We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Broomhall Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Broomhall Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Menstrie
Certificate of Excellence
west mids
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

What a fab place to stay.Room 18. Huge sleigh bed huge tv huge bathroom. fantastic views from the tower room.
Excellent food.Staff friendly and quirky.Nothing too much trouble.
Try it.you won't be dissapointed.

Annie & Phil

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fuertebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    151
    55
    30
    22
See reviews for
133
327
12
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Heidelberg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We've always wanted to stay in a Castle while traveling through Scotland. The castle is located in a little nice village on the top of the hill. The scienic view at night is fantastic since you can directly see the lights of Stirling Castle (about 5km away) and even more far behind get a feel of Edinborough dimensions at night. The food is brilliant and heaps. the castle itself is spacious, simple but very warm and homely. Most amazingly we found the staff (with that said, greetings to David, Scott and Dave), who made our stay unforgettable. We can only highly recommend to stay in this place, it will be an experience you'll never forget and moreover one which you don't want to miss. Cheers from Heidelberg Caroline & Dominik

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DommenikS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed over Christmas in 2012 for 3 nights. The castle had a homely, warm atmosphere. The room was large, clean and well heated with a beautiful view of the town. The owners were lovely and extremely helpful. I would highly recommend!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Attended a wedding here on 4 July. Impressive as soon as you drive up the winding approach road. Staff were excellent, couldn't do enough for everyone attending the wedding. Drink prices were very reasonable for a hotel and the evening meal & breakfast were both excellent.

My wife and I stayed in a 4 poster bedroom, and we didn't want to get up in the morning it was so comfortable. Massive room and good bathroom too.

Would recommend if you are staying in the area or considering as a wedding / function venue!

Cheers to big Rod and his team.

Room Tip: 4 poster room was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StephenBarkey1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Wow this is a special building to spend some nights. Rates are very reasonable given the fact your staying on a castle. Finishing of the rooms etc. is something they saved money on, certainly not bad but noticeable. The rooms are more than spacious as is the bed. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark_en_Lizan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
243 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

I had initially chosen this room based solely on the exterior, thinking, meh, not really concerned with the rooms, I just want to stay somewhere that looks like that. We were met at the door by a really friendly young man who helped us check into our room on the second floor. While the room wasn't necessarily the focus of our stay, we were blown away by the amazing suite we were shown in to. It was huge with an exceptionally comfortable four-poster bed, an ample and well-situated bathroom, finished off by a stunning view of the countryside where we were able to see the Wallace Monument in the distance. We cracked open the windows a bit to let the room cool and experienced one of the best night sleeps we had during our entire trip.

We were so impressed by the property that we decided to stay onsite for dinner. We're very glad that we did and enjoyed a truly wonderful meal. Breakfast likewise was quite good. Also, I believe a shout-out is warranted to the young man working the hotel that night. We quickly realized that he was pretty much a one-man show, manning check-in, serving as waiter to the entire dining room, and also as the bartender in the adjoining bar area. That couldn't have been easy, but he managed it all exceedingly well. Bravo to him!

This is definitely on our list of places to return the next time we're in Scotland.

Room Tip: Definitely opt for one of the suites if you can. You won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DPres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

No reception so no one to greet us on arrival. Eventually found someone who gave us our key which was attached to a bulky, filthy soft toy and took us to our room. We had to carry our heavy luggage up the stairs all the way to the top of the hotel as the lift was out of order. We were not advised of breakfast or departure times and were not shown the location of the dining room. The bedroom had no hair dryer or iron (although there was an ironing board so I guess you could ask for the iron). There was also no phone so if you did want to ask for the iron, or anything else, you had to go all the way back down the stairs, search for a member of staff and then climb all the way back up to your room. There was no full length mirror and nowhere in the bathroom for our toiletries/toilet bag or even the towels which were left on the window ledge in the bedroom. There was no menu on the breakfast table and we weren't asked what we would like to order - a cooked breakfast was placed in front of us. Oh and after climbing the 2 flights of stairs several times I tested the lift which appeared to be working after all!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trudypep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menstrie
7.0 mi away
Airth Castle & Hotel
4.9 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
4.4 mi away
Harviestoun Country Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 21 in Stirling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
3.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bridge of Allan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broomhall Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broomhall Castle

Property: Broomhall Castle
Address: Broomhall Castle Long Row, Menstrie FK11 7EA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Clackmannanshire > Menstrie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Menstrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Broomhall Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Broomhall Castle is a family owned hotel with ten good quality en suite rooms having exposed stone walls and king sized or larger beds. We have two rooms with super king four poster beds for that special break. Situated 5 miles from Stirling with views of the Castle and the Wallace Monument. Enjoy a friendly and personal hotel in a great location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Broomhall Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broomhall Castle Menstrie
Broomhall Castle Hotel Menstrie
Broomhall Castle Scotland/Menstrie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing