We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely lovely”
Review of Cruachan Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Assynt
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cruachan Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Assynt B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 26, 2010

This is a real gem of a place, run by a lovely couple Dennis and Maggie. The views all around are indeed dramatic and you do have to factor in the drive to get here - but that is all part of the experience of course! We were in the master bedroom which was cosy - very big bed and a free-standing bath for a good soak after a long drive! A very nice drinks tray with unusual selection of yummy biscuits. Big basket of interesting books and lots of magazines around to browse through. A particularly nice touch were the two fluffy hot water bottles we found in the wardrobe and then made full use of! Maggie's cooking is indeed delicious and we really enjoyed our meal - it was also lovely sitting by the roaring fire in the lounge, especially as the wind was howling the night we were there, it wasn't the warmest of evenings! We were fortunate enough to have a good natter with both Dennis and Maggie in the morning, sharing travel tips and stories and they're so welcoming and friendly, we almost had to tear ourselves away! When leaving Stoer if travelling northwards, be sure to continue northwards on the road as the views are just brilliant. A real treat and we will certainly be back!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Es105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 50 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2010

Two friends and I decided to visit the remote north west corner of Scotland. My initial contact with the owners of Cruachan Lodge was very favourable - friendly and accommodating. I had drastically underestimated the time to reach Stoer, but they were unphased and were most kind even when we pitched up after 10pm.
The rooms were clean, well appointed and nicely furnished; all three of us were very satisifed. There is a small sitting with coal/log fire and the proprietors made sure that this was on for us, and when one of our party was a little unwell, they made him comfortable and were really kind. You can order a meal at a fixed price, and do take advantage of this, as Mrs Campell is a wonderful cook and also there is no where nearby to go, unless it is Lochinver, and the road is very twisty. There is no licence so if you wish wine, take your own.
The countryside is just stunning, with views at every corner, and the single track roads are well worth the effort. This does need proper driving and knowledge of the single track system.Also beware of the deer wandering around after dark, and the sheep at every corner.
This is a lovely peaceful place, with great hosts. I fully intend to go back.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anonymousecouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cacho_9100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maud832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank violoncella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank zaehne1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cruachan Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cruachan Lodge

Address: Stoer, Assynt IV 27 4JE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Assynt
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Assynt
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing