We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Quaint 100 Year Old Hotel on Orcas Island” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Orcas Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Orcas Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Orcas
Certificate of Excellence
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Quaint 100 Year Old Hotel on Orcas Island”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

We booked a room for a very reasonable $100 per night on Orcas Island, and were more or less pleased with it. The value is the main reason I gave 4/5.

The hotel itself is very pretty, and within easy walking distance from the ferry terminal. There is a grocery store and a restaurant nearby as well, in the village of Orcas. Eastsound seems to be the main hub of the island, and is a short drive away.

The main detractor was that there was a shared bathroom, ie our room did not have it's own facilities. This wasn't a huge deal, but it was a surprise upon checking in that really wasn't communicated well prior to.

Wifi is free but very slow; emails are about the limit. Which, on such a beautiful island, is really all you need. We did not eat at the cafe or restaurant, had great meals in Eastsound though.

If I went back to Orcas Island I wouldn't rule out staying here again, but probably would try something else such as Doe Bay or in Eastsound.

Room Tip: Ocean view room would have been nice, in addition to a bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grrraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    50
    22
    8
    6
See reviews for
34
70
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

Nice room overlooking the water but with only toilet & lav in bathroom. Have to go down hallway to shower. Only amenities is a very slow wifi. No complimentary coffee but it is available for additional charge in cafe. Room, cafe , and restaurant seem overpriced. Choose your room carefully. This is the northwest and no air conditioning. Rooms with afternoon sun are very warm and difficult to cool down. Staff is very helpful and pleasant. Convenient to ferry and whale watching. Recommend checking hotel availability in Eastsound, which is 10+ miles away. All other visitor sites are in that direction.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirkland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

Quite expensive for really NOT great food. The fish and chips: fish not cooked. Run out of French fries. The sweet potatoes fries were soft. My wife got a burger, the buns were not grilled. That was the week end before the 4th of July and it was quite busy. But the service was great I have to say. I stayed at the Hotel back in 1997 and at that time I had a great experience. Hope it was just a glitch.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Henri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY area
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

Stayed here in 2011 for a friend's wedding. Highly recommend for a wedding or event (from a guest's point of view). Beautiful grounds, charming accommodation, nice little restaurant to hang out in. The views and area around the hotel are just gorgeous. Convenient for ferry and whale watch.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

I would give this hotel 5 stars if it had a kitchenette of some sort, although the staff was prompt to help us with storing some of our things in their fridge, it is very hard to travel with a toddler and not having a place to do basic cooking and cold storage. Besides that, we had a great time, the staff was amazing, rooms were spotless and beautifully decorated, and the proximity to the ferry terminal was convenient

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a washroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NinaLunaTella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We were told if we were going to be on the late ferry to let the desk know and they would put our keys in an envelope taped to the front door. Sure enough there were the keys, so trusting and layed back. Walking into the hotel is like stepping back in time. A wonderful experience. Our room was charming and very clean and comfortable. We were surprised to find that it is a shared washroom and showers for all, and no Tv present anywhere but this adds to the charm of the hotel. wifi is available so no worries if you want to catch up on the latest sport score or news.
We awoke in the morning to bunnies playing on the lawn and going down for coffee Doug the proprietor bought us a coffee and sat and chatted up a storm, telling us all the hot spots that were a must to see on the Island, great detail and explanation of why we needed to see it.us
After a deliciosus breakfast and filling very generous amount ; off we went and hit all the hot spots having a wonderful day, the Island is gorgeous, the vistas worth the stop, the hikes and lovely the marinas a delightful, we had an awesome time. Would love to go back. I was check into having a wedding there and it would be a perfect place. Everything is great I don't think you would be disappointed staying here. Rustic charm , peaceful, and quaint. Everything shuts down early so don't be coming for the night life. :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 868arlenev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreline, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is a bit over due, but with our 10th wedding anniversary coming up in a couple of months, it made me remember our amazing experience at the Orcas Hotel.
My wife and I decided to have our wedding on Orcas Island 11 years ago and searched all over the island. There were some really great places from one end of the island to the other end. But after meeting with the owners several times, the Orcas Hotel just came to be the obvious choice.
The history of the place, the building and amenities, the cost and the convenience, the owners and the experience offered was just perfect.
Part of the wedding package you can purchase is to have the entire hotel be for your party (except the café) and that is what we chose. The thought of our close family members and best friends hanging out around the hotel after the reception sounded so cool, and turned out as cool as that sounds.
The outdoor areas were just perfect for our wedding ceremony (around 60 people) and the reception, and then the indoor restaurant area was great for some dancing.
The proximity to the ferry allowed a lot of visitors to just walk on in Anacortes and walk up to the hotel and then walk back down afterwards. Very convenient and cost-effective.
A lot of things on the island were very expensive, so we hired a officiant and brought our wedding cake from off the island. But we found the cost of the hotel with everything included to be a real value. You get all of the rooms, all of the grounds (except the café), the restaurant, staff and tent/tables/chairs/dining stuff, everything needed was included.
We also got to design our menu with ultimate flexibility and got high-quality food that was a big hit.
We have absolutely nothing bad to say about our experience, it was awesome.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orcas
6.9 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
3.3 mi away
Deer Harbor Inn
Deer Harbor Inn
#1 of 2 in Deer Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
3.6 mi away
Pebble Cove Farm
Pebble Cove Farm
#1 of 11 in Orcas Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
5.8 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orcas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orcas Hotel

Property: Orcas Hotel
Address: 18 Orcas Hill Road, PO Box 369, Orcas, Orcas Island, WA 98280
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Orcas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Orcas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Orcas Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Orcas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orcas Hotel Orcas Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing