We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yes..take the risk”
Review of Broomhall Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Broomhall Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Menstrie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 6, 2011

stayed here on the 4th and 5th of feb 2011. travelled up from manchester. the weather was horrendous. but well worth the effort..the castle is easy enough to find. its in a great location...easy access to major routes and towns...the room was quite big with everything you needed, it was warm. the bathroom was excepetional...the bed and the beddiing second to none. the restaurant was very accommodating with excellent service...the food was very good quality and well worth the money...would well recommend staying in the castle for evening meals as you would be hard pushed to find anything of a similar quality in the local area.. the floorboards do creek as other reviews have stated, but dont let this put you off, after all it is a castle not a travel lodge........we only actually saw 1 member of staff while we were there. sorry i did,nt catch his name...but he booked us in . waited on the tables served the drinks infact he may have even built the castle with his bare hands. he was very hard working, professional and very friendly and polite. he deserves a medal. would deffinaley go back....if your thinking about it. go for it you won,t be sorry.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimmy3cheeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (653)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

504 - 510 of 653 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2011

Stayed in December and the castle looked stunning in the snow. Despite the weather outside the castle was warm and cozy. Staff very attentive. Food delicious and good value for money. Highly recommended for a romantic getaway. Will be back.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EnglishRose79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2011

Not far from the Wallace Monument lies Broomhall Castle. A very interesting history to this castle. Therefore, you appreciate the money spent in its interior to bring it back to life. And what a fantastic job they have done. Staff could not have been more helpful from the minute we arrived through to departure. We always expect to receive a high standard when we tour our own country and this is something the staff at Broomhall certainly achieved. The room itself was tailored to resemble the features of the Castle itself. The room was spotless and we fell in love with the place within minutes. Could not fault this hotel in any way ( apart from the creeky floorboards outside the bedrooms but you have to remember this is an old building!! ) Breakfast was lovely. Brilliant weekend all round. First time visitor. Definitely be back this year.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glasgow2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2011

We booked the hotel, initially due to the close proximity to Stirling and we realised we had picked a great venue that bent over backwards to make everything come together for our special day! Rob, Rod and Marty and the team were fantastic. Professional communication throughout, lots of special requests were accommodated and despite weather disruptions and cancellations everything went without a hitch. All our guests were thrilled with the rooms, great buffet food and lounges for coffee and cake. My only suggestions would be for the fireplaces in the lounges to be operational as they would be fantastic during the winter, possibly two buffet stations for numbers over 50 to reduce congestion with "hot" plates but other than that very difficult to find fault! Thank you so much for a fantastic weekend, we`ll be back!

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnonymousStirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2010

Stayed at Broomhall for one night (Aug 2009) on drive from Inverness to Edinburgh. Lovely castle, although inside has been modernized. Had room with tall ceiling, four poster bed and a remodeled bathroom. Restaurant was very good, although slow service due to few staff members. Lovely breakfast with view of the woods. Very quiet and romantic.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pariscoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2010

My partner and I stayed there for his 40th birthday. I was emailed by the hotel and asked if I had any special requests. I emailed back and asked if they could buy in a birthday cake for me as we were having our evening meal at the castle.
To my delight, I was emailed back the next day and was told that the chief would bake a cake. It was lovely.
The staff right from the start were just lovely and were very hard workers! Would go back just because the staff very so nice.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LisaRoar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2010

Our wedding was absolutely fantastic from start to finish.
I think the key words were easy going, flexible and top quality service.
The staff made it a very personal wedding.
Everybody enjoyed themselves, including the staff - they all seemed happy to be there and were well up for a party whilst doing an excellent job and maintaining high quality service.
Food was top notch and the kitchen can produce anything you wish.
The venue is fantastic at any time of the year and the rooms are not your standard corporate hotel rooms but have lots of charm .
Could not have asked for a better wedding venue!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arno120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menstrie
4.9 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
5.1 mi away
Old Churches House Hotel
7.1 mi away
Cromlix
Cromlix
#1 of 1 in Kinbuck
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 20 in Stirling
589 reviews
7 mi away
Airth Castle & Hotel
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broomhall Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broomhall Castle

Address: Broomhall Castle Long Row, Menstrie FK11 7EA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Clackmannanshire > Menstrie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Menstrie
Price Range: $77 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Broomhall Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Broomhall Castle is a family owned hotel with 16 good quality en suite rooms having exposed stone walls and king sized or larger beds. We have two rooms with super king four poster beds for that special break. Situated 5 miles from Stirling with views of the Castle and the Wallace Monument. Enjoy a friendly and personal hotel in a great location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Broomhall Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broomhall Castle Menstrie
Broomhall Castle Hotel Menstrie
Broomhall Castle Scotland/Menstrie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing