We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous time on Kuredu” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kuredu Island Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kuredu Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuredu
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fabulous time on Kuredu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2008

We had such a fabulous time on Kuredu for New year's eve and the first couple of weeks in January 08!
All I will say is don't doubt what a fabulous time you will have here .... It's such a beautiful place to be. Forget all the niggly things you read on sites like this . We stayed in JBVilla 259 @ the "o" resort end and we just loved it.
I would describe this end of the island as being more natural and up to date than the sangu end ( all that fuss and it looks a little dated)
With the brand new "O" resort just steps from our villa , this made our stay here really memorable. The stylish decor,lovely decked area and comfortable furniture outside the new bar area. We sat here for hours with panoramic views of the indian ocean. With no rail and about a 20 ft drop onto the rocks below this part of the island was declared a child free zone and for that reason this made the overall atmoshere here much better for us who are as yet childless. No offence to kids being around but this part is just not suitable . At night it's very chilled out and felt a little more exclusive. We literally could not fault this holiday from the villa to restaurants, food ,staff, cleanliness etc so I would take any negatives with a pich of salt . Of course not everyne likes the same things but with all of the new additions to the island I think it will only make things better . There is something for everyone here ! You can be alone , be in company , groups and have a lovely time but don't listen to the wingers !! have a great time if u choose Kuredu XXX I would definately go back!!!

  • Liked — On the beach location at
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
13 Thank arthurprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,099
    1,100
    259
    73
    55
See reviews for
863
4,850
63
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,435)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2008

We have just returned from a week in Kuredu ... this stay was terrible.
We were in O'villa, in front of the beach, but impossible to go into the water here ... many corals and 10 feet deeper.
If you want to be on the good beach, you have to book Jacuzzi beach villa !!!
The room we were was beautiful, the only positive thing on Kuredu.
I think that this island has lost the Maldivian Spirit ... to rest in paradize, kindness of local people, ...
On this Island YOU ARE ONLY A ROOM NUMBER AND A CREDIT CARD !!!!
I like inMaldive to be in a island were i have the feeling to be in a small community, not in a camp !
If you like to be near the pool with many people there from 11 am to 19 pm drinking cocktails and beers all the day (all inlusive package).
If you like rats and mosquitos ... You can go there .. BUT if you like Maldives and/or you want to go in a paradize island ... DON'T GO THERE.

  • Liked — The rooms
  • Disliked — all the rest
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank fmo92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2008

Date - 8th January 2008-23 January 2008

We have just returned from our second visit to Kuredu and are just as amazed as we were following the first visit! There is no doubt about it that this island is everything that you would expect from the maldieves and so much more.

On both visits we chose to upgrade to a Beach Villa and this time were placed in the brand new "O" Resort. A little aprehensive as we knew the original beach villa's were lovely and we had not seen or read alot about the new "O" villa's, we could not have been more surprised! Beautifully furnished with wooden floors and solid wood furnature, spacious outdoor bathroom, desk, table, small sofa and king size bed. Yes it is true that the best part of the beach is on the other side of the island with the original beach villa's but that is more than compensated for by the "O" restort's private pool and modern bar again in keeping with the wooden decore and host to some of the most amazing views on the island.
Upgrading from AI Beach Bungalow to AI Beach Villa means that you can take your breakfast, lunch and dinner in a variety of 4 different restaurants, Bothi (BB can ONLY use this restaurant and it gets very busy), Komas (fantstic, informal and situated by the main pool), Sangu (the main restaurant for the water villa's), and the stylish "O" restaurant. There are also 3 a la carte restaurants, The Beach (great lobster). The Far East, and Franco's for pizza etc.. In all of these restaurants your All Inclusive drinks still appy!

The main pool was where we chose to spend a lot of our time, very relaxed and surprisingly quiet compared to a large amount of guests on the island. Only a few minuites out on the still blue sea in a canoe and you are surounded by Sea Turtles and Sting Rays, wind surfing and sailing are also available on your All Inclusive package.

Kuredu is 40 minuites away from Male on a sea plane, the flight boasts some of the most amazing views over the Indain Ocean however is not for the faint hearted. Our sources reveal there is a new International airport that will be opening within the next two years in a neighbouring atoll meaning Kuredu will be only a 15 min boat ride away, good news for thoes not too keen on the sea plane.

All in all Kuredu is a fantastic holiday choice and I will be very happy to help anyone wanting any information.

Sally & Jon

  • Liked — Beautiful Decore
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
18 Thank sallymartin79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2008

We stayed at Kuredu Island Resort for a week, just returning from there 2 days ago.It was a wonderful holiday, the best ever.
I have to say that all the pictures or webcam are not as nice and lovely compared to the reality. Reality at Kuredu is far better that their website shows.

We were staying on a "Beach Villa", part of the "O Resort", the high standard part of the island. We were delighted. Beaches along those villas on the northern part are not as good as the southern one, but you have more privacy, less people walking in front your terrase.

Food is excellent, as far as far as we have tried Sangu and O Restaurant.
Many activities on the island, from snorkelling to diving, canoe, sailing, golf, beach volley. People there are very nice, your have your own waiter for your room when you go to the restaurant : that give more friendly conversations while ordering or just chating ...
Pro divers center have very skilled people and many diving sites are easily accessible.

Don' t forget to bring sun cream ...
We booked our stay via spotmaldives.com

  • Liked — A lot of space, nice view from our bed. Terrasse with bed.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank web50000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2008

This holiday was to celbrate my 60th Birthday, for which I took all my immediate family, 5 adults and 2 children, booking Beach Villas and all upgraded to the All Inclusive Gold tarrif.
The dream I had was to wake each morning and look out upon pure white sand and gentle waveletts breaking on the shore. This was not the case.
We flew by Monarch Airlines and suffered the well known cramped seating conditions. Upon arrival at Male we were transported to the Air Taxi Port to await our tranfer to Kuredu. We waited and waited for our seaplane watching others flying to the same resort as us and upon each request about the availability of our plane we were told a time, this eventually totalled 4 1/2 hours until we could board one. The flight was worth waiting for spectacular views of some of the other islands scattered below us.
Once we touched down at Kurede we walked to the Reception Building, without the much refered too Bongo Drum Welcome.
Here we were told that we were all "upgraded" to the new 'O' Villa area of the Island. This sounded like we were the lucky ones. We were directed to a waiting people carrier taxi and driven the 1 1/4 miles to the other end of the Island where we were shown to the 'O'Villa Reception. As we waited we were given a fruit cocktail each to drink and then asked to sign for our keys. My wife, who suffers some disability, our daughter and myself had 'O' Villa 282 while my other daughter her husband and their two children were given 'O'Villa 281. Ideal we thought, as I knew these had only been completed a month or two previous. Upon findind our Villas we were totally taken aback by the pure luxury of the interior. A large double bed located centrally in the spacious room and a single bed to one side for our daughter. The fixtures and fitting were wonderful. We changed into the lighter clothes that we had brought in our hand luggage as we had been told the larger cases would be arriving later that evening, which they did. We then made our way back to the 'O' Villa Reception to have our first meal as we were hungry following our 16 hour journey from home.
This is where things started to go terribly wrong.
Due to one of my Grandchildren being 9 years old she would not be permitted to eat in the Restaurant and also that her brother 12 years old would not be permitted to use the swimming pool as the depth we were told is 10 feet and only strong swimmers are allowed to enter the water. I might add that both these children swim better than I. We were directed away from the 'O'Villa area and told to find another Restaurant. Each one that we found we were directed onward with us finishing up back at the Main Reception where we had first arrived. From there we found the Koamas Restaurant and ate. Following completion of our meals we then walked back to our Villas, remembering my wifes' disability, and then collapsed into bed.
The next morning we looked out of the Villa to the sea to find that the beach in front of our villas was not as expected, pure white soft sand but speckled black and grey which I feel must have been due to the excavations when building the 'O'Villas. Beyond the beach was the sea but the terrain for approximatly 20 meters was covered in dead black coral under about 20cm of water. To walk across this the get the the sea was impossible. I fell twice in an attempt to negotiate the coral, cutting my legs in many places. We then decided that we would take our swimming, snorkling gear, flippers and towels to the area of beach outside of the Beach Villas, over a mile away, outside of the ones that I had requested upon booking the holiday, after we had had breakfast. We arrived too late for this sitting and had to purchase breakfasts for us all in Franko's.
Feeling like "Day Trippers" we laid our towels on the sand and the children played in the shallow waters. At this point I felt extremly sad knowing that I had spent almost £20,000 for a holiday that was not as I expected or anything like the descriptions that I had read with regard to the Island.
It took three days before we realised that we could use the Taxi to transport us around the Island, much to my wifes relief.
We complained to the Kuoni Rep with regard to inaccessibility to the sea for the children to enjoy themselves etc etc.
After 5 days we were relocated to the Beach Villas 103 and 109 where the sea and sand were as expected, soft and white. Unfortuatly this area of the sea is used by the Watersports enthuiasts and therefore the children or ourselves could not safely swim or snorkle as a number of Kite Boarders were flying back and forth at great speed. Heavens knows what damage one of these boards could do to a swimmer. Due to this we used the sea further along the beach. Now the holiday was starting to take shape.
Various little things like, our package gave us 1 free round of golf per week, except we had to buy the balls to play with. Our names were mixed up on the room allocation therefore the bills were not correct when final settlement came for extras like Night Fishing, Dolphin Safari, Underwater Camera Hire and non local drinks. The Reception Staff were not able to change the names of the occupiers of the rooms on the computer.
Unfortuatly this holiday was not as expected, my dream of a relaxed, carefree two weeks was not to be.
As a footnote I must add that the meal we had to celebrate my Birthday in Franko's Restaurant was fantastic and the staff wonderful. The Roomboy decorated my bed with flowers and coconut leaves with great precision for which I tipped him well.
I am in the process of complaining to my Travel Agent as the 'O'Vills area was not as I expected, spoiling the first 5 days of our holiday thinking that the soft white sand would be distributed completely around the Island and the sea safe for swimming.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
26 Thank chris-60th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2008

We have been to a number of island resorts in the Maldives before but this time we were meeting a family of friends who had already booked Kuredu. On arrival at Male first thing in the morning, our cases were kept at the airport to ensure that more passengers were crammed in the seaplane and our luggage would travel by sea later in the day (evening as it turned out).
At the island, we were met by the sales reps - sorry, reception staff. Basically we were given our plastic tags, told where we could eat and what drinks we could have on all-inclusive. The AI there seems not to include anything you woulds like, i.e. cocktails, ice-creams etc. Having contacted the island in advance requesting rooms near our friends I was disappointed that we were placed at opposite ends. The room they put us in first wasn't on the beach, it was the 2nd layer behind a stretch of rocks. The room was awful. Poor state of repair, outside bathroom with a drip instead of a shower & a toilet in the rain. All walls were covered with mould and the towels were thinner than my tea-towels back home.
Thankfully we were moved next day to a room nearer our friends with a semi-working shower! (the decor & facilities appeared to be the same all over though)
All food was in the one canteen. If you get there 20 minutes after it opens the best has already gone & the remainder is congealing. You are not allowed to have a bottle of water at the table nor a pot of tea. I was offered powdered tea.......! There is a lovely tea bar at the end of the pier that no-one appeared to visit apart from us. (probably because its not avail to AI)
I could moan & winge for hours, most of our party were sick at some point (the food I didn't eat probably) but I opted to pay for premium brands & count the hours till we moved on.
The beach is fantastic, as is the golf club & tea bar. Everthing else, including the rude staff, was very poor (the sunbeds, snorkling, facilities, decor, linen, food, entertainment, etc)
Thank god our 2nd week was spent elsewhere (Cocoa Palm Dhunikolhu)

  • Liked — Nothing! (the beach)
  • Disliked — service, food, accommodation, entertainment
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank redscrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2008

We just spent our honeymoon at kuredu and stayed at the new O Resort. The Villa was spectacular, very modern, gigantic bed cleverly designed to have a desk/dressing table behind the headboard. The bed is central in the room so on opening your blinds you have a fantastic view. The bathroom was half inside/half outside, fitted to the highest standard and also very large.

We had room 311 an O villa, lovely sandy beach with two palm trees and the sea. If i had to nit pick it would be that there was coral in the sea, but just round the corner is a lagoon which is calm and warm. Also the the O resort had a lovely pool on a large decked area with a bar and restaurant attached. The interior of the bar was modern, the bar had a slate water wall and the restaurant had folding doors so sea views were great. On the decking there were swanky large cup chairs with sunshades for romantic moments, in the bar there were day beds for chilling on. The staff were excellent here and were chatty and friendly.

Do check out the house reef, get some pics, the sandbank for its beauty, walk the island for fantastic photos and dont miss 7pm sunsets!

Kuredu is ideal for honeymooners, the o resort is child-free and ideal for intimacy. If going to the maldives i would choose Kuredu, this was my second visit to the island and again it was fantastic.

  • Liked — That it was so plush and new
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank ovilla311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuredu
13.1 mi away
Cheval Blanc Randheli
Cheval Blanc Randheli
#1 of 1 in Randheli Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
4.8 mi away
Komandoo Maldives Island Resort
16.6 mi away
The Sun Siyam Iru Fushi Maldives
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Palm Beach Resort & Spa Maldives
Palm Beach Resort & Spa Maldives
#1 of 1 in Madhiriguraidhoo Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
15.4 mi away
Atmosphere Kanifushi Maldives
Atmosphere Kanifushi Maldives
#1 of 1 in Kanifushi Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
3.0 mi away
Kanuhura - Maldives
Kanuhura - Maldives
#1 of 1 in Kanuhura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuredu Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuredu Island Resort & Spa

Property: Kuredu Island Resort & Spa
Address: Lhaviyani Atoll, Republic of Maldives
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Lhaviyani Atoll > Kuredu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuredu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kuredu Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, surrounded by a beautiful lagoon and long stretches of white, sandy beach, is the only Resort on the island of Kuredu, in Lhaviyani Atoll. It is 1800 meters long by 325 meters wide, about 57 Hectares (143 acres). Your seaplane transfer from Velana International Airport is a scenic, 40 minute flight. The 383 Rooms include 10 Sultan Pool Villas including 1 Villa Family Suite, 50 Sangu Water Villas including 1 Honeymoon Suite, 100 Jacuzzi Beach Villas, 93 Beach Villas, 90 Beach Bungalows & 40 Garden Bungalows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Kuredu Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuredu Island Hotel Kuredu
Kuredu Island Resort And Spa
Hotel Kuredu Island
Kuredu Island Maldives
Kuredu Maldives
Kuredu Island Resort Maldives
Kuredu Island Resort & Spa Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing