We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly hotel in stunning area.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inchnadamph Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Assynt
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inchnadamph Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Assynt B&B and Inns
Hertfordshire UK
Level Contributor
125 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Friendly hotel in stunning area.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

The rooms at Inchnadamph are not luxurious but are clean and comfortable with beautiful views of loch and mountains. The owners are friendly and helpful, the food perfectly adequate. A good stopover if touring or a base for walkers and climbers.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simmotours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    25
    8
    7
    4
See reviews for
9
21
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

The hotel is well run by friendly staff, great views over the loch and lots of local fishing. Food was tasty and filling with real ale on draft. Well located for hanging out/shelter/quick stop off.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dickinsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

I Stayed in the Inchnadamph years ago and was excited to visit again. My memories of the place are good....if anything it has improved with age. Richard was an excellent host - full of local knowledge and tales of the elusive haggis. I hope it won't be too long before I visit again.

Breakfasts are outstanding - especially the black pudding and dinners were great especially after a long day tramping around in the hills looking at rocks.

If you are in the NW Highlands stop here - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank peridotite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

The Inchnadamph Hotel is situated beside a public car park which gives access to some great walking country. When we descended from the hills at 3pm midweek early in May there were a dozen or so cars parked alongside ours.

There's nothing like a walk in the Highlands to give you a powerful urge for a big pot of tea and a choice of tray bakes. So how does this hotel in the Highlands - an area priding itself for its hospitality - respond to this need? With a stroppy note on the door, saying that the hotel is only open to non-residents in the evening.

So, if you want afternoon tea, forget the Inchna Damp Squib Hotel - you'll need to take your custom (and your tourist money) elsewhere.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank jpmcc_ta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLOSSOP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

My short stay at The Inchnadamph Hotel was a bit like a spring-clean for the soul.
Such a magnificent area (is there anywhere better?).
The lovely couple of Richard and Janie have an easy charm and an obvious love of what they do and where they are. They were helpful and encouraging.
My climb to Conival and Ben More proved interesting and challenging, given the conditions, but well worth the effort.
Cul Mor, two days later, was a stroll in the park in comparison, but no less rewarding, offering as it does a magnificent 360 degree panorama which would be hard to beat.

My general advice? - GO THERE!

Paul Douglas

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012 via mobile

Had a wonderful stay to climb Conival & Ben More. The hotel is basic but very comfortable with a roaring fire that is very welcoming. Richard & Janie couldn't have been any more helpful or pleasant if they tried. Very much recommended.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wakefield
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

Arrived late afternoon to find a cold ,empty hotel. It turned out the hotel had been shut for two weeks and had only opened for us. Within 10 mins we had a roaring fire,the bar was up and running and a free pool table.Richard made us most welcome and even gave us 2 rounds of free drinks. Janie made some lovely grub inc brekkie and answered every question we had. I like staying in different types of accomodation and really enjoyed Inchnadamph . Hope to return in the summer months to see a different side to the hotel ....great!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovesotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Assynt
0.0 mi away
Inver Lodge Hotel
Inver Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lochinver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rhiconich Hotel
Rhiconich Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rhiconich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.0 mi away
Summer Isles Hotel
Summer Isles Hotel
#1 of 1 in Achiltibuie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Croft 338 B&B
Croft 338 B&B
#1 of 2 in Drumbeg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.0 mi away
Altnacealgach Motel
Altnacealgach Motel
#4 of 11 in Lairg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.0 mi away
Davar Guest House
Davar Guest House
#1 of 10 in Lochinver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inchnadamph Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inchnadamph Hotel

Property: Inchnadamph Hotel
Address: Assynt IV27 4HN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Assynt
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Assynt
Number of rooms: 25

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing