We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (178)
Filter reviews
178 results
Traveler rating
132
35
6
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
132
35
6
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews real fire brisket wild mushrooms lovely pub tagliatelle pub food rooms are basic fish and chips selection of beers warm welcome log fire booked a table mash fillet steak an evening meal fantastic food dumfries and galloway
Filter
Updating list...
156 - 161 of 178 reviews
Reviewed November 9, 2012

This is a good old fashioned pub with a small restaurant. Food is typical pub grub, well cooked and plenty of it. I had two dinners here and will return.
Very friendly staff and nice open fire. Made to feel very welcome

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Found the pub via the net, and as we were staying at nearby Loch Ken decided to pop in for lunch. We received a warm welcome from the owner Joanne and had a really good meal. The Clachan inn is traditional and homely pub with a friendly atmosphere (one of the best we have found in Dumfries and Galloway). We met up with and took a couple of friends who were also staying at Loch Ken out to the Clachan for lunch the next day. They were also impressed and have been back there themselves for meals. Would be a cosy place to stay on a cold winters night. We would like to visit over the festive period as I bet the atmosphere would be fantastic :) Well worth a visit, highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete Stargazer X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We visited this lovely village inn twice on a recent trip to Scotland, the first time for a quiet drink and the second for dinner. We were made to feel very welcome both from the staff and the pub regulars. The food was very good, the service excellent and the place has a lovely friendly atmosphere, very cosy on a cold autumn night. We will look forward to visiting again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights whilst walking the SUW Walk and it was an ideal pub ofr walkers and country sports people alike. The owners could not do enough for us from drying gear to washing laundry( at a small extra charge) . The rooms are basic but big enough to spread out in and very comfortable and the bath and shower were excellent.
However it was the food and the real ale that were the stars with quality produce and well kept beer.
The locals were very friendly and welcoming and all round we left the Clachan well refreshed and ready for more walking.
Would highly recommend it for anyone walking in the area and especially the SUW.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevind281050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Have been to The Clachan Inn for lunch twice now,and it has been delicious both times.I wonder what people expect when they complain they 'have to wait',tasty fresh food does take a bit to prepare,but worth it rather than being served microwaved rubbish.The young couple who run the place are very friendly and take a few minutes to chat and give first class service.Really different menu aswell.from steak pie to rabbit lasagne...
This will certainly be one of our regular haunts for the future,,love it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews