We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kuredu Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hurawalhi Island Resort(Hurawalhi)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Fushifaru Maldives(Lhaviyani Atoll)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Palm Beach Island Resort & Spa(Madhiriguraidhoo Island)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Soneva Jani(Medhufaru)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cheval Blanc Randheli(Randheli Island)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cocoon Maldives(Ookolhufinolhu)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (8,306)
Filter reviews
8,306 results
Traveler rating
6,461
1,398
301
84
62
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6,461
1,398
301
84
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach bungalowour waiterour honeymoonfishsea planekuredu islandmain receptionsunset cruisewhite nightroom boybeach restaurantnorth sidemain areaall inclusive packagewhite partya la carte restaurantsmini bar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4,413 - 4,418 of 8,306 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We stayed at Kuredu in October 2013, our first visit to the Island and indeed the Maldives, from the moment we arrived in male, we were treated like royalty, Our teenagers even managed a smile after the long flight, while we waited for the sea plane. On arrival we were greeted by the staff and our experience began. It was an experience that to this day we all will never forget. People say first impressions count and without question this resort will not disappoint. We had two beach villas up near O which in our opinion was the best place to be, quiet and despite having the teenagers with us they preferred it up there to. The attention to detail is apparent everywhere and we truly fell in love with the island and the staff.
you really feel like royalty here and all the staff under the superb management try so very hard to make your holiday, form the room attendant, to the pool boy. even the IT guy, if the Internet drops. ALL staff cannot do enough to help.

The food was excellent , and there was always something for the teenagers, the white party is a great atmosphere. This island resort has it all, great staff, great facilities and great accommodation oh and great food. The local brands of sprits isn't to bad either

Would we return, you bet.. We are next week. and we can't wait, even the teenagers who normally would not like the totally relaxed pace are counting the days. I am sure this time will be better than the first but that will be hard to beat.

if your looking for one of the best kept secrets in the Maldives then this is the place for you.. you will not be disappointed

Room Tip: Jacuzzi Beach villas rock
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hudsonar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenFlockhart, General Manager at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear Hudson family,
Thank you for posting a review of your family vacation to Kuredu Island Resort & Spa.
As you have quite correctly highlighted, there is plenty to do for teenagers at Kuredu, especially if they are interested in any of our wide variety of sporting activities that are available, i.e. football, golf, beach volleyball, world class scuba diving, the widest selection of watersports in the Maldives and our newest addition, cricket.
Thank you for complimenting all of our wonderful staff and for posting some lovely photos.
We are delighted that you have joined our very active Facebook community and even more delighted to be welcoming you back to Kuredu as Repeat Guests later this month.

Regards,
Ken Flockhart,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

We returned from our 2nd visit to this little bit of paradise on the 3/3 & all I can say is - save your pennies & go!

We stayed in room 488 in the Oresort, & it was worth every penny, our room, view, facilities where all excellent including the wifi which was yes a little slow, but there was no wifi last year!

All the staff that we ever came into contact where excellent & to single anyone out would not be fair.

We spent most of our time with pro divers, doing 23 dives in 14 dives. These facilities are great, the dive instructors are top notch & on our last dive was out of this world,20+ sharks, 14 eagle rays!!!!!!

We are in the process of booking for our 3 visit in jan 2015.

Thank you to all on the island for making our trip so special.

Victoria & Stuart

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Vickandrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenFlockhart, General Manager at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear Victoria & Stuart,
Thank you for your lovely review of your 2nd stay at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa.
The Team at Prodivers will be so thrilled that they contributed to making your vacation such a perfect experience.
We are currently working with our Internet Service Provider to establish an improved bandwidth for the complimentary wifi we now provide. Until then, one method to improve the speed, is for users to disconnect their devices when not in use.
It sounds like you may already be counting down the days to your third visit to Kuredu and we all look forward to providing that warm welcome in January.

Regards,
Ken Flockhart,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

My wife and I stayed in a Garden Bungalow (368) for 7 nights on 18th Feb as part of our honeymoon. What a beautiful and relaxing island! We've never been to the Maldives before and it's a special place that has to be visited at least once in your life.

Our bungalow was a really short walk from the northern beach about half way between the O Resort reception and the Main reception. We found the snorkeling off this northern beach to be at least as good as the house reef. Echoing previous comments, as soon as you get off the seaplane, you are greeted by happy, smiling staff (which is nice after 24 hours of traveling!) and all the staff on the island seem genuinely friendly and happy to help.

We were allocated the Bonthi restaurant, which we used for every meal. Excellent food, lots of choice and a brilliant waiter who remembered our names and drinks, sometimes getting them before we'd even sat down! (thank you Fulhu - relax, enjoy and carry on!)

The all inclusive drinks were great, the accommodation was lovely - I can't get over the outside bathroom ;) The Garden Bungalows do not have a tv, but we didn't miss it one bit. Wi-fi in the room was plenty good enough to keep in touch with the outside world. The Six nations rugby matches were shown live on the big screen in the Akiri bar, which was a nice bonus.

Special mention to the girls at the Duniye Spa - deep muscle massage was excellent! Pleasure and pain...

Just one small tip - if you get travel sick, take some tablets before you get on the seaplane. On our return trip, it was quite windy and those planes are small, hot, smell badly of diesel and don't have much in the way of ventilation. The only slight downside to an otherwise fantastic holiday.

I won't go on for ages about what a great place this is, you can read the other reviews for that. Just go and find out for yourself, you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: We had no issues with staying in a Garden Bungalow, they have everything you need. If you do pay extra to upgrade your room type, you will get more home comforts, a better view and more choice of all-inclusive restaurants (even though they all have the same food).
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MacSWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenFlockhart, General Manager at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear Jason & Olga,
Congratulations and thank you for your "beautiful" review of your recent Honeymoon vacation at Kuredu.
Fulhu, one of our many excellent Waiters will be delighted with your words of praise as will the lovely ladies in Duniye Spa.
We hope that your Honeymoon will always be a special memory for you and one that you will want to repeat in future years.

Regards,
Ken Flockhart,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We have recently returned from Kuredu after spending 10 nights in beach jacuzzi villa 257. My wife and I flew out on Feb 27th. We booked through Trailfinders and requested Sanghu. We were put at opposite end of island in O resort with our restaurant being in the middle of island. The accommodation is very good and the outside jacuzzi and relaxing bed is wonderful. You do hear the seaplanes every morning about 0730hrs but in our view wasn't a problem and seas were a bit rougher than other side of island.
TRAVEL - Went from Birmingham on Emirates and a total of 20hrs outbound and 30 hrs homebound. A definite factor to be taken into consideration. The Seaplane trip is cramped and very noisy but views can be brilliant. Take camera and ear plugs ( why ear plugs can't be supplied is beyond me ) Only 2hr wait on arrival which was no hardship. Leaving we had 8hr wait in Male airport before flight. Be aware that check in does not open until 2 - 3 hr before departure and waiting hall is rather basic with uncomfortable chairs, a few eating places with basic shops and toilet facilities. Open to outside temp with no air conditioning. The hotel on island charges $250 for a day room and use of facilities. We were made aware of guides who will take you on a walking tour of Male. Costs are $5 for each piece of left luggage, $1 each way for ferry ticket with you deciding after tour on what to pay. My wife and I found it to be basic but very interesting with a willing guide ( Shifal ) For the total round trip of 4 hours we decided on $60 and he appeared very happy with that. Probably not official but well worth it rather than hanging around.
RESORT - Very clean and well maintained with a variety of different villa types, clean bars and restaurants and a variety of things to do.Only 40 minutes to leisurely stroll round the island and a variety of wildlife with fruit bats, white tropic birds, white terns, black rabbits, small lizards, hermit crabs and amazing fish, turtles, etc. Walks close to shore reveal rays, crabs, sharks, etc.
No cash is handled on resort but all expenditure will have 8% tax added to the bill.
The swimming pool at O resort is much quieter than main pool and adults only.
Although much is made of no shoes this is certainly correct but would advise taking flip flops just in case as a lot of coral ( small lumps which can make it uncomfortable at times ) on the walkways, the sand gets very hot out of shade in afternoon and if your feet are slightly tender it can be difficult
STAFF - Completely agree with other contributors as the staff are a definite asset as they are always smiling, greeting you always and very helpful. Our personal favorites were :-
Hafooz our waiter in O restaurant
Ahmed the ever smiling guy who kept our room immaculately clean
Hussain our Island host who explained everything clearly and concisely at the beginning.
One minor criticism is that when our waiters were away on holidays the service was nowhere as good or efficient i.e. waiting for table to be cleaned, waiting for drinks, etc. This was very noticeable.
RESTAURANTS - Although only 50 metres from O restaurant we were assigned KOAMAS in the main section. Thought this was really strange. We therefore tended to use the O restaurant at breakfast & dinner. We used it one evening after booking but were never able to get into Sanghu to experience there - even though ringing up first thing at 0900hrs. We definitely preferred the O restaurant as opposed to Koamas.
FOOD is excellent for a buffet setting with huge choice - especially breakfasts. The pasta stations were very, very good and fresh fish every day was brilliant. Plenty of salads and heaven to experience ripe papaya, pineapple and melon daily. One minor criticism is that the meats- beef, pork and lamb - were tough and stringy but tasted fine.
TOURS. We found it difficult beforehand to find out, officially, about the various tours and prices. Official website didn't appear to give much info / prices on this. We did the following :-
Sunset Cruise - Very good and like others we saw plenty of flipper dolphins giving a display. Just over an hours trip ( Normally $30 each but free for all inclusive )
Felivaru Island visit plus Tuna canning factory - Again very interesting but be aware that half the time of the tour is on water getting to / from islands. Half day trip ( $50 each )
Back of the House Tour - Looking at staff area including generator plant, gardens, greenhouses, woodworking shop, water bottling plant, etc. Very interesting and a good insight into the running of a resort. About one and a half hours ( Free )
SNORKELING - My main reason for visiting and not disappointed. House reef is easy to get to from end of jetty and trip back to beach is over sea grass. Although the reef is rather bland the fish life is extensive / colourful and over the sea grass there are plenty of green turtles and other fish to see. I also did the Manta Ray discovery course and Full day Snorkeling trip ( $115 for both and you get a free DVD of the Manta course ) This was my personal highlight with 4 dives with Manta and 3 other snorkeling stops on different reefs. The guide plus crew really make an effort looking for Mantas. Saw Mantas on each of the 4 dives with the last being the highlight with 5 Mantas in a row gliding past and then returning and barrel rolling ( up to 10 times each time ) just metres away - AN ABSOLUTELY AMAZING EXPERIENCE !!!!!!!!
SHOPPING - Shops at each resort with prices - as expected quite high and in some cases outrageously high i.e 2 x Strepsils ( Yes they cut the strips up ) were $1-50c. 5 x medicated plasters were $4-50c. Sun tan lotion ( average quality ) was $35 for factor 30 and so on so ensure you take plenty of medication, pills, creams, etc
ENTERTAINMENT - On every night from 2130 / 2200 hrs in Babuna bar was very enjoyable ( When we could last that long !! ) with White night, Maldavian night and live music the highlights for us. The DJ night where modern mixes were played was not our scene but others enjoyed it.
SPAs - We went to the one at O resort as this was over the water. The staff were fine and ambiance was fine. Like many others we extended our free 15 minutes to an hour and this was an extra $70 each. We also had a couples exfoliation / massage for total of $179.

Overall our expectations were exceeded and I would have no hesitation in recommending the resort to others. Whilst it classes itself as 4 star I would say it was 4+ stars. Would we go again ? Only if we could find more convenient flights that would cut down on the traveling times.

Room Tip: Jacuzzi Beach villas are very good and I would prefer versus a beach villa, ours at NE end of island was close to sea. Western side of island is quieter with smoother seas.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank philthesailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenFlockhart, General Manager at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear Phillip & Thelma,
Thank you for your very comprehensive review of your recent stay at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa.
The Team Members that you mention; O Restaurant Waiter Hafooz, Room Boy Ahmed and Island Host Hussain will be feeling very proud of your acknowledgement.
It sounds like you really enjoyed the wonderful snorkelling excursions available, the highlight being the very memorable experience of swimming with Manta Rays.
In order to clarify a few points for the benefit of readers coming to Kuredu in the future:-
- The allocated restaurant for guests in a Jacuzzi Beach Villa is Koamas, for O Beach Villas it is the O Restaurant and for Sangu Water Villa guests it is the Sangu restaurant. Guests of all these room categories can take breakfast and lunch at any of our four buffet restaurants but need to take dinner at the allocated restaurant. Although, we do have a reservation system to book an alternative restaurant, subject to table availability, on a daily basis. Guests booking a Garden or Beach Bungalow will be allocated to the Bonthi restaurant for all three meals daily.
- The child policy at O Resort is over 12 year olds only. This helps to maintain a tranquil environment for the enjoyement of all guests.
- Government Goods and Service Tax (GST) is currently 8% which is included in all our prices except the Duniye Spa tariff.
- Our Gift Shop prices are understandably higher than you would expect to pay for the same products you may buy in your home country due to import duty and freight charges to the Maldives. The prices quoted in this review however are not accurate.
On the whole it would appear that you were very satisfied with your stay and we hope that you will be able to source better flight timings in future and will consider a return visit to Kuredu.

Regards,
Ken Flockhart,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We stayed in the O Beach Villa room 303 for 10 nights - me and my partner got married on the island on the 28th Feb - We cannot recommend this resort highly enough it is simply perfect in every way. From the moment you arrive in Male you are looked after with exceptional service. All staff members are very friendly and hard working. I would like to thank Candice our wedding coordinator who made our special day absolutely perfect, this was my dream wedding, and a day we will never forgot so thank you ;) A big thank you to our island host Moobar who was a perfect gentleman, very caring, helpful, would do absolutely anything for you, nothing was too much effort for him. Thank you for our little wedding gift too - We love it ;)
A huge thank you to Ahoo (ahmed) our waiter in the O Restaurant who looked after us for our whole stay morning, afternoon and evening, very professional, smiley and a bit of a charmer. Ahoo even went out of his way in his lunch break one day to take us snorkelling to find the wreck we couldn't find - so thank you Ahoo this was gratefully appreciated He also supports Arsenal ;)
I would also like to thank Mohammed who made our bed beautifully daily with beautiful flowers.
We were upgraded towards the end of our holiday to stay in the Sangu Water villas - this was very nice and they are simply beautiful but for any longer than 2/3 nights we preferred the O Resort and our O Beach Villa.

The food was exceptional, every day different food, the chefs are amazing and work very hard to keep all customers happy.

We had the candle meal after our wedding -this was one of the highlights of our trip, the service and food was out of this world, sat on the shoreline on a table on our own was just beautiful.

There is so much I could say about Kuredu Island but all I can say to you if you are thinking of going - Just book it, you will not be disappointed the island and staff are truly amazing

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dukey2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenFlockhart, General Manager at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear Joanne & Richard,
Thank you for your lovely review following your special Wedding vacation at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa.
Your recognition for all our staff but especially those that you have personally mentioned is very much appreciated.
On behalf of our Events Coordinator, Candice, Island Host, Mubah, O Restaurant Waiter Ahoo and your Room Boy Mohammed; a big thank you.
The Kitchen Brigade will also be delighted with your praise for the quality and variety of food they serve.
As Kuredu has now found such an important place in your hearts, we hope it will not be too long before you come back to see us.

Regards,
Ken Flockhart,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews