We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday celebration in Restaurant”
Review of Broomhall Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Broomhall Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Menstrie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2011

An excellent evening with great food and plenty to drink spent in nice surroundings with very attentive staff. Looking forward to staying overnight in June

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dabar_h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (653)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

489 - 495 of 653 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2011

Absolutely superb find - 5/5 and my partner and I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough! From start to finish the experience for us was fantastic, All the staff were so helpful - Ty, Michelle and Sarah were fabulous and deserve a mention and I'm sure the rest of the staff were the same but we only really got to know these three. View from our room was lovely with a comfortable bed. The atmosphere at the hotel was so peaceful & quiet and so very enjoyable. We found that the staff are there if you need them, but they are not intrusive in any way. The food in the restaurant was absolutely first class, we ate in the hotel both evenings that we stayed as we could not have found better - our compliments to the chefs! Well done everyone at Broomhall Castle, we will definitely be staying with you again and soon I hope! Thank you! Andrea & Martin. East Yorkshire.

Room Tip: All the rooms appear nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndreaTyrrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2011

We stayed here for our 1st Wedding Anniversary on 10th April 2011, we got married here last year & our day was amazing, have come back several times for BBQ's & had dinner, B&B one night in February this year along with a Cocktails & Casino nite which was great fun & Rod showed us how to make lots of yummy different cocktails & we got to invent our own, delicious but deadly judging by the hangovers the next day!! (Sorry never got round to putting a separate review on!)
We sat in the garden yesterday & also chatted to Gavin & had some drinks which was lovely reliving our big day last year when the weather had been just as gorgeous - they order it in for you especially!!!
Dinner was lovely, Kevin is a fantastic chef & the menus reflect the seasons & the local produce that they use, we took photos of out food as it looked too good to eat!
David was very attentive & friendly & makes a fantastic "Broomhall Coffee" Yum!
We had the bridal suite & it was lovely to be able to spend time in it as on our wedding day we never had time! Bathroom has a fab roll top bath, bliss!
We were able to catch up with Scott, who had beeen our bar man when we got married, he is currently working night shift while they are renovating the top floor but hope he will be back down front of house after renovations are finished as his customer service has always been fantastic & he goes out of his way to make your stay more enjoyable & nothing ever seems too much trouble!
The rest of the team are always friendly welcoming & attentive whenever we visit & it was lovely to see Rod this morning even if just for a wee while but he still made time to come over & congratulate us & have a chat, the guy who organised our wedding has sadly left but It is clear to see that the same attention to detail & warm welcoming atmosphere remains at Broomhall.
Please ignore the not so good reviews, all of our family & friends still say our wedding was a fantastic day & could not speak highly enough about Broomhall - friends of ours are getting married at Broomhall in August this year as they loved it so much.
Looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank scoobydooFalkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Broomhall for our one year wedding anniversary. The staff where very relaxed and friendly, and really made us feel welcome. The room had ample space and a decent sized comfortable bed. Before dinner in the restuarant, we had a drink in one of the large rooms on the ground floor, which felt like a giant loungeroom. The dinner hall was also spacious, we were seated next to one of the windows and had a nice view of lights across the district. As aussies in the UK, some places can feel a bit claustrophobic - however, we didn't get that feeling here. The food was served in a timely manner and was excellent. On the day of our arrival we decided to pop into Sterling, and we got lost in the dark coming back. Like a homing beacon, we could see the castle from afar and we safely made it back! With the creaky flaw and ghost stories there was definately something unique about this place.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Call_me_the_Quack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2011

A lucky find last year when searching for a place to stay near Stirling on business (see my previous review). Since the I've returned several times and not been disappointed. Most recent visit was at the end of March for two nights when the food was back to its best.

I love the location, part way up a hillside within a few miles of Stirling. There's nothing much to detain you in Menstrie but you have no need to leave the hotel if in search of fine dining at reasonable prices. Once or twice in the past, the meals havent quite been up to the high standard of my first visit but this time, both evening meals were excellent. Very good cooked breakfasts too.

The hotel appears to make most of its money from weddings and other functions and a fantastic location it must be to get married. In the week, it's generally pretty quiet, helped by its secluded location. The local deer certainly seem to like the peace and quiet and are often spotted just outside the hotel.

As I said last time, it has a few quirky eccentricities, perhaps not surprising in view of its interesting history (see the hotel website for details). Don't be put off by the odd review below by the former staff member of the building when it was a nursing home - I don't recognise the place from that review which is totally inaccurate.

I'll be back soon and wouldn't hesitate to recommend Broomhall, particularly at the great value rates currently on offer.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gojph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2011

Had a great stay at Broomhall Castle. Our room was braw, stayed for dinner which was excellent (as was the breakfast). Staff were really friendly and helpful throughout our visit. Managed to lock ourselves out of our car as we were preparing to leave. Staff were very helpful and kind in assisting us sort everything out even providing tea and cakes while we waited! Recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marionville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2011

When we arrived at the hotel, we got checked in and showed to our room quickly. The room wasn't huge but big enough for just two people for one night. The furniture in the room was gorgeous and it was all very clean. We went to the bar for a drink in the afternoon and found the drinks to be very reasonably priced. The hotel was very quiet though and we felt that some music was needed to break the silence sometimes! We had dinner in the hotel and it was delicious! The food was amazing and after dinner we sat through in one of the hotel lounges for some drinks. As there was an event on that night, the hotel was very lively which definitely added to the atmosphere. We managed to make it down for breakfast in the morning, I never had very much to eat as I was feeling a bit fragile after the night before but my boyfriend definitely enjoyed his breakfast. All in all, our night in the hotel was great and we are definitely planning on returning in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SamanthaG3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menstrie
4.9 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
5.1 mi away
Old Churches House Hotel
7.1 mi away
Cromlix
Cromlix
#1 of 1 in Kinbuck
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 20 in Stirling
589 reviews
7 mi away
Airth Castle & Hotel
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broomhall Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broomhall Castle

Address: Broomhall Castle Long Row, Menstrie FK11 7EA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Clackmannanshire > Menstrie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Menstrie
Price Range: $77 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Broomhall Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Broomhall Castle is a family owned hotel with 16 good quality en suite rooms having exposed stone walls and king sized or larger beds. We have two rooms with super king four poster beds for that special break. Situated 5 miles from Stirling with views of the Castle and the Wallace Monument. Enjoy a friendly and personal hotel in a great location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Broomhall Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broomhall Castle Menstrie
Broomhall Castle Hotel Menstrie
Broomhall Castle Scotland/Menstrie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing