We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary experience and great diving places”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kuredu Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuredu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 22, 2012

We went to Kuredu in april 2011 and stayed there for 2 weeks together with our 17y old daughter. The experience was great, and we can confirm what you'll read from other reviews: Kuredu is a very well maintained resort, with all needed luxury and services provided.
Let's go through this a bit more in detail.
1. transfers to/from Kuredu: the transfers are made with waterplanes from TransMaldivian, everything went well. Waiting time in Male was a bit longer as expected, probably due to the fact that our international flight to Male arrived a bit earlier and that we were able to go straight through customs (on a previous trip to the Maldives waiting at Male customs + luggage pickup took about 1,5h... this time in 15 minutes, we were ready to go). TransMaldivian has a small lounge in Male, with all you need (drinks, snacks, airco and WiFi) and you'll also see the planes arriving/departing, a nice view.
2. Kuredu reception: traditional welcome with the drum players, and then the administrative paperwork and room assignment. As our daughter had a beach bungalow, and we had a "O" beach villa, the admin was done in 2 separate places (opposite sides of the island: we at "O" reception, for her at main reception). We noticed our 17y old received a very personal service as there were several helpful guys at reception, one of them right away sharing his personal mobile number in case she'd need anything. No further comment needed.
3. "O" beach villa (we had 326): are realy luxury villas with all you need. Sufficient space, enough cupboards, good large bed, WiFi, a large safe, a filled Wine refrigerator, good and silent airco, a terrace with enough shade with full ocean view + two beach sofas to use on the beach, perfect bathroom in open air, a TV (who needs a TV on the Maldives, unless for visualizing your photos and movies). Service in the "O" rooms was also faultless: everything cleaned and changed every day.
4. Beach bungalow (we had 387): looked a bit older compared to the "O" villa, yet are very good also - you're just 20m further from the beach, yet also will easily find a good spot on the beach with full privacy close to your bungalow. Also, good airco, safe, beds... so if you don't want to spend the extra's for the "O" or water villas, don't hesitate, you'll get perfect value from the beach bungalows.
5. Restaurants: first of all, all restaurants serve about the same food, it's just the building which is different depending on where you stay. The "O" restaurant is indeed nicer than the "Bonti" and "Kaoma", yet food and service are very good (and similar) in both places. We booked our trip "all-in". Our daughter was able to sit with us in the "O" when we wanted, so no problem there. Also, as we went diving a lot, we mostly took our breakfast, and regularly also our lunch at the "Bonti" because this was much closer to the diving school - so we really compared both restaurants and for food quality there really wasn't a difference. A nice thing in the restaurants was that every evening had a theme (French, Italian, BBQ, Indian...) yet choice was always overwhelming. For a special experience, at dinner try to get one of the outside tables at the "O" restaurant: you feel/see the ocean below you, have moonlight above you, and see some small reef sharks in the water nearby - a special experience.
Maybe only slightly negative point was the service at the "O" bar. We had the feeling waiters here were often slower than those at the restaurant, and also less knowledgeable. Again nothing that will have a negative impact on your stay there, just that with the high standards, you compare, and these guys got the red lantern as they say in cycling terms.
6. Diving: our daughter did the PADI Open Water at the ProDivers diving school with Markko - she found it a great experience, so thanks to Markko! My wife and me both did more than 20 dives in the 2 weeks we were there. Because Kuredu is such a big island, there are many divers, and ProDivers is able to propose each day at least 10 different diving excursions. The housereef allows you to go diving whenever you want... yet we've seen better house reefs in the Maldives, so, it's certainly an advantage to have the housereef, yet don't expect too much from it. But Kuredu does have some special diving places nearby: a must do are the Kuredu caves with an amazing population of big turtles - it really looks like a landing/take off strip for turtles; the Kuredu express is also a must do for drift dives and you'll often have the opportunity to see sharks there; we also liked the Shipyard where two Tuna Fishing shipwrecks are visible, beautiful corals on them; several of the Giri had beautiful corals and anemones. So diving at Kuredu is a must do, and we can recommend the ProDivers.
7. We also (of course) all had a treat at the Dunye Spas: great experience, professional people working there.
8. Overall: Kuredu is a big island with many people staying there, yet it never feels overcrowded, there's enough space everywhere, and you can capitalize on the fact that they can offer many services because there are so many people.
Please make sure to take insect spray with you. While the island gets fumigated, in the evening there will be mosquitos. If you want to avoid bites... don't rely on your Chanel n°5, but rather use the insect repellant.
Some trivia: since this is a large island, there are a few motor vehicles driving on the island... and just imagine with those few vehicles on 1 island they also manage to drive into eachother...hilaric.

Room Tip: All "O" beach villas have a great beach access - be aware that wave breakers in concrete a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarcMich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,878)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,975 - 4,981 of 7,881 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2012

Just came back from kuredu, our first trip to the Maldives. Everything was fantastic . So glad we chose the o resort beach villas- not only because u get a lovely breeze on this side of the island but also the restaurant and pool are outstanding , beautiful sea views, very modern and much quieter- this is by far the best place to eat. What also made it for
us is the staff were amazing - we both Work for an airline and that is very important - so kind and friendly...our waiter shareef, was lovely - very attentive and kind - Infanct all the restaurant waiters were exactly the same- overly friendly and very genuine- we felt this very much came naturally and at the end of the week it was a real pleasure to leave a tip. Thanks too to imad our island host, again he couldn't do enough for us!
Loved it all and will return
Thank you
Chris and jacky


  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Freddiwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

We do not often go on 'beach' holidays as we get bored sitting around on a beach. However we loved Kuredu so much the first time we went (2008) that we went again a couple of years later for our honeymoon. Since then several friends and both our parents have also been and loved it too.

There is plenty to do if you want, equally you could spend a week or two there not knowing it was there if you don't want to - golf, dive centre, spa, watersports... The dive centre is very well run with quality equipment - sometimes a concern when going diving abroad. Most tours arrive by seaplane transfer, an experience in itself.
Beautiful pristine beaches and amazing food, every time. The staff are all exceptionally friendly and very helpful (but not "in your face").

We stayed in a beach bungalow the first time, which was excellent, I don't think you need to feel like paying for a more expensive accommodation - its just nice having your own building and not being in a hotel room with neighbours and corridors. Some are slightly set back from the beach but only a few metres, they come with deck chairs already. Having said this, for our honeymoon we had a Sangu water villa which was lovely too - bigger but you risk dropping stuff in the sea (goodbye iPhone..)

Kuredu is usually booked as an all-inclusive - personally I am not sure why you would want to book somewhere else which may be B&B or half board - you're the only hotel on the island, where else are you going to get your meals and then you're going to have to pay the hotel (probably quite a lot) for whatever they are charging. All Inc obviously includes most drinks too, always good.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

My husband and I went to Kuredu in May 2011. It's a trip we will never forget. Kuredu is one of those places where you can totally unplug. We stayed in a garden bungalow. Yes, it was basic, but it served its purpose. It was clean and the a/c worked. Most of our time was spent enjoying the beach, so it wasn't an issue. I noticed other rooms had televisions. I think the lack of a television allowed us to relax more and have conversations instead of droning out in front of the boob tube.

We had the half board plan. Breakfasts and dinners were both buffets. Each were good with lots of variety. This isn't 5 star dining by any means, but there are so many options you will indubitably find something you can enjoy.

My husband and I spent hours walking around the island looking at the sea life from the shore. We saw stingrays and reef sharks. We also snorkeled on the house reef. It was ok, not great, however the daily snorkel trips made up for the lack of house reef. The trips were also affordable. I'm thinking 30-35 a person for 2-3 hours. The places they took us to were asbolutely beautiful. The beach itself is clean. It is raked daily.

In the evenings there is a happy hour at the O Resort within Kuredu. I believe it's from 5-6 PM. At this time, the drinks are half price. The O Resort is the "upscale" part of Kuredu Resort. We sat and drank passion fruit margaritas and watched the sunset on the deck of the bar each evening.

All in all, it was very enjoyable. Beatiful beach, great snorkeling trips, and the food wasn't bad.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank nicahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Its been just over a year since our visit to Kuredu Nov 2010 not Feb 2011 so had plenty of time to reflect on our holiday. Here is a quick summary:

Everyone always comments on how big the island is, it might be compared to some other maldivian islands but it certainly is not a big island infact its a very beautiful island surounded by beautiful white sandy beaches. We stayed on the O side, the beach and water is not as picture postcard on this side but there is a cooling breeze and beautiful relaxing pool (no kids). The food is fantastic something for everyone. However, there is a class system on the AI luckily we were in a beach villa so could use all bars (just imagine walking accross the island with all your snorkeling gear and not being able to get a cold drink at the nearest bar). The staff are friendly, attentive and make you feel welcome. Our beach villa was immaculate and cleaned everyday. The beaches were swept around the clock and it seemed that you were the first person to walk on the sand everytime.

If you have booked Kuredu you will not be disappointed in our opinion.

Room Tip: Check the AI class system
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank darrylpaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

2nd trip to the Maldives 1st Island visited was Kandooma which was a fabulous Island just how you imagine the Maldives to be the Whitest sand and the bluest sea!!! We chose Kuredu as it was a bigger Island and there seemed more to do. I have read lots of reviews on this Island and concur with most people it was a lovely Island. We stayed in a Water Villa for 10 nights All Inclusive with the added Gold. I was still dissapointed with this service after paying over £7,000 for this holiday they still want to charge you for things. Not so All Inclusive!!!!My first gripe at the edge of the sand bank in the evening to watch the fantastic sunsets is a small sunset bar which serves cocktails form 1730-1930hrs even though cocktails were a part of the Gold All Inclusive package you had to pay for these!! At the swimming pool they did snacks which would be great to have at lunchtime but again you had to pay for these. I understand that we could use any Restaraunt on the Island but having a buffet lunch every day was just too much we only ate a small salad most days. It would have been nice to have the option just to have a snack instead. I have been to other resorts wich have this option.
The entertainment in the Babbona Bar was a bit tacky previous people have stated a bit like Butlins would have been disappointed if this is were I had to spend most evenings. That said we stayed most nights at the Sangu Resort which you could not fault at all. The food and staff in the Sangu Restaraunt were fantastic our waiter Shean ( possibly not spelt right ) made our holiday very special. Had a fabulous table on the beach for the gala Christmas Dinner on Christmas Day night.
The Pro-Dive centre were excellent no question was ever to small or stupid to ask. My Fiance did a few dives I just stuck to snorkelling which was fab. Did the full day trip and swam with Manta Rays which was out of this world an experience I will nver forget.
Overall very good would I go back No, only because there are far too many other Islands to visit and so many countries to visit all over the world.

Room Tip: Stayed in a Water Villa fabulous views of the sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Miggins90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Did a lot of research on the Maldives! Most resorts were very expensive and small! We opted or Kuredu as it was good value but also offered a huge range of activities, restaurants and bars. Was a bit nervous on how good the resort would be based on it's rating but it did not disappoint! The resort is magnificent. A huge hotel with lots to do. Football (a full size astro pitch), golf, tennis, badminton, watersports galore, cafes, bars, restaurants. There was just not enough time in the day. The biggest highlight was the quality of the food with great service. The garden rooms we stayed in was very basic and old but to be honest we spent very little time in the room. The other classes of room looked great but were quite expensive. Tips: bring dollars to tip the bar staff. They won't take local currency nor will they exchange it for you. Also, bring sun items as the shop is a rip off. Go all inclusive - it's well worth it and they offer great variety as well as wok stations etc. Excellent. Snorkel trips at a charge was excellent. Spa superb but pricey. Golf was good fun but the greens were like cement but service at golf shop and elsewhere was excellent.

Room Tip: Rooms facing sea planes have best view and water to swim in although noisy. I'd stay there. Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Diarmaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuredu
13.2 mi away
Cheval Blanc Randheli
Cheval Blanc Randheli
#1 of 1 in Randheli Island
176 reviews
4.9 mi away
Komandoo Maldives Island Resort
16.6 mi away
The Sun Siyam Iru Fushi Maldives
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hurawalhi Island Resort
Hurawalhi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Hurawalhi
724 reviews
3 mi away
Kanuhura - Maldives
Kanuhura - Maldives
#1 of 1 in Kanuhura
155 reviews
12.7 mi away
Soneva Jani
Soneva Jani
#1 of 1 in Medhufaru
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuredu Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuredu Island Resort & Spa

Address: Lhaviyani Atoll, Republic of Maldives
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Lhaviyani Atoll > Kuredu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuredu
Price Range: $358 - $1,341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kuredu Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kuredu Island Resort & Spa, surrounded by a beautiful lagoon and long stretches of white, sandy beach, is the only Resort on the island of Kuredu, in Lhaviyani Atoll. It is 1800 meters long by 325 meters wide, about 57 Hectares (143 acres). Your seaplane transfer from Velana International Airport is a scenic, 40 minute flight. The 383 Rooms include 10 Sultan Pool Villas including 1 Villa Family Suite, 50 Sangu Water Villas including 1 Honeymoon Suite, 100 Jacuzzi Beach Villas, 93 Beach Villas, 90 Beach Bungalows & 40 Garden Bungalows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kuredu Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuredu Island Hotel Kuredu
Kuredu Island Resort And Spa
Hotel Kuredu Island
Kuredu Island Maldives
Kuredu Maldives
Kuredu Island Resort Maldives
Kuredu Island Resort & Spa Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing