We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Crocketford
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (176)
Filter reviews
176 results
Traveler rating
112
41
8
3
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
112
41
8
3
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak pie main course portion sizes are balmoral chicken family meal lovely food really enjoyed our meal xmas dinner evening meal haggis excellent selection special menu main bar kids menu excellent pub lovely little hotel onion rings
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 176 reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2020

My parents stayed at the hotel for a few nights and loved it. They have stayed before and come back to The Galloway Arms because of the comfort and super level of service.
We all had a meal one evening and it was lovely. The food was excellent and the staff friendly and helpful.
I highly recommend The Galloway Arms for eating out, accomodation or just relaxing with a drink from their excellent selection.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank RuthP111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2020

My family of eleven had our Xmas Dinner here and it was amazing! The food was great and so was the service. You were made to feel so welcome and the staff were excellent!! Every course was perfect and there was even Prosecco on the tables which was included in the price. It was so relaxing as there was no one trying to rush you out after you had finished your meal. The menu was superb with great choice of courses.My husband and I eat regularly here and have never had a bad meal. Paula and Stewart are great hosts and all there staff are very friendly. I would recommend this hotel for brilliant food at reasonable prices!!

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BrianRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galloway2016, Owner at The Galloway Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2020

Thank you so much for the fabulous review it fills me with so much pride when customers return and enjoy their time with us it makes all the hard work feel worthwhile. Christmas time is very special and i am so happy that you had a great day with your family. Thank you so much

PAULA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2019

Went this afternoon for a group dinner. The food was brilliant in quality, taste and presentation. Christmas menu - great choice and price. Very good sized portions. Good attentive service. Would definitely recommend

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Tigsy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2019

Don't be put off by its main road location, all the rooms have excellent sound proofing and have been freshly decorated and upgraded. New beds, good mattresses. All reasonably priced as well make this a excellent choice for a overnight or longer. A more than welcoming staff plus decent bar food and generous portions make this a contractors dream. Breakfasts are good too.If there is a minus point then.... I haven't found it yet....

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alistair W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galloway2016, Owner at The Galloway Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2019

Thank You so much for the wonderful review and lovely when people take the time to give us feedback

Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2019 via mobile

Really enjoyed our meal here the prices are brilliant as are the portions and food quality all the classics on offer, nice atmos with friendly locals and open fires with a great pint to go with, only negative we found was the bread was a tad stale

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank stevenobrien129a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galloway2016, Owner at The Galloway Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2019

Thank your for your positive feedback and huge apologies of stale bread this is very unusual and unacceptable but very pleased you enjoyed everything else.

Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews