards,
Ken Flockhart,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

In case you're planning a short holiday ( 7-10 days), please reconsider whether you really need to go to the Maldives. What these islands have to offer ( white beaches, blue ocean, colourful underwater world, good resorts) can actually be found in many other places in the world. Places that are not so overpriced, and easier to reach.
We found out that travelling to and from the Maldives can be quite a hassle. Because of a tiny bit of morning fog in Dubai ( which cleared up rapidly enough), our Emirates flight was delayed for 24 hours. We left Amsterdam on Friday evening, did not arrive at Kuredu resort until Sunday evening, and our suitcase arrived Tuesday afternoon. Our return flight was 4 days later... Not a carefree holiday, to say the least.
The return flight was scheduled to leave Male at 11.45 PM, but we were requested by the hotel to leave by the 2 o'clock sea plane, which cut our holiday short again. The sea planes have limited capacity and only fly during the daytime, so this is common practice.
To avoid this, you might want to pick an island that is reached by boat.

The resort itself was fine and very clean, staff were very friendly, food was OK, Kuredu has a lot a facilities ( golf course, tennis court, football field, etc), which we ended up not using because it was too hot anyway. If we ever go again, we will definitely pick a less elaborate, smaller resort.
Snorkeling is good for beginners, because you can snorkel right off the beach, but for the really nice spots you will have to book a tour at the Diving Centre.
I would not have liked a bungalow or villa on the 'jetty' side of the island. The jetty spoils your view and there is a lot of noise from the boats and sea planes. This is also where the main reception area and bars are. Best choice is a beach bungalow on the opposite side. Quieter, lovely views.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gitte b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenFlockhart, General Manager at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear Gitte,
It is most unfortunate that your journey to the Maldives was effected by fog in Dubai which understandably then had a serious impact on the scheduling of Emirates flights that weekend in February. I understand that Emirates also had a malfunction of their luggage system at the same time which compounded the issue, resulting in delayed luggage to many destinations.
There have been some other reviews recently where guests were maybe unaware that the sea planes in the Maldives only operate during daylight hours. Readers and future guests may want to consider daytime return international flights to reduce waiting times at the airport on the day of departure.
Sounds like a smaller resort may have suited your holiday needs better so perhaps you may consider our sister resort, Komandoo for your next Maldivian vacation.

Regards,
Ken Flockhart,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We were on the island for our honeymoon and stayed in both Beach and Water villas.

First the neagatives because they are the minority: Travelling to the island was long from Finland (2 flights + 4 hour wait + waterplane = aprx. 24 hours!), the most dissapointing was the 4 hour wait at Male. Kuredu has their own lounge at the airport where we were able to relax and got some snacs but it could have been a bit more cosy and a lot more faster. Also on the departure day we were not able to stay in our room to the end (we had evening-flight) and so we had to stay at the pool for hours and change clothes in toilet. It would be great if there was some airconditioned space with shover for this situation. So these were the negatives.. not so many.

The positives - So many!! Beautifull, clean, well organised island, happy, smiley, great service, awesome staff, excellent activities, good entertainment, many private spaces, mellow atmosphere, incredible morning- lunch- dinner- dessert buffeés and drinks selection (gained 3 kg in 2 weeks.. with good contious), lots to do and lots of places to just relax. Also the football field was one of my husbands favorites.

Food & Drinks: We had all inclusive package and it was easy to operate on the island with the all inc. bracelet. Service was very polite and always available. Many choices for bars and food! For meals we had our own waiter. Food was so good, my favorite was the desserts buffeé. All inc. has their own drinks list, which we went through on the first day to determine our favorites.. Good fun. A little minus I have to say was that in the 'O' resort pool we had to go inside (and put clothes on) to order drinks.. so poolside service to the lazy's like us would have been great.

Activities: We happened to be on the island in Dec 2013 when Kuredu was celebrating their 25th anniversary. There were special activities every day! Our absolute favorite was the Kuredu Amazing Race which we snatched the 1. Place, with awesome prices!! :) Running in the heat was truly memorable, I have never been more red. Special thanks to the green team captain! We did also alot of snorkelling with rented equipment and free introduction. The life under the water is something out of a nature channel! Our day on the boat Muna was also one of my favorites even though the weather was a bit rainy.. but Muna found the sun! :) We snorkelled with mantarays and saw dolphins!

Accommodation: Both Beach and water Villas were great (1week in both). 'O' Beach Villa's (for adults only) were newer and spacious, and had beautifull outdoor toilet (totally private). However we could not swim in front of our Villa because the water was too shallow. In the Water Villa we had our own deck and stairs straight to the sea. You did not need shoes anywhere on the island, in fact it was recommended to walk without. All roads were sandy.

Weather: We had rainy/cloudy days and sunny days about 50/50. The heat was tropical all the time (30+ C). Me, a totally white Finn girl, got a very good sun tan.

Experience: The island is perfect for honeymooners like us. There were not that many kids on the island and it was very peacefull, almost desserted during daytime.. A lot of privacy. In the evening restaurants were full = good atmosphere. Also good parties to mingle with other quests. No scary animals on the island, except the two bunnies, big bats, birds and a couple lizards we saw. Ocean was very safe too, little sharks were adorable. One night we saw starplankton on the beach, Magical!

Special: Many couples visit Kuredu again. They have special treats to repeaters :) Hope we get to do that too. Thank you all at Kuredu!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the lagoon side would be better for swimming+ snorkeling. More peace and adults only on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Milla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenFlockhart, General Manager at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear Milla,
Thank you for posting a review of your Honeymoon vacation at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa.
Unfortunately, it is a long journey, (especially from some countries in Europe), to such a remote part of the world but more than worth it once you are here. If it was a shorter journey then it would probably not be the Paradise destination that it is.
Thank you for your suggestion of a changing facility to be used by guests on the day of departure. This has been mentioned by other guests in the past and as a result we have just started construction of such a facility in the centre of the island.
Congratulations on being part of the victorious Green Team for our Amazing Race Challenge which was one of the many activities that we hosted during our 25th Anniversary celebrations last December.
It sounds like you are considering a return visit to your Honeymoon vacation home. So we look forward to welcoming you back then.

Regards,
Ken Flockhart,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We have just returned from Kuredu after 14 wonderful days on this paradise island. Arriving on the 23rd of February which was actually 1 day late. A six hour delay at Manchester due to fog in Dubai, a five hour delay in Dubai which meant that by the time we landed in Male,with no luggage we had missed our seaplane and had to overnight in Male. The following day we were on our way to Kuredu (travelling in a party of six) What a great experience the seaplane was, especially watching the barefooted Pilot and co pilot putting one hand each on the throttle, to make sure it stayed on full and did not move during take off. (Funny) Arriving at Kuredu guests are greeted by some of the staff playing drums and clapping. Shortly after that you can check in and are given a short orientation of the island and a welcome drink and cool face cloths to refresh yourselves. We were escorted to our beach bungalows and settled in. The staff did their upmost to locate our luggage ASAP but ,unfortunately we didn't get it until 7-30 pm the following day. (Emirates mix up, nothing to do with Kuredu) Glad to be there, our party sat at the Main pool bar having a few drinks and laughing at the situation, who cares, we were in paradise. During the next thirteen days on the island we were pampered by all of the staff, who made sure that whatever you wanted they would provide, always with a smile and a pleasantness that made you feel relaxed.The restaurants and bars all have a sandy floor so,as we had read on some previous posts about not needing any footwear whilst on the island, for the rest of our holiday we were bare footed.(what a delight) Some evenings the Ladies wore theirs of course so that they felt dressed up. The snorkelling is fantastic
and mainly safe,watching Turtles glide past you and thousands of tropical fish.We were allocated a table for six people in the Bonthi restaurant which we had for the duration of our stay, and our waiter was Saddam who looked after us superbly and always served us with a smile.(thank you Saddam) all the bar staff were great,but a special mention for,Iresh,Sobahan,Musharaf and Bandera, whom all joined in our conversations, bad English jokes and still served up some delicious cocktails and drinks.( Main pool bar,thanks guys) You can walk all the way around the island, and it takes about 40 minutes,with some stunning and different views from wherever you are. The sandbank at the Sangu end is where you can watch the sun set and a must do thing is walk out onto the bank, where you are stood literally in the middle of the Indian Ocean, Wow !!!
Stroll down the jetty past the boats and you arrive at the Tea house where, you can sit in the evening and watch all kinds of marine life swim up close attracted by spotlights. Bumped into Ken Flockhart on the jetty and had a chat about the island, staff, flight delays and his work, what a nice man who, appreciates the commitment and hard work put into the smooth running of the island by his staff. The weather was fantastic during our stay and we only had one tropical downpour which lasted about three hours. No worries about claiming sunbeds around the pool area as they were plentiful. No mozzies, some ants, lizards on the roofs, and Fruit bats flapping by.
The only sad thing about this beautiful resort is, you have to leave paradise where it is. Anyone going here in the future will not be disappointed.
Suggestion. When ordering a cab to take you back to your bungalow,a contact name should be given to reception, who could pass this on to the driver, so they know they are picking the correct people up and avoid queue jumpers grabbing your ride!!!!

Room Tip: Beach bungalows are superb,if you don't want to walk too far, one on the jetty side Near the wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Millsie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenFlockhart, General Manager at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear Millsie,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your stay at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa.
The barefoot experience is very unique to the Maldives and helps to enhance the feeling of complete relaxation when staying in a resort such as Kuredu.
Saddam in Bonthi restaurant is proving to be one of our most popular Waiters.
Our wonderful Bar Team Members that you have personally mentioned will be delighted for the acknowledgement.
Now that you have found Paradise, we hope it will not be too long before we can welcome you back.

Regards,
Ken Flockhart,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuredu
13.2 mi away
Cheval Blanc Randheli
Cheval Blanc Randheli
#1 of 1 in Randheli Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
4.8 mi away
Komandoo Maldives Island Resort
16.6 mi away
The Sun Siyam Iru Fushi Maldives
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Palm Beach Resort & Spa Maldives
Palm Beach Resort & Spa Maldives
#1 of 1 in Madhiriguraidhoo Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hurawalhi Island Resort
Hurawalhi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Hurawalhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
15.4 mi away
Atmosphere Kanifushi Maldives
Atmosphere Kanifushi Maldives
#1 of 1 in Kanifushi Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuredu Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuredu Island Resort & Spa

Property: Kuredu Island Resort & Spa
Address: Lhaviyani Atoll, Republic of Maldives
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Lhaviyani Atoll > Kuredu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuredu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kuredu Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, surrounded by a beautiful lagoon and long stretches of white, sandy beach, is the only Resort on the island of Kuredu, in Lhaviyani Atoll. It is 1800 meters long by 325 meters wide, about 57 Hectares (143 acres). Your seaplane transfer from Velana International Airport is a scenic, 40 minute flight. The 383 Rooms include 10 Sultan Pool Villas including 1 Villa Family Suite, 50 Sangu Water Villas including 1 Honeymoon Suite, 100 Jacuzzi Beach Villas, 93 Beach Villas, 90 Beach Bungalows & 40 Garden Bungalows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kuredu Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuredu Island Hotel Kuredu
Kuredu Island Resort And Spa
Hotel Kuredu Island
Kuredu Island Maldives
Kuredu Maldives
Kuredu Island Resort Maldives
Kuredu Island Resort & Spa Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing