We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful little gem with outstanding scenery”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Croit Bhraigh

Dogs more than welcome.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dogs more than welcome.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
19 reviews
Dogs more than welcome.
Stunning vistas to be seen at Croit Bhraigh
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Rogart, Caithness and Sutherland, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
HHBStones...
Stonesby,Leics
2 reviews
“Beautiful little gem with outstanding scenery”
Reviewed March 8, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Croit Bhraigh in the stunning Rogart valley, this is a fantastic little find I would fully recommend , fully equiped, cosy, very comfortable and dog friendly. Near enough to fantastic beaches, the lovely small town of Dornoch and with the breath taking scenery of Sutherland and Caithness on your doorstep. It is a credit to owners Kenny and Rachel Gunn who were so helpful , friendly and for whom nothing was too much trouble, right down to the welcome pack of essentials on arrival. Booking was hassel free and very professional. 5 ***** definitely.

Date of stay: February 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD250217
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect setting for a peaceful holiday.”
Reviewed March 6, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Excellent, restored, traditional croft house in peaceful Highland setting. Well equipped, comfortable and a warm welcome. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: March 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sy O
1 review
“Great Highland Getaway”
Reviewed November 27, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We really enjoyed our stay, from the warm welcome (lovely food hamper) to the cosy wood burner, everything about our stay made us feel at home.

It's the ideal setting for anyone wanting to get away from it all to the highland countryside- remote enough that you fell hidden away, but still close enough to the local services in Dornoch and Lairg.

The cottage itself was spotless and was fully equipped with everything we needed to make our stay comfortable.

We used this central Caithness location as a base to explore some of the most beautiful and scenic areas of the the Highlands while tasting some amazing local produce.

We had an amazing stay here and the the fact the cottage accommodates dogs means it is the perfect holiday base for all members of the family. We're already planning on booking again for next year.

Date of stay: November 2016
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fionasned...
Lundin Links, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
Reviewed October 15, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Had a perfect week here, the cottage was excellent, well equipped and very cosy. The location is great, lots of walking and the local inn was very welcoming and the food was lovely. Overall we had a great weeks stay in this beautiful cottage and I would highly recommend it.

Date of stay: October 2016
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cazzamitc...
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A wonderful property in a stunning location”
Reviewed August 25, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have recently returned from a week at Croit Bhraigh. It more than exceeded all of our expectations. The property itself is located in the most stunning location, far from the madding crowds, with a large garden perfect for dogs (who don't like to chase sheep!). The peace was utterly sublime and the nature around the garden, pheasants and red deer, were breathtaking. The house itself was fantastic. Really comfortable and very homely with a well stocked kitchen and a very generous welcome pack for our arrival. The beds were really comfy and we all slept really well during our stay. Rogart and the surrounds are beautiful. The people are so friendly and welcoming. the beaches are wide and sandy (and largely empty) and it's within easy reach of the north coast and the absolutely wonderful scenic drive across the coast from John O Groats to Durness. We really did have the most lovely time and our deep thanks go to the very kind owners for making us so very welcome. You will not regret booking a holiday at Croit Bhraigh. We hope to see you again one day. Thanks again.

Date of stay: August 2016
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helen823
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy, comfortable and very welcoming”
Reviewed August 1, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

New to the holiday rental market, we loved this cottage, very clean and comfortable with lots of little touches that made us feel welcome. The box of basic groceries, wine and 'proper' coffee we found on arrival was very much appreciated and a lovely start to our holiday. The kitchen was very well equipped with crockery and cooking utensils, washer and dishwasher. The bathroom newly fitted out and supplied with a few basic toiletries and plenty of towels. Beds comfortable and warm and plenty of storage for clothes. The electric heaters were very efficient and the log burning stove proved very cozy on the cooler nights. We did have a bit of trouble tuning into the TV and internet but got it all sorted by day two. All the downstairs floors are laminated which Bruce, our staffie, did have a bit of trouble with, but this was down to his age not the flooring. He loved the rug in front of the fire! I have never stayed anywhere where dog bowls, dog bedding and dog treats were supplied and Bruce was very grateful!
Set in a very rural location we enjoyed lovely views, saw some very shy red deer several times and had a garden that backed onto a field of curious sheep and several ruined bothys. We also had daily visits from 5 local cats! There are 2 close neighbours, one couple sharing our drive who were very friendly and helpful. The second living a little further up the hill who we passed only in the car.
The cottage is a 5 minute drive out of Rogart where the Pittentrail Inn quenched our thirst after a long day out and served good food. The Spar shop there was also very useful. Several walks run from the village around the valley which unfortunately we were not able to do this time.
Rogart is a convenient place from which to tour the north - perfect for our plan of sightseeing by car. It provides easy access to the East Coast tourist route as well as to Lairg, known as the crossroads to the highlands and en route to the west coast. Over 3 days we managed to cover the whole north coast, visiting John O'Groats, the Castle of Mey, Smoo Cave and Durness craft village with lots of other stops in between. The scenery was spectacular! We also visited some of the local towns including Dornoch and Tain as well as spending an afternoon in Inverness on a very rainy day. So much to do and see...we'll just have to go back!

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Curling up on the cozy settee in the snug after a long day out
Liked least: Washing up! Why didn't I use the dishwasher?
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing