We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (177)
Filter reviews
177 results
Traveler rating
131
35
6
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
131
35
6
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsreal firebrisketwild mushroomslovely pubtagliatellepub foodrooms are basicfish and chipsselection of beerswarm welcomelog firebooked a tablemashfillet steakan evening mealfantastic fooddumfries and galloway
Filter
Updating list...
163 - 168 of 177 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Stayed near Dalry for a weekend. Visited on the Friday for a meal and it was so good we returned the next evening! Great choice on the menu from your bar meals of steak and ale pie to an exquistie rabbit bolognese! The good food 9and prices) is topped off with warm and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnnym06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Visited the Clachan Inn on a recommendation from friends, was pleasantly pleased, the atmosphere was great, we enjoyed a drink in the pub first and everyone was very friendly and talkative. We had booked a table and was seated promptly. Our starters were very good, two had the mushrooms, one had salmon fishcakes and one the brie, all were good and well portioned, the mushrooms could have had a bit more bread with it though as it was in a cream sauce, bread would have been better dipped. Our mains were the fish and chips, 2 roast dinners (one lamb, one beef) and the chicken stuffed with haggis. All were large portions, the chicken and haggis was wonderful as the chicken was cooked so well and the skin was crispy and the haggis and mashed added another level of delicious. The two roast dinners were huge portions and the meat on them was enormous but so tender and tasty the plates were licked clean. The fish and chips were very fresh and tasty as well. The deserts were a bit of a let down in that the Eton Mess was so mixed up there was not crunchy bits of the merengue and it was a bit heavy, the creme brulee was warm and not a lot of crunch on the top, the best of the deserts was the Clachan Sundae, that was excellent and enjoyed immensely. I would definitely eat here again, and recommend it to others but would probably skip the desert course as it needs a little tweaking.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tlly411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Clachan as part of two weeks in Dumfries and Galloway and it was great. Ideally located for loads of what the Galloway forest has to offer, you couldn't hve a better base camp.
What's the best thing about the Clachan? The rooms are spacious; the beds are big and very comfortable; the en-suite is a proper, seperate room; the busy restaurant serves great food (the cooked breakfast is worth the price of the room alone - don't wimp out by having cereal) , the bar is choc full of character (and characters) but the absolute best thing is the people! Stuart, Joanne and their staff couldn't have done any more to make our stay as pleasant as possible. They are a terrific example to the rest of the Scottish tourist industry. Go to the Clachan Inn and you too will write a blethering review like this.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HamiltonWeeFee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed here on route to Land's End - pretty basic room, but a comfortable bed and a hot shower which is great at the thick end of 80 miles on a bike. Busy local pub, friendly and welcoming staff and good locally sourced food and beer (and whisky).

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed here for one night while walking the SUW. The food was great compared to the usual we encountered. The owners were charming and the service was excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andunan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews