We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brookford B&B St Johns Town Dalry”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brookford B&B - Scotland's Most Hospitable B&B
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brookford B&B St Johns Town Dalry”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Our 4 day stay at Brookford was delightful. We were given a warm welcome by Ronnie and the en suite room and facilities were first class. Ronnie was very knowledgeable on the area and gave a wealth of information whilst we enjoyed the delicious breakfasts. There is a small lounge with a nice view for guests to relax in the evenings with a selection of books to suit most tastes. The Brookford is at the top of Dalry and ideally situated for walks through the beautiful village which has hidden secrets and a wealth of history. A walk through the churchyard to the river is a must, following the steps of Robbie Burns inspiration for Tam O'Shanter, who after a night in the local pub fled from ghouls he observed dancing with the locals through the church door!. I suspect the local Clachan Inn beer may have contributed!
The area is fantastic and you are spoiled for places to visit. The Brookford excellent website contains all you need to know for where to go.
We visited James Clerk Maxwell's grave in Parton cemetry and then took the back Corsock road through beautiful countryside to Glenlair, Maxwell's house, where he shaped many of his great ideas. Considering Maxwell is rated in the top 3 of world scientists it is surprising how modest his burial site is, but the Parton area is so charming, I'm sure he is at peace.
We also visited Murray's monument which is not so humble and is perched on a steep hill giving one of the best views in Galloway. Flanked by a scenic waterfall and a grazing area for mountain goats one wonders what Murray did to deserve such a tribute. The monument plaque says he was professor of Oriental languages at Edinburgh University for one year so one wonders what size monument would be erected for 2 years!
A trip on the Raider's Road through Galloway Park gives an opportunity to see the best of this beautiful area steeped in history of religious persecution and glorious resistance.
Back to the Brookford for coffee and biscuits, an evening stroll through the village and then a restful nights sleep at this superb B&B. The Brookford is highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maurice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie B, Owner at Brookford B&B - Scotland's Most Hospitable B&B, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Many thanks for your excellent review of Brookford B&B and our beautiful area. With such glowing praise it is certain that more people will choose to come to The Glenkens area of Dumfries and Galloway (and hopefully stay at Brookford too!).

It was a real pleasure to meet you both and look after you during your stay and I look forward to meeting you again soon when you return to experience more of our 'Hidden Gem'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
51
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Burton upon Trent
1 review
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The service was impecible, nothing was too much trouble they even managed to accomodate our dog!

The breakfasts were fantastic and kept you going right through the day. The evening meal was exceptional quality for a B&B evening meal with a lot of time, energy and skill going into each dish.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie B, Owner at Brookford B&B - Scotland's Most Hospitable B&B, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Many thanks for your excellent review. I am genuinely delighted that you found your stay at Brookford B&B so enjoyable and look forward to looking after you again when you next visit our region.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinross, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We are frequent visitors to this beautiful part of Scotland so we were delighted to find Brookford for our latest visit. Scottish hospitality at its very best. The accomodation is of a high standard offering a relaxed & very comfortable visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie B, Owner at Brookford B&B - Scotland's Most Hospitable B&B, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
It was a delight to meet you and look after you during your stay. I am very happy that you enjoyed our hospitality and look forward to having you stay at Brookford B&B in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawarden, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We had a warm welcome from Ronnie. The room was newly decorated with a lovely ensuite bathroom. We also had our own lounge and all facilities you need for a comfortable stay. Fantastic breakfast too, would recommend.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie B, Owner at Brookford B&B - Scotland's Most Hospitable B&B, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Many thanks for your excellent review. It was a pleasure looking after you and I look forward to seeing you again when you are next in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We loved our stay at Brookford!! The rooms are very comfortable and of a very high standard. Room was tidied daily and tea and coffee provide in the room. There is a lovely dining/sitting room for guests and evening meals are provided upon request. There was an excellent choice for breakfast and Angie and Ronnie are very friendly and do everything they can to make your visit the best it can be. They make excellent hosts and really did make our stay very comfortable.
The location of this bed and breakfast is beautiful and rural but is close to local amenities.
I was very impressed with this establishment and will definitely be returning!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rainbowabz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie B, Owner at Brookford B&B - Scotland's Most Hospitable B&B, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Hi,

Both Angie and I are very pleased with the experience you had at Brookford B&B and delighted that you will be coming back again.

We look forward to meeting and looking after you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's Town of Dalry
2.1 mi away
Ken Bridge Hotel
Ken Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in New Galloway
110 reviews
17.9 mi away
Trigony House Hotel
Trigony House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Closeburn
570 reviews
16.4 mi away
Creebridge House Hotel
Creebridge House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newton Stewart
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Bruce Hotel
Bruce Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newton Stewart
275 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Knowe B&B
The Knowe B&B
#1 of 2 in Carsphairn
204 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Cross Keys Hotel
The Cross Keys Hotel
#3 of 3 in New Galloway
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookford B&B - Scotland's Most Hospitable B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookford B&B - Scotland's Most Hospitable B&B

Property: Brookford B&B - Scotland's Most Hospitable B&B
Address: 4 St. Johns Way | St. Johns Town of Dalry, St. John's Town of Dalry DG7 3UQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > St. John's Town of Dalry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in St. John's Town of Dalry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Brookford B&B - Scotland's Most Hospitable B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brookford, Scotland's Most Hospitable B&B is situated in the picturesque village of St. Johns Town of Dalry. Brookford B&B is a Visit Scotland 4 star accommodation provider adjacent to the Southern Upland Way and near the Galloway Forest Park & Galloway Dark Skies Park & Observatory. Brookford B&B offers a luxury en-suite Double and Twin rooms fully and tastefully furnished with flat screen TV/DVD’s, Tea and coffee making facilities, central heating and high quality bedding, towels and toiletries. Excellent base to experience the unspoilt beauty and wildlife of the Glenkens; an undiscovered gem in Dumfries and Galloway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Brookford B&B - Scotland's Most Hospitable B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing