We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Soul food”
Review of Inchnadamph Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Assynt
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inchnadamph Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Assynt B&B and Inns
GLOSSOP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Soul food”
Reviewed April 15, 2012

My short stay at The Inchnadamph Hotel was a bit like a spring-clean for the soul.
Such a magnificent area (is there anywhere better?).
The lovely couple of Richard and Janie have an easy charm and an obvious love of what they do and where they are. They were helpful and encouraging.
My climb to Conival and Ben More proved interesting and challenging, given the conditions, but well worth the effort.
Cul Mor, two days later, was a stroll in the park in comparison, but no less rewarding, offering as it does a magnificent 360 degree panorama which would be hard to beat.

My general advice? - GO THERE!

Paul Douglas

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    27
    8
    7
    4
See reviews for
9
21
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brockham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012 via mobile

Had a wonderful stay to climb Conival & Ben More. The hotel is basic but very comfortable with a roaring fire that is very welcoming. Richard & Janie couldn't have been any more helpful or pleasant if they tried. Very much recommended.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wakefield
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

Arrived late afternoon to find a cold ,empty hotel. It turned out the hotel had been shut for two weeks and had only opened for us. Within 10 mins we had a roaring fire,the bar was up and running and a free pool table.Richard made us most welcome and even gave us 2 rounds of free drinks. Janie made some lovely grub inc brekkie and answered every question we had. I like staying in different types of accomodation and really enjoyed Inchnadamph . Hope to return in the summer months to see a different side to the hotel ....great!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovesotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

I have been going to this part of Scotland for trout fishing for 25 years. I've stayed in various places but in recent years always stay at the "Inch". It is run by two smashing people - Richard and Janie - who after years of going feel like friends and a home from home to me. They are very welcoming and work incredibly hard. The food is great with the breakfast the best cooked brekker anywhere. Yes the hotel is slightly old fashioned looking but that would miss the point entirely. Bags of character and a great laugh, you feel part of an experience and after a long day walking and fishing you don't want a stuffy, snobby attitude and setting, you just want a warm genuine welcome and atmosphere. That is what you get. Of course if you don't "get it" that's fine, more for the rest of us.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mattwright_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinross
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

I visited the Inchnadamph Hotel in July for a meal, when staying in rented accommodation nearby, then returned for a couple of nights in September.
The first impression given on approach to the hotel is of a run down Scottish Highland Lodge, the approach road has pot holes in it and the building looking slightly gloomy.
The entrance hall and reception has stuffed trout in it from by-gone years and is again slightly gloomy.
This reception is unmanned with the owner (Richard) manning the bar which is at the heart of the building and is adjacent to the entrance hall.
The bedroom I had was a double with a shower and had fine views out towards Loch Assynt, hwever it was slightly dated, bring stuck in the 80's.
It was dry and clean, with adequate towels shampoo, soap etc..
It should be noted that there was no tv or phone in the room, nor was there a tv lounge in the hotel as far as I could determine, so if you are an Eastenders addict, this may not be the place for you.
There is also no broadband in the bedrooms, however there is coverage in the bar if one is staying in the hotel. Please note that Richard will NOT give you the access code if you are just in for a meal.
The bar food portions are huge and I would challenge anyone to eat 3 full courses, though the menu doesn't change over the season, so staying here for a week could lead to boredom with the choice.
The breakfasts are very adequate and well prepared by Richard's wife Janie who is a bit of a Nigella look alike and quite charming with it.
The hotel offers a packed lunch service which is very efficient coming with a choice of sanwich, drink, fruit piece, crisps and chocolate.
On both occasions I was at the hotel, I only ever saw Richard and Janie though I imagine there must be someone else helping behind the scenes, so I suspect that sudden peaks in demand are difficult if not impossible to meet.
Therefore if you are a large party staying in the Inchnadamph Lodge, you had better give the owners plenty of warning before turning up or Richard will refuse to serve you.
Overall I think this hotel does a good job of giving a warm and comfortable stay to visitors touring the region. Were it to be slightly more up to date with tv's, broadband in rooms, and a slight makeover then I would award it 6 out of 6.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a view, it is stunning watching dawn break over the hills outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveCuthbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Upon our rather late arrival we received a warm welcome from the owner, Richard, who swiftly organised dinner and drinks in the bar whilst our wet walking clothes were wisked away to the drying room. The bedroom was very clean and comfortable with great views. Breakfast was delicious and really set us up for the day! Over-all the hotel is a little old fashioned, like staying at you granny's house, but Richard goes out of his way to assist and to make your stay comfortable. A great location for walking and (I'm told) fishing.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Munro-Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

I stayed at the Inchnadamph Hotel as part of a walking group who had booked all of the rooms.
The key positives were obviously the attitude of the staff (all of whom worked a very long day but maintained a strong customer focus and excellent sevice throughout), the food (both quality and quantity) and the cleanliness of the hotel (particularly bearing in mind there were 35 walkers as guests).
I, and I understand everyone in the group, had a fantastic stay and would recommend the hotel strongly.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewVince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Assynt
0.0 mi away
Inver Lodge Hotel
Inver Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lochinver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rhiconich Hotel
Rhiconich Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rhiconich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Overscaig House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Altnacealgach Motel
Altnacealgach Motel
#5 of 10 in Lairg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.0 mi away
Croft 338 B&B
Croft 338 B&B
#1 of 2 in Drumbeg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inchnadamph Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inchnadamph Hotel

Property: Inchnadamph Hotel
Address: Assynt IV27 4HN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Assynt
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Assynt
Number of rooms: 25

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing