We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfecr”
other traveler has booked this property
Property front
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Property front
Lounge Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
34 reviews
Property front
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Kitchen
Kitchen Panoramic
Double Bedroom
Double Bedroom Panoramic
Shower room
Shower room
Hall
Hall
Property front
Rear of property
Garden Panoramic
View from front
Kinross Panoramic
Kinross Panoramic
Garden Panoramic
Kinross Panoramic
Garden Panoramic
arial view
Arial
Thurso River from Halkirk bridge
Property Front
Property sign post
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Halkirk, Caithness and Sutherland, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
lcc86
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfecr”
Reviewed September 8, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Just home from a great 4 nights at Kinross cottage. Gordon was very welcoming and even had milk in fridge for us. The cottage was lovely, myself and husband and my parents were very happy here. Central to do everything we wanted and had all the essentials and more to cook and be very comfortable including a good DVD, book and game selection. The beds were comfy too so we all got good sleeps. Lovely hearing the birds in the morning. Would highly recommend and would return in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 9, 2017
Very nice people pleased they enjoyed there stay and it would be great to see them again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BackPacke...
1 review
“everything we could have wanted - perfect holiday home”
Reviewed January 29, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Gordon and Gill extremely helpful and their cottage is well equipped and cosy. We needed a peaceful break after Christmas work load and the cottage and surrounding countryside and coastline provided this for us. We will definitely want to return

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 30, 2017
Jill and John were lovely people and I do hope we see them again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Home from Home”
Reviewed September 29, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The cottage is set in a lovely quite location on the edge of the village which has a general store and a hotel within walking distance. The location is in a perfect location for exploring Caithness. On arrival we received an extremely warm welcome from the owners Gordon & Gillian. The cottage is kept in immaculate condition and well equipped with ample heating if required with hot water always available. Free fast Wi-Fi was available in the cottage which is now essential in my opinion. The garden at the front of the cottage is well kept and contributes to the view from the cottage. Gordon & Gillian are always available for assistance and although they live adjacent to the cottage they were not intrusive to our break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Free Wi-Fi
Liked least: No issues
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 30, 2016
Will be delighted to see this guest again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
craig b
1 review
“Ideal”
Reviewed July 6, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Had a really peaceful, relaxing time and can't wait to go back to try some of the local lochs for fishing.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 7, 2016
Great that he enjoyed the stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjaan2010
Breskens, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean and well maintaned cottage”
Reviewed July 4, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Very clean and tidy cottage. Free Wi-Fi. Nice welcome by the owner Gordon Graham. Had everything we needed like a washing machine and drier. Huge tv in the living room with two couches we could relex on. The only thing we kind of missed was some hooks in the hallway to hang our coats.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was very clean and well maintained.
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 5, 2016
There is a cupboard to hang coats in with hooks and hangers.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The new bed, new sofas, reliable wifi
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 27, 2015
Great to see Paul and Mel again and we are so pleased they like what we have done.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
McieheleE
West Midlands, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent stay in Halkirk”
Reviewed October 28, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We've stayed in Halkirk six times, and this was the best stay by far. Gordon and Gill made us feel so welcome, and the cottage was truly a home from home, with everything we needed and more. Lovely views too.

Kind regards,

Michele and Ray Eckersley

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size of property, just perfect
Liked least: No bath, but we're aware before arrival
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 29, 2015
Great couple pleased they enjoyed their stay and we hope to see them again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing