We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lush, as always”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kuredu Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuredu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We've just returned from our third trip to Kuredu and are considering booking the fourth for next January.
We stay in the O beach villa and as usual, the standards were very high (although we did try 2 days in the Sulthan Pool Villa and can confirm that they are amazing!). The staff at the O restaurant and bar were excellent, especially the bar staff. One of whom has been there every year we've visited, (Jayantha?), he always remembers us and always makes us feel special.
My husband has dived all over the world, but feels that the quality of the safety and instructors here is far superior.
The cleanliness of the island is great, the food is lovely (although do bring back the non seafood curries, they were my favourites) and the staff invariably delightful. What more could you want?

Room Tip: We have tried the beach bungalows - ok, but we had a restricted view due to the water villa's an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenFlockhart, General Manager at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Dawn,
Thank you for writing a review of your recent 3rd stay at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa.
The Team Members that you mention, will be delighted with your words of praise, especially Barman Jayantha.
With probably the largest and most professional dive operation in the Maldives based at Kuredu, it is a credit to the Prodivers Team that so many diving guests return year after year.
We look forward to welcoming you back for your 4th stay next time.

Regards,
Ken Flockhart,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (8,132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,344 - 4,350 of 8,132 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2014

Have just returned from Kuredu for our fifth time which tells its own story. We took friends with us this year and they were wowed! 137 returners were at the repeaters party.... Need I say more. The beauty of this island is stunning and the friendliness of the staff outstanding. For me there are three parts to the island giving three different experiences so there has to be something for everyone- Central island is the main hub for small shops, reception and the main bar for evening entertainment plus two restaurants, Sangu is the stunning white sand spit with a quiet , calm restaurant and O resort is more windy with the sound of the crashing ocean whilst you eat in another stunning restaurant. There are some restrictions on restaurant usage so be sure to check out what package you are on. There is a great dive centre and for me- a snorkeller- stunning fish just off the island- rays, reef sharks and beautiful fish. We saw dolphins on the sunset cruise just off the lsland! New improvements in the last two years are- free wi if in your rooms, free soft drinks in mini bar and afternoon tea in the main bar- not that you need this! Every night there is a themed night for dinner and the chefs are there cooking " live time" for you. There are also two luxurious spas on the island too! A behind the scenes tour is well worth while - no surprises they have happy staff when you see how the Management do so much for the staff facilities. We tried another island once but for us nothing can come close to Kuredu. It is paradise and has so much to offer. I can't recommend it highly enough. Kuredu- already looking forward to our next trip back! Thank you.

Room Tip: Read the choices closely as packages do vary - you need to be very clear what you are booking as som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Yothu-Yindi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenFlockhart, General Manager at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear David & Jayne,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review of Kuredu following your 5th visit.
The details that you have outlined will certainly assist readers make an informed decision when booking a vacation at Kuredu.
We are pleased to note that you appreciate the enhancements made in the last couple of years, most notably, free wifi now in all rooms and more recently beer and soft drinks being included from the mini bar for All Inclusive guests.
From all of your family in Kuredu, we look forward to welcoming you back next time for your 6th stay.

Regards,
Ken Flockhart,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Thanks Kuredu for making our honeymoon a memorable one.

upon arrival, we were upgraded into the Honeymoon suite which was a lovely suprise. our balcony overlooked nothing but clear blue water and swimming with reef sharks, turtles and sting rays was amazing. the staff are extremely friendly and hard working and are a real credit to such an amazing island.

there is nothing i could mark down about our holiday. great value for money and we would definately return. only wish it was closer to the UK.

Room Tip: try your luck and ask for free upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LondonNewcastle1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenFlockhart, General Manager at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear "Big Ben",
Thank you for your concise review of your recent Honeymoon vacation at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa.
We appreciate the positive words used to acknowledge our wonderful Team Members.
Sounds like you may be tempted to return one day and therefore we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,
Ken Flockhart,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Where to start! We visited Kuredu between the 23rd July - 8th August 2013 and can safely say it was a fantastic experience. We knew when we checked into the resorts private sea plane lounge at Male that we were in for treat. When arriving at Kuredu we were greeted by the resorts staff playing drums and were escorted down the jetty into reception where a refreshing drink and a cold flannel were waiting. We chose to stay in the beach bungalows and thought they were brilliant. The rooms are fitting with the setting. Clean, simple and with an outdoor bathroom (exciting). Considering the island was full to capacity, during the day we saw more marine life than other guests, which was great.

As we stayed in the beach bungalows we were allocated the Bonthi restaurant. The food choice was superb with so much choice at all meal times. In addition, there were different food stations manned by chefs cooking delicacies to your liking. Our waiter, Nawful, was fantastic and by the end of the 2 weeks he had our drinks and food orders down to a tee. It was great speaking to him and learning about his life off the island of Kuredu.

I would highly recommend taking advantage of the free snorkeling introduction if you are not a pro, The team guides you through the different areas for snorkeling around the island, what fish to see (and miss) and how to effectively use your equipment, all this was done in the water and not sat behind a desk. The sea life off the island is spectacular. In the shallows were baby sharks and rays, which were visible every day. Slightly further off the shore were larger sharks and turtles (an amazing sight), but watch out for trigger fish as my dad got nibbled. Also included in the All Inclusive package was a sunset cruise. Even though on our trip we didn't see much sunset, this was forgotten about when the dolphins were swimming alongside the boat.

We were lucky enough during our stay to be on the island when the final of the staff volleyball was taking place. This apparently is an annual competition were teams compete against teams from neighboring islands. Our room cleaner was part of team house keeping and our chefs were part of team food and beverage. The final for this took place in the staff quarters, which as a guest, it was so nice to see how they lived when they were not working, and it was lovely to see what a massive event this game was to them.

Overall, I would recommend Kuredu anyone. We have visited many places in the world and this has to be the most tranquil and naturally beautiful. We have already booked our return for the same time this year.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AWilko19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenFlockhart, General Manager at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Dear AWilko,
Thank you for posting a review of your family vacation in Kuredu last Summer.
We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed the wide variety of food available in the Bonthi restaurant and were well looked after by your Waiter Nawful and the Team of Chefs.
Some snorkelling and a sunset cruise (hopefully accompanied by jumping dolphins) are two of the 'must do's' when taking a vacation on Kuredu. As you quite rightly point out, even for a novice snorkeller, a short introductory session from our Instructors will have you hooked.
We are glad you got to experience the Inter-Department Ramadan Volleyball Tournament. It was a great event, so much fun and Team spirit and sure to be the same again this year.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the summer.

Regards,
Ken Flockhart,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

we stayed at kuredu for the week of the 25 yr celebrations ,When we arrived we were greeted by Ken and his team , only to then have Fikry leading on the drums when we got to reception , what a welcome . Bobbin was in the Akiri bar , a big cheery welcome from him too .We were treated to so many wonderful events from a gladiators competition to a coffee morning at Francos , to a photo shoot , to a fantastic gala dinner ,also well organised and everyone enjoyed these things so much .Pro divers also joined in the celebrations with a dive on the express , they also managed an underwater photograph of all taking part ,!! The food as always is fantastic , a varied choice something for everyone . I cannot praise the staff enough ,they all go out of their way to make you feel special , Nimal ,Bobbin ,Awal ,Lesley ,Nick ,Amir ,Mamum , Joseph Danash to name but a few , apologise for any we have missed . Kuredu is a unique place it has the exceptional combination of first class management Ken , Fikry and co and first class staff , just cant wait to return in 48 sleeps but whos counting !!:)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank laurence14582014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenFlockhart, General Manager at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Dear Laurence & Karen,
Thank you for posting such a lovely review of your stay at Kuredu last December.
We are delighted that you chose to return to be here with your 'Kuredu family' during our 25th Anniversary celebrations.
On behalf of all the Team, especially those you have kindly mentioned, thank you for your positive words, acknowledging the tremendous effort that was put into making the Anniversary celebrations such a success.
As Fikry would say, "we have saved your footprints" and look forward to welcoming you back again in March.

Regards,
Ken Flockhart,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

This was our sixth visit to the Maldives for 2 weeks end of November and always on a different island, after a lot of research we opted for Kuredu we were a little wary as we had never been on a big island before only smaller islands with hardly any entertainment. Well were we surprised this island has absolutely everything, it can be as peaceful as you want or as busy as you want. We stayed in a beach bungalow no. 420 for the first week, this side of the island is the quiet side and the reef is like a nursery for the smaller fish, we counted over 24 baby black tip reef sharks in just over an hour, snorkelling is a little more harder depending on whether tide is in or out, as it is very shallow. On our second week we upgraded to a beach villa no. 321 this was sheer luxury the beach outside was superb of talcum powder soft sand with stunning uninterrupted views. Once again this was peaceful during the day we hardly saw anybody total relaxation. If you wanted it a little more up beat go to the pool bar side of the island, where the snorkelling is amazing just off the pier we saw turtles everyday, big barracuda, black tip reef sharks up to 4 ft don't worry completely harmless.

At night you could have a quiet drink in the bar by the reception, only one or two couples in here every night or you could go to the main Babuna bar where there was entertainment every night and a lively fun atmosphere. Lala at the bar is a brilliant bar man, on our last night at 11.40 pm just about to go off to our room when he popped up with 2 drinks and said it was too early to go to bed! (my kind of barman) also a mention to Nick at the pool bar brilliant impersonations of peoples accents and always smiling.

Restaurants excellent food varied, never repetitive, plenty of choice and puddings to die for. Loose weight before you go as you will certainly put on a few pounds whilst there.

I am a seasoned diver and Prodive were very professional and with good staff, but compared to other islands we have been on I found them very expensive especially as I always take my own gear and because of this I didn't do as many dives as I would normally, but this does not reflect in anyway on the island.

We always said we would never go back to the same island as there are so many other islands to see, but Kuredu we will return. Having travelled extensively throughout the world we can honestly say this was the best holiday we have ever had.

Finally, have a game of golf - where else can you go and play golf at night under millions of stars absolutely amazing........

Cheers Kuredu 100% we will be back
Pete and Lynda Cheltenham

Room Tip: What you can afford makes no difference as the island is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank rolling1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenFlockhart, General Manager at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Dear Pete & Lynda,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your say in Kuredu.
It sounds like you had a fantastic time exploring the marine life in the crystal clear waters that surround our beautiful island.
Assistant Bars Manager Lalith and the very humorous Nick will be delighted with your words of recognition.
I am glad that you took some time to explore our picturesque golf course. Not only is it a lot of fun playing golf under the floodlights and the stars but it is also quite a different experience than most golf facilities when you are barefoot as well.
It sounds like you are a real fan of the Maldives and hopefully now you have found your favourite resort in Kuredu. We hope that your seventh visit to the Maldives will be a return to our beautiful island.

Regards,
Ken Flockhart,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We have reviewed Kuredu before have been lucky to have made this place our most wanted holiday home due to the welcome food staff , We was very Lucky to celebrate the islands 25th Anniversary Wow week 9-14 December was Amazing the memorise the island give us was priceless the staff & mangers are simply the best. If you are reading this you will not be disappointed if you book most guest are repeater's and the island staff from the top are now our friends that speaks for its self the place is what the broachers' say Paradise at its best, Thank you Chris and your amazing team we will see you October x

Room Tip: Don't feel you have to go with top room the island has so much to offer you will only sleep and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kathy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenFlockhart, General Manager at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear Kathy & Peter,
Thank you for your concise review of your last stay at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa.
We are delighted that you chose to return to Kuredu to be part of our memorable 25th Anniversary festivities last month.
As you rightly say, it is the wonderful Kuredu Team Members that make this your home away from home and we look forward to welcoming you back in October.

Regards,
Ken Flockhart,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuredu
4.9 mi away
Komandoo Maldives Island Resort
16.6 mi away
The Sun Siyam Iru Fushi Maldives
2.6 mi away
Hurawalhi Island Resort
Hurawalhi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Hurawalhi
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Soneva Jani
Soneva Jani
#1 of 1 in Medhufaru
79 reviews
8.7 mi away
Palm Beach Island Resort & Spa
Palm Beach Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Madhiriguraidhoo Island
1,117 reviews
3 mi away
Kanuhura - Maldives
Kanuhura - Maldives
#1 of 1 in Kanuhura
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuredu Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuredu Island Resort & Spa

Address: Lhaviyani Atoll, Republic of Maldives
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Lhaviyani Atoll > Kuredu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuredu
Price Range: $284 - $1,287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kuredu Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, surrounded by a beautiful lagoon and long stretches of white, sandy beach, is the only Resort on the island of Kuredu, in Lhaviyani Atoll. It is 1800 meters long by 325 meters wide, about 57 Hectares (143 acres). Your seaplane transfer from Velana International Airport is a scenic, 40 minute flight. The 383 Rooms include 10 Sultan Pool Villas including 1 Villa Family Suite, 50 Sangu Water Villas including 1 Honeymoon Suite, 100 Jacuzzi Beach Villas, 93 Beach Villas, 90 Beach Bungalows & 40 Garden Bungalows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kuredu Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuredu Island Hotel Kuredu
Kuredu Island Resort And Spa
Hotel Kuredu Island
Kuredu Island Maldives
Kuredu Maldives
Kuredu Island Resort Maldives
Kuredu Island Resort & Spa Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing