We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Altnaharra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Altnaharra B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
hertsfordshire
1 review
“One of the best.”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We arrived very late due to injury to a rider but nothing was to much trouble for mandy & lindsay. We were given a lovely 3 course meal (all home made) by mandy. lindsay even took injured rider all the way to inverness train station. they make you so welcome that you feel so comfortable from the first minute you meet them. I would recommend this b&b to anyone travelling in this area. we will definitley be back.
dave & david

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAVE G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    23
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
26
47
31
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Three of us were cycling the End to End and could not have been made more welcome as we staggered off our bikes after the Scottish Hills. They washed our kit, cooked a delicious meal and packed us off in the morning with a hearty breakfast, and they happened to be there at John o' Groats to welcome us when we got there. The whole experience enriched our trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brielle, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

If you find yourselves traveling to the north of Scotland you’ll find a gem of a B&B in the tiny village of Altnaharra run by Mandy and her husband Lindsay. We had a wonderful stay and we took advantage of the 3 course evening meal, at an additional cost of course, it was delicious! My wife came away with the recipe for sticky toffee pudding which Mandy made for us while there. It is located in a beautiful remote part of the Scottish Highlands which everyone should see at least once.

Room Tip: We recommend taking advantage of the 3 course evening meal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelDruid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MERSEYSIDE
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Ive just returned from my 6th visit to the Altnaharra B & B, been going most years since 2005, Its fair to say that Mandy and Lindsay run the Best and most hospitable B & B I have ever stayed in, where else would you get Bed, Breakfast and Evening Meal for £35. This B&B is ideal for cyclists and LE JOGGERS, Fell walkers, Fishing Enthusiasts, Photographers and tourists alike as I have been most of these whilst enjoying the comfort and facilities on offer.
This is a fantastic venue to be based for walking Ben Klibreck, Ben Hope and Ben Loyal, Loch Laver has beautiful sunsets and all can be seen from the porch. Sight seeing at Durness, Duncansby Head, Ullapool all worth a visit.

Room Tip: Room 1 is on the ground floor and is ideal for the less able and is just a few steps from the huge f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WINGY22579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights end of August 2013 on a cycling / photography break, from the second we arrived we were made to feel welcome and relaxed.
Mandy met us at the front door with a great big smile on her face that never left her for the whole duration of our stay.
The rooms were spotlessly clean and comfortable, well laid out tea & coffee facilities, with a great variety of complimentary biscuits.
Nothing was too much trouble for Mandy & her husband Lindsay, the local knowledge they have is invaluable when advising us of hidden gems and routes.
Nothing is too much trouble, early or late breakfast no problem, The time of your evening meal is arranged at breakfast and is to suit you, early or late no problem.

Breakfast consists of an assortment of cereals followed by a full Scottish breakfast, Sausage, Bacon, Egg, Black pudding, Haggis, tomato and toast, with a table full of Jam, Marmalade & honey you will be set up for the rest of the day,
Evening meals of home made soups, ( try the Spicy Parsnip soup its fab ) a varied meal every night we stayed, from Local Steak to Venison chops all served with fresh local vegetables, followed by home made desserts, baked apples and fruit crumbles. excellent.

The lounge is very comfortable and newly furnished & carpeted, with a modern Tv and sky.

Plenty of maps and local information books in the hall, binoculars on the window ledge for scanning the hills and deer.

An added bonus if arriving on a cycle is the secure storage shed at the rear.

You can sit for ages watching the many wild birds that visit the rear garden, watching finches flying in and out of the garden is so relaxing.

The jewel in the crown is the view of the sunrise beautiful from the front of the house, and only a short walk to Loch Laber adds to the experience.

All in all an excellent place to stay, I am already planning my return and look forward to staying here again.

Thank you Mandy & Lindsay for a wonderful Highland experience that I will never forget.

Fred

Room Tip: Front Bedroom has the best but all you have to do for the view is sit in the Porch
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed here with the riding group from highlands unbridled and it was so lovely! The home-cooked dinner was absolutely delicious and also the breakfast & lunch. The room was big, beds comfortable and the view over to the horses amazing! Also nice view over the deer grazing on the farm! Lovely to hear stories from Mandy about the Scottish winter in Altnaharra! Happy to say, that after I just made a Ranking of all the 18 places I stayed in during my Scotland holidays, this place made it to NUMBER ONE!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scotlandtrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I arrived at the Altnaharra Bed and Breakfast, cold and wet from highland rain on my way to John o'Groats from Land's End. I was warmly welcomed, shown my en-suite room, had a hot shower and welcome cup of tea and biscuits in the lounge for guests. The Bed and Breakfast is run by a very friendly couple who provide excellent value-for-money and a wealth of local knowledge and information in a gorgeous location. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble. HIghly recommended and what a wonderful cycle ride the next morning to BettyHill along the Loch.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altnaharra
13.4 mi away
The Tongue Hotel
The Tongue Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tongue
330 reviews
18.1 mi away
Lairg Highland Hotel
18.5 mi away
Bettyhill Hotel
Bettyhill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bettyhill
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
Rhiconich Hotel
Rhiconich Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rhiconich
132 reviews
13.3 mi away
Ben Loyal Hotel
Ben Loyal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Tongue
348 reviews
12.0 mi away
Overscaig House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1 Macleod Crescent, Altnaharra IV27 4UG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Altnaharra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Altnaharra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're planning a break to the beautiful remote wilderness of the Scottish Highlands, you couldn't get more remote, peaceful and beautiful than Altnaharra. So why not stop off and relax at our bed and breakfast? The atmosphere is friendly, the welcome is warm and the views are spectacular. Whether you're here for the hillwalking (the B&B overlooks one of the famous Munros, Ben Klibreck), sightseeing around nearby Loch Naver, a bit of peace and quiet or all of the above, our family run home is the ideal stop-off. With prices from just £30.00 per night a stay is also easy on the pocket, with evening meals starting price from £10.00 per person...So what more is there to say, except we look forward to seeing you!Mandy and Lindsay ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Bed & Breakfast Altnaharra, Caithness And Sutherland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing