We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed - Illness on the island”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kuredu Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuredu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We went in October for 12 days for our honeymoon. The island is like paradise. Great place if you just want to relax. Upon arrival we had a bottle of wine and fruit at our accommodation. Nearing the end of the first week we came down with diarrhoea, sickness and a fever. So many families were also getting it, including the couple next to us, and by the time we left the island it was spreading fast. You could spot the ill tourists as they were eating rice and bread for meal times and also talking about it. They had sold out of diarrhoea tablets in the shop (as we ran out) so paid $125 to see the island doctor. It didn't help that the hygiene was appalling on the island. The room boys only sweep the floor and change the towels/bed sheets. No bathroom cleaner was ever used so we ended up cleaning our own floor to try and get rid of the sickness bug. The only hand santisers were in the public toilets and the restaurants. Reception was very dismissive of the illness and some of the reception staff were very rude. Unfortunatley we went home still unwell - maybe if the hygene was better then it wouldn't have happened.

All inclusive - I don't think so. You rooms have a fridge which is about $9 for a tiny bottle of vodka. You only get one free bottle of water per day at your accommodation so if you want any more drinks then you either have to walk to the bars to receive the all inclusive which was 7min walk from ours or you pay for bottled drinks. The cheapest bottle of red wine was about $35 and I do not expect to pay this when I am on my Honeymoon and would like a quiet, alcoholic drink with my new husband at my accommodation. We paid for all inclusive. I thought this was appalling. On our introduction talk on the island they explained that drinks back to the accommodation is due to health and safety. I think it is more of the fact that it is more tidying up for the staff and they get more money out of tourists.

The sunset cruise was good and also the introduction to snorkelling but be careful of the other trips available as they are not worth the money.

With some sun, great tourist people to meet and a relaxing time then it was a good holiday but we wouldn't return.

Room Tip: Beach bungalow as it was more secluded and had a lagoon of its own.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank LizzyV84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,867)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,696 - 4,702 of 7,867 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was our first time to the Maldives and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. We booked three villas as we brought our 3 daughters. They got upgraded into O Beach Villas which were very spacious and where well maintained throughout the 6 night stay. They had a king size bed which they tell me was very comfortable and the outside showering went down a storm. The amenities in the room where adequate, air con, wine cooler, mini bar etc.
We had a jacuzzi beach villa which was nice but was indeed of a face lift starting to look tired !!! The jacuzzi bath was great and had a lovely day bed which was was great for relaxing in the shade during those warm days.
The all inclusive deal was great I couldn't fault the food we ate in the Koamas and the O restaurants. The service in the O Restaurant was much better though. The food varied from night to night so plenty of variety.
There is plenty to do if you get boared with sun bathing!!! It has a great house reef which has easy access so great for those snorkelling beginners...plenty of fish to see. The Golf bar is another place to relax, it has a small driving range and a pitch and put. There is also tennis, badminton and beach volley ball along with the gym so plenty of opportunity to burn those calories off. We used the Spa and took advantage of a couple treatment which was great. the facilities over look the sea and when you are lying down they have created a window so you can look into the sea a great touch !!!
Some hints and tips that we picked up during our stay. If you are booking more than 1 Villa stick to the same types of villa. Each style of villa is allocated a restaurant, so we had trouble eating with our daughters as they were designated the O Restaurant where we had the Koamas Restaurant. The O Restaurant only allows children over 12yrs old. Everyone walks around barefooted so there is no need for all those shoes, even at dinner everyone is barefooted so cuts down on the luggage....
It's not 5star luxury but its certainly great value for money.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with out children choose a O Beach Villa, as they have a better specification...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank awp66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Ideal family resort. Nice beach bungalows, not all with a direct sea view. Great restaurant, with great food.
Now the minus points.
Ugly concrete water breaks. No WiFi in the bungalows. A lot not included in all inclusive. Ended up with a $1000 bill for our family with limited water sports as it rained all day/every day for 7 days!
BUT
There was far more plus points than minus points. And we enjoyed ourselves very much.
It comes well recommended.
The staff are also a credit to the resort.

Room Tip: Make sure your beach bungalow does not face the water villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DFW15061955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I went to Kuredu last December with a friend and really enjoyed my holiday, so much so that I persuaded my husband to go with me in October this year. Previously he had made his mind up that he wasnt interested in holidaying in the Maldives, but my comments changed his views sufficiently to try it out. He will most likely write his own review, so all I can say is that it was as good if not better than last time. This time we stayed in an O Beach Villa. Absolutely loved the room, plenty of space, in the bedroom and bathroom, a wine cooler, daybed outside, inside and outside ceiling fans. It was kept very clean (as it was in the beach bungalow last year) and I cannot criticise it at all! The beach by the O resort is not as good as elsewhere on the island, but it makes up for that with the adults only pool and restaurant. A special mention for Ahoo, our waiter, he was fantastic. The grill chef was great fun too, the food very very good. Enjoyed better service in the O Bar than the main bars.
In summary, this place has everything going for it. Plenty to do if you want it, lovely relaxation if thats just what you want too. The service has a very personal feel to it. My hubby agreed too...there's a first!!! We'd definitely return again.

Room Tip: For the O resort choose a room within the vicinity of the O restaurant/bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AJW12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I've just come back from amazing Maldives :( after spending one week at Kuredu in the stop of my honeymoon trip. I would recommend Kuredu because of the attentive service, long and white sandy beach, wildlife in the coral reef and facilities. I stayed in an overwater villa with an all-inclusive package and the experience was perfect. In the villa you have your own access to the sea and it's very quiet and private. Staff is extremely helpful, attentive and nice, always willing to help. Food is good (in all meals) and you can always find what you like most. There are several possibilities for entertainment, mainly aquatic-related as well as a tennis and badminton courts and a pitch-and-putt 9 holes golf course... Although I must recognize I did nothing but laying down on the beach :)

I'd definetely highlight the beach, long and with beautiful white sand. And what's more important, there are not many shells or dead coral in the bottom so you can walk into the sea without hurting your feet!.

Just one thing... Remember that this is not a 5* top luxury hotel so don't expect to be in an "Asian lux" kind of hotel like Ana Mandara, 6 senses, one and only, etc... because.... of course you're not paying that much!!!.

Room Tip: Try to have your villa booked in the area called "Sangu Resort"... It's much more quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rafa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

If you want to have the best honeymoon here you must go! everything is great, the food, housing, water, sand, coconuts.
Their cocktails were sensational, entertainment .... and for 9 days while I was there I walked barefoot ..... but you did not need shoes, everywhere was white and fine sand!

go there and you will not regret!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Petru_Andrei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

To say we were excited when we booked this holiday is an understatement.... and when we arrived the island lived up to everything we had hoped for. From the sea plane adventure getting there, to packing our bags on the way home we enjoyed every minute!

We had a beautiful beach villa, at the Sangu end of the island, which looked out onto the perfect sea. The snorkeling was brilliant - we recommend making use of the guided tour of the house reef, which we did at the beginning of the holiday and then we made our own way after that. The beaches often felt empty, which is exactly what we were after - the desert island feel! And the bars wee never over crowded.

The food was brilliant - always varied and plenty of choice of fresh dishes, salads and fruits. The staff were also fantastic - no request was too much, and they soon got to know you and your preferences, which was really a nice touch. Everyone (staff and other holiday makers) was very friendly, and we have some amazing memories.

It really was our perfect holiday!

A few little tips:
Take your own snorkels as the ones you hire on the island are subject to availability.
If you can, sit on the right hand side of the sea plane as you get a great view on the journey.
You dont need shoes! Honestly, we were told that and thought we should take a few pairs just in case... we didn't put shoes on once!

Room Tip: We had a beach villa on the south west of the island, which we thought was the best spot (we walked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Jodie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuredu
13.2 mi away
Cheval Blanc Randheli
Cheval Blanc Randheli
#1 of 1 in Randheli Island
175 reviews
4.9 mi away
Komandoo Maldives Island Resort
16.6 mi away
The Sun Siyam Iru Fushi Maldives
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hurawalhi Island Resort
Hurawalhi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Hurawalhi
722 reviews
3 mi away
Kanuhura - Maldives
Kanuhura - Maldives
#1 of 1 in Kanuhura
150 reviews
12.7 mi away
Soneva Jani
Soneva Jani
#1 of 1 in Medhufaru
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuredu Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuredu Island Resort & Spa

Address: Lhaviyani Atoll, Republic of Maldives
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Lhaviyani Atoll > Kuredu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuredu
Price Range: $352 - $1,308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kuredu Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, surrounded by a beautiful lagoon and long stretches of white, sandy beach, is the only Resort on the island of Kuredu, in Lhaviyani Atoll. It is 1800 meters long by 325 meters wide, about 57 Hectares (143 acres). Your seaplane transfer from Velana International Airport is a scenic, 40 minute flight. The 383 Rooms include 10 Sultan Pool Villas including 1 Villa Family Suite, 50 Sangu Water Villas including 1 Honeymoon Suite, 100 Jacuzzi Beach Villas, 93 Beach Villas, 90 Beach Bungalows & 40 Garden Bungalows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kuredu Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuredu Island Hotel Kuredu
Kuredu Island Resort And Spa
Hotel Kuredu Island
Kuredu Island Maldives
Kuredu Maldives
Kuredu Island Resort Maldives
Kuredu Island Resort & Spa Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing