We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The best bed and breakfast I have ever stayed at.”
Kingfish Inn, a charming and intimate inn.  All rooms with water views.  A minute from West Sound.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kingfish Inn, a charming and intimate inn.  All rooms with water views.  A minute from West Sound.
Kingfish1 Alder.  Hand plaster walls lend warmth to this room (upstairs with private deck) Kingfish1 Alder.  Comfortable seating and glorious views.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
106 reviews
Kingfish Inn, a charming and intimate inn.  All rooms with water views.  A minute from West Sound.
Kingfish1 Alder.  Hand plaster walls lend warmth to this room (upstairs with private deck)
Kingfish1 Alder.  Comfortable seating and glorious views.
Kingfish1 Alder. Private covered deck with forever views.
Kingfish4: Spruce-Only Suite on 1st floor.  It has a wall of windows and private deck.
Kingfish4 Spruce: Sea views from bed. small kitchenette with microwave, fridge and bar sink.
Kingfish4 Spruce: Views of Marina and islands beyond from room and private deck.
All Suites: snacking items, fruits & power bars to start your morning, other snacks.
All Suites: planning a special celebration.  Call with budget for personalized packages.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Orcas, Orcas Island, San Juan Islands, Washington

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 106 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
alohafrom...
Hilo, Hawaii
1 review
“The best bed and breakfast I have ever stayed at.”
Reviewed July 25, 2010 for a stay in July 2010

My family had a most enjoyable stay at the Kingfish Inn. We stayed in the Club Suite which included a king size bed, a trundle, free WiFi, flat screen TV, and DVD player. Also our own deck which offered a beautiful view of the harbor. The owners, Bob and Lori, were so friendly and helpful. Bob provided helpful information about places we planned to visit. Bob's breakfast is to die for. He has a breakfast menu to choose from and each was delicious. I especially enjoyed his homemade butter biscuits and sauge.
Aloha from Hawaii to Bob and Lori.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oigirl
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Everything was amazing”
Reviewed July 1, 2010 for a stay in June 2010

We had such a great time at the Kingfish Inn. The rooms were so clean and well equiped, the view was breathtaking, and the Bob's cooking in the restaurant was top notch. Lori was an excellent hosts and we had the hardest time saying goodbye to the Inn. Stay here FOR SURE!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carylandd...
Corrales, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Amazing in every way!”
Reviewed June 14, 2010 for a stay in June 2010

My wife and I recently spent 4 days and 3 nights at the Kingfish for our anniversary and chose them after extensive research. As soon as we arrived, Bob encouraged us to watch the bald eagles feeding on fish scraps on the beach in front of the inn and we got to enjoy them over the next 4 days. Our dinner there that first night was unparralleled seafood with great attention of Bob, Lori and their staff. We had dinner there again as it was the very best. Breakfast is a choice of 5 items, differing each morning. Bob made reservations for whale watching with Deer Harbor Charters and we followed a pod of 8 Orca's for an hour. He also made reservations for Shearwater Adventures and we had a wonderful 3 hour sea kayak tour of several islands. We also got to hike Moran State Park as well as a great hike to Ship Peak just above the inn at westsound.
We just can't say enough about the hospitality, attention to detail, food, room, views, eagles, hiking, the sea life and everything else. If you go to Orcas Island, STAY at the Kingfish!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altSeasid...
seaside oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our favorite spot in the islands”
Reviewed November 10, 2009 for a stay in October 2009
1
person found this review helpful

We have been traveling in the islands for years and found the Kingfish Inn a couple of years ago and just returned for a couple nights stay , have to say it just keeps getting better and better. Love the updates Lori and Bob did on the rooms, they gave us a tour of the rooms, now confused as to which one is our favorite.
We were also blown away by how fabulous the dinners were, You have to make reservations otherwise the place fills up, even if you sit at the counter it is worth it. We can't say enough about how much we love Orcas island over all the San Juan islands and now we have our favorite spot to stay.

Value Location
Cleanliness Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irishwed
Southern California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I left a piece of my spirit here”
Reviewed October 13, 2009 for a stay in October 2009
1
person found this review helpful

Our room was #2 and it was perfect! The view from the window was the kind that feeds your soul.
Big, fluffy, comfortable beds. The 'wood' burning stove warmed the room all night- and added to the romantic atmosphere.
Our breakfast, both mornings was nothing short of 5 stars! I love to cook, and I'm not sure even I could duplicate it.
Truly- I can't say enough about Kingfish Inn and the island itself. Of your 100 places to see before you die, please put this on your list.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emerrifie...
Portland OR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect getaway”
Reviewed October 11, 2009 for a stay in September 2009
1
person found this review helpful

My two friends and I drove from Portland to the Kingfish Inn for a girls weekend and it was definitely worth the drive. The location is breathtaking. Waking up to the view of the bay and walking out to the deck for a homemade breakfast was heavenly. The homemade sausage was my favorite. The Inn also offers dinner; the ambience, tasty food, and great wine list made for a memorable evening. The owners of the Inn, Bob and Lori, make sure all details are covered, from the beautifully decorated rooms to the delicious meals. There are many activities on the island, but one of our favorites was a kayaking tour out of Deer Harbor with Shearwater kayaks. Can't wait to go back next year.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TVN68
Redmond, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Abslolutely Fabulous”
Reviewed September 21, 2009 for a stay in September 2009
1
person found this review helpful

This was one of the best choices in lodging we have ever made. The hosts, Bob and Lori, were incredibly gracious and made us very comfortable. There are four rooms...we stayed in one upstairs with an idyllic view. We had wanted the room with the deck but it didn't really matter because sitting in front of the big open windows was lovely.

It was a very casual & welcoming environment but Bob and Lori were always very attentive and professional. The included breakfasts are artfully delivered feasts that will hold you all day. None of the coffee and a biscuit stuff, full on meals that Bob takes pride in. We had two dinners at the Kingfish and they were excellent.....and we know good food. They do wonderful things with halibut!

We got really good tips from Bob on local sites. There is so much to see and do and Orcas Island is as beautiful as any place else in the world I've traveled.

If I had to come up with a downside, I would say that there is a bit of noise from the intersection that the inn sits at. But this is rural, island traffic that we're talking about here not city traffic.

I am happy to share this recommendation with others...you will not be disappointed.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing