We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gluten Free - Divine Galloway Game Dinner - Flavour Fortnight 2013”

The Galloway Arms Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crocketford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Galloway Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Crocketford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We called into The Cottage Coffee shop at the hotel quite by chance, as you often do and discovered that there was a special dinner being held on the 14th September, the menu was very interesting so we decided to make a reservation.

As I have to follow a strict Gluten Free diet it causes great anxiety as to the knowledge of the chef, however there was No problem here Chef Peter Foster and his team are wonderful.

We were served canapés on arrival while we enjoyed a drink and a separate platter was presented full of Gluten Free items (my husband and I shared them).

The menu consisted of Entrée - choice of 6
Main Course - choice of 5
Asiette of Sweets or Cheese Board

My husband had Roulade - venison,pheasant and duck wrapped in smoked pancetta with rhubarb and crab apple chutney I chose Medley of Smoked Meats - Smoked/cured partridge, pheasant, duck and venison with star anise chutney and Gluten Free Bread roll.

Mains were venison with Drambuie covered with home made pate with blackcurrant and Drambuie sauce and Breast of wild partridge filled with venison fillet wrapped in Ayrshire bacon on local black pudding with a port reduction and served with beautiful seasonal vegetables. DELICIOUS.

The sweet plate was a picture, it was delightfully decorated with a flower outlined in fine chocolate, petals and leaves were various coloured gel and the selection of home made ice creams, mousse, minute jelly and tiny tarts were a utter joy.
Coffee and Chocolate dipped strawberries followed. One criticism too much food for us although other diners did not have a problem - we must have smaller appetites.

Please try other menus are available served to the same high standard this was a SPECIAL meal.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 124 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013

We ordered a couple of cheeseburgers, the bun was soggy and stuck to the plate. The burger was unseasoned and everything very greasy. The service was very quick and the staff were very polite, just a shame about the food. We'd hoped to have found a little gem, but definitely won't be back.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Geeewizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Our 3rd visit in 12 months to meet up with our family. A homely, comfortable place to stay with friendly and helpful staff.The quality and choice of meals is amazing and beautifully presented. We booked for 25 people for an evening meal and we did not have to pre-order, what a treat!! We were speedily served and they screened off a private section of the dining room so that we could talk without disturbing other guests. Nothing was too much trouble.
Our breakfast was served in the coffee shop, rather than in the bar area(as on previous visits) and what a feast it was!!!
Scottish hospitality at it's very best, big appetites well catered for!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LancashireBond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Our friends had eaten here before, and felt it was worth re-visiting when we stayed with them. We were not disappointed. The food here is of excellent quality, with good portions of real vegetables as well as high quality meat. They also accommodated one member of the party whose appetite was not very big, and who wanted a starter as a main course. We were seated in the bar area, which made for a convivial atmosphere. The restaurant's "specials" board was something else! A variety of quality local meat and fish dishes. My criticism, if it is one, is that it offered too much choice and made choosing impossible - I ended up ordering from the main menu! Happy to return next time we're in the area.

Room Tip: We were not resident.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

When you are hungry this is the place to go. We dropped in on a Sunday evening on are way back from a day out we received a friendly welcome and quickly settled down with a glass of wine to study the menu. I said to my partner "I think I will just have the main course" she did the same. I had the 'pork St Andrews' and Monika the Gammon steak, thank goodness we did not have the starter the portions filled the plates and was accompanied by a huge dish of onion rings which were perfect,chips and vegetable.

Well done the Galloway Arms well done Chef.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Antony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Beef stroganoff with chips and rice the sauce had a strange sourness to it.... Fast forward a few hours and you can picture me vomiting rings round myself, and again a few hours later.... On reflection we were served very quickly after ordering... It took 59 mins from leaving home till we were back home, is that a record for a sit down meal?
I won't be back

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank jools064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

A group of 17 of us stayed here from the 6-10 of June as we have done for a few years now!!It is our annual golf trip during which we play 5 rounds of golf on varying top quality courses in and around the area.It is made more pleasurable with the support of Jody,James and Pat and their chef and staff who look after and spoil us totally during our stay.Their hospitality and food cannot be beat!!Each am they produce a new menu for our pm which we all fill out and we all sit down to eat at a time that suits us according to our day!!They organise it to suit us!!If our rounds of golf met their standards we would all be champions!!We look forward, as always to our return next year.Superb!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stanpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Galloway Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Galloway Arms Hotel

Address: Stranraer Road, Crocketford DG2 8RA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Crocketford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Crocketford
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing