We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, well-maintained old hotel with breathtaking views”
Review of Orcas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Orcas Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Orcas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2010

What a gorgeous and lovingly maintained old hotel! We stayed in the Starboard Harbor View Room which has windows overlooking the harbor and garden. It was small but immaculate, cozy and the views were stunning even when we were snuggled up inside to get out of the rain. The room also had the most comfortable bed I've ever slept on in a hotel.

The building has a 2nd floor balcony and a large porch where you can sit outside on nice days and enjoy the view but if it's too cold for that (as it was during our stay) the big windows in the cafe offer a cozy spot to sip coffee and take in the sights.

Accomodations on Orcas Island are expensive. There's no getting around that but with off-season rates, a "3 nights for the price of 2" special plus the included (generous) breakfasts this was a great deal for the money.

I only have two complaints: 1)The hot and cold faucets on the shower were crazy! They seemed almost arbitrary but once you figured them out the water pressure was fine and 2) I enjoyed the cafe's breakfasts but I had a chicken sandwich for lunch there that was awful.

Other than that we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and I'd definitely choose the Orcas Hotel the next time I'm on Orcas Island.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paincakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 156 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2009

The heatting system made a pile-driver sound all night. Impossible to get any sleep. We left early. Very clean hotel. Very freindly hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank n0ne12345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2009

The entire hotel was reserved for the wedding party and their families. It is a beautiful location, with sweeping views of the water and other islands. The hotel has a lush front lawn with rabbits hopping about, a large wrap around porch, a lovely cafe and wonderful restaurant. The ferries come and go but they are not too loud or bothersome.

From the moment we arrived, we were warmly welcomed by Doug. Check in was easy and friendly and there was always a staff member available to help with questions, directions, recommendations throughout the weekend. The rooms were comfortable, cozy, and well decorated. Breakfast every morning was hearty or healthy... your choice!

The wedding itself was one of the most romantic I'd ever attended. The separate side lawn for the ceremony was perfect with the setting sun. We enjoyed fabulous dinner under the twinkling lights of the reception tent. All of the food was incredible, especially the pear salad and the salmon. The kids could order from a separate kid menu - a great touch! And the dance floor was full until midnight. Throughout the wedding day, the staff were excellent at taking care of last minute requests and helping ensure everything was perfect. They even arranged for a sitter to stay with our 3 year old when he was ready for bed so we could stay up and dance! Wonderful!

It was a memorable stay - I highly recommend the Orcas Hotel for a wedding or other large family get together.

Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
Thank skarriemonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2009

We stayed in the hotel in the Morning Glory room for 3 nights. Rooms are older and not luxurious, but very cosy and adequate. We did not have a car so the location by the ferries were very convenient. We rented a car for 1 day, there is a car rental just behind the hotel. We had the basic breakfast in the cafe, which was fine and we also had very good food in the restaurant twice.
Yes, it is an older hotel, the rooms have thin walls and there are some noise from the ferries, but after reading some of the reviews we were prepared for that and it actually was not that bad, only added to the charm.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJohannessen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Orcas Hotel in May 2009, and had a very nice trip. The staff was extremely nice and helpful - they told us great places to visit on the island (and what to avoid!), and helped us with a booking issue as well.

The location is very convenient to the ferry, but a bit of a drive from the main town or the park. If I had it to do over again I would have stayed closer to town, but the 15 minute drive wasn't too big of a deal.

We stayed in one of the "honeymoon" rooms, which was fine. I know they are trying to keep with the historic feel of the hotel, but quite a few items in the room seemed outdated. The jacuzzi tub was nice, but also seemed to be a bit old. We enjoyed the beautiful views from our deck, but it could have used a good sweeping and washing.

The breakfast was in the cafe at the hotel, and you have a few basic options to choose from. If we would have paid for our two breakfasts, the cost would have been $20, which was a bit pricey for what we got.

Overall, the staff was great, the room was fine, and the location was pretty good. I wouldn't recommend paying full price for the honeymoon room in high season, but if you can get a better deal it isn't a bad place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorgan_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2009

We’d like to send special thanks to the owner, Doug for letting us sit by the fire and have a drink after the restaurant closed and everyone had gone home for the night. We really appreciated your trust, generosity and kindness. It would have been a very long two hours sitting in the car waiting for the 10:50 pm ferry.

We didn't stay in the hotel, but can tell you, from our experience, the owner is friendly, generous and kind. He put a smile on our faces. We won't forget his thoughtfulness.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank eobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2009

Price, service, food, and amazing upkeep of this old hotel made our trip to Orcas Island wonderful. We will stay again!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sofieVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orcas
6.9 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
3.2 mi away
Deer Harbor Inn
Deer Harbor Inn
#1 of 2 in Deer Harbor
271 reviews
5.4 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 11 in Friday Harbor
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 11 in Friday Harbor
527 reviews
3.6 mi away
Pebble Cove Farm
Pebble Cove Farm
#3 of 11 in Orcas Island
253 reviews
5.8 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 11 in Friday Harbor
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orcas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orcas Hotel

Address: 18 Orcas Hill Road, PO Box 369, Orcas, Orcas Island, WA 98280
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Orcas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Orcas
Price Range: $212 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Orcas Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Orcas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orcas Hotel Orcas Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing