We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Be aware of limited liquor licence if you want a drink”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Broomhall Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Broomhall Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Menstrie
Certificate of Excellence
Berkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Be aware of limited liquor licence if you want a drink”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We were looking forward to staying in a castle and when we arrived got a nice large room to the front of the hotel with seating area in mini turret of hotel. There were some light bulbs broken but these got fixed the next day. The bathroom was also a large room with separate shower and roll top bath. We went down for a drink to find that the hotel only has a weekend liquor licence despite their own website suggesting drink in bar before dinner!!(false advertising). We had booked dinner on second night as we like wine with dinner. On speaking to a supervisor next morning we were offered complementary wine with dinner so we did have dinner which was fine. Dining room was a bit plain and could do with something to liven it up rather than it looking like a school dining room (Hotel used to be a school). Overall apart from not getting a drink when we wanted we enjoyed our stay, bedroom and bathroom were clean, staff friendly.

Room Tip: Book through a 3rd party website (with best rate guarantee) as we booked direct with hotel and their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leirure_guest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    152
    56
    30
    22
See reviews for
134
331
12
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

stayed for one night beautiful room could not believe how big our bedroom was - very clean both evening meal and breakfast were excellent spoke to chef all staff were very friendly would definitley stay again ( only problem the bar was not available we were told they only had a licence when weddings were on - not very good if you like a quiet drink before your evening meal )

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwickshire
Level Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

This place has been redecorated to DIY standard rather than a professional standard. Every floorboard creaks. The bedroom doors seem to be recycled from a 1970s office. The carpet may have seen service in the Crimea War. The breakfast was unimaginative. Wouldn't go back again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank makethetea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowlands Gill, Tyne and Wear, Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed for one night over the bank holiday weekend. The staff were all really friendly and made us feel very welcome. Our room was lovely, clean and loads of space, we were really pleased with it. We spent most of the day in the bar which was fine but it felt like it needed a little upgrade, lick of paint and just generally updated. We had a lovely meal and overall had really nice time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed here as a last minute/one night get away. We picked a double room with breakfast package. The castle/hotel was based in an idyllic location and was beautiful. Our room (number 12) was lovely and clean and had a nice modern bathroom. However, we did note some issues that if addressed could improve the comfort of your stay: the tea and coffee making facilities upon arrival required filling (the coffee and sugar were almost empty); the shower pressure was a little lacking; there was only one mirror and that was in the bathroom therefore a mirror in the bedroom beside a plug socket would have made it a little easier to get ready; the bed was a queen at best (definetly not a king or super king as stated on the booking confirmation); there was only a bedside cabinet on one side of the bed (this would have been acceptable if the bed was bigger but with the size of the bed a second cabinet could easily be fitted); and wifi in the rooms would be beneficial.
The staff are very welcoming, friendly and attentive. The restaurant had a formal yet relaxing ambience and the food cannot be faulted (especially the pecan tart with pistachio ice cream - yum!).
The produce used at breakfast was of a high standard however we did feel the portion size had been scrimped upon and could have been hotter.
Although points made in this review do seem a little negative we did have a good stay. We also seen a wedding being set up and thought it looked like a lovely setting for a wedding.

Room Tip: If staying again we would definetly pick a 4 poster room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAAH22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BroomhallCastle, Manager at Broomhall Castle, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Hi there, thank you for posting a review for your stay at the castle, and I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us.. I just wanted to take the time to reply.. Firstly my apologies for the lack of king sized bed in your room this is due to the one that was in there being broken the week before you arrived and the new one had not arrived.. however this is being remidied straight away.. tea and coffeebeing low I have brought up with the staff as this should be checked on a daily basis so hopefully it won't happen again.. lack of plugs next to mirrors is something we are trying to fix in all the rooms as quite a few of them suffer from this problem... Finally the WIFI in the hotel, the lack of signal in the bedrooms is due to the thickness of the walls it is readily available in the guest areas on the ground floor - the lounges, bar and restaurant and some of the first floor rooms do pick it up, unfortunately the cost of installing it throughout the hotel is huge.. one day there may be a cheaper alternative to it..

I hope we will see you again at the castle and if you are please contact us directly and we will ensure you get a great deal and, if one is free, a four poster!

Regards and thanks again

Rod Nisbet
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

We visit scotland quite a lot and i must say this hotel had the most personable manager we have ever had the pleasure to meet. Nothing at all was too much trouble. The rooms although comfortable and pretty clean had no WiFi but i am sure this has been sorted by now. The food service was good and the food itself was good apart from one slight problem with a dish which was quickly corrected along with a complimentary bottle of wine. If all hotels were run like this one we wouldn't need sites like this. We will definately visit again. Mr and Mrs Stewart.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed here last weekend for a family wedding - and it was great.The "castle" itself is beautiful and the rooms 1st class. As most of the rooms were booked by family etc (the reception was there) we had the opportunity to have a look at a lot of them and everyone was of an excellent quality. Ours was to the side of the building and overlooked the garden area with a small summer house and fountain. The room itself was spotlessly clean & of a very good size. It had a fantastically comfortable large double bed with great qualitiy bedding/a flat screen TV, an outstanding bathroom /shower & with good quality toiletries. It was very nicely decorated with good quality furnishing etc in keeping with the building & the rest of the decor.
Other rooms had rolltop free standing baths and the four poster bed rooms were massive and had both shower & bath. The castle was set amongst a range of magnificent trees with a impressive /secluded drive way & there was ample parking. It in a peaceful location and great for exploring the Stirling/ Edinburgh & Glasgow - all within a 40min drive. The bar and lounge area were very comfortable with big squiggy sofas. One of the nicest things about this place is the staff- very friendly and extremely helpful. The breakfasts were excellent - unlimited cereals/ juices/ teas/ coffee & an outstanding cooked breakfast. ( The young man serving the breakfast on Sunday morning was a star- nothing was too much bother)
I think a double room costs about £90+ per night ( inc. breakfast) with the four poster rooms a bit more but for a special occasion you cant beat it

Room Tip: For quirkiness all rooms are great- we had room 5 which thought was great-sun all day. Room 2 was lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EM1Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menstrie
7.0 mi away
Airth Castle & Hotel
4.4 mi away
Harviestoun Country Hotel & Restaurant
4.3 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
3.0 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 21 in Stirling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broomhall Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broomhall Castle

Property: Broomhall Castle
Address: Broomhall Castle Long Row, Menstrie FK11 7EA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Clackmannanshire > Menstrie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Menstrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Broomhall Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Broomhall Castle is a family owned hotel with 16 good quality en suite rooms having exposed stone walls and king sized or larger beds. We have two rooms with super king four poster beds for that special break. Situated 5 miles from Stirling with views of the Castle and the Wallace Monument. Enjoy a friendly and personal hotel in a great location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Broomhall Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broomhall Castle Menstrie
Broomhall Castle Hotel Menstrie
Broomhall Castle Scotland/Menstrie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing