We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice meal in a casual atmosphere.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in West Linton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Gordon Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Linton
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Nice meal in a casual atmosphere.”
Reviewed August 29, 2010

This review is for the pub / restaurant. It was good food at reasonable prices. We tried the haggis stuffed tatties appetizers, pretty good actually! The pasta dish with feta cheese was OK, the desserts were good: blueberry creme brulee, and hot fruit crumble with ice cream.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chellester58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    16
    7
    6
    5
See reviews for
16
22
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2010

A friend and I had lunch here on a cold Tuesday afternnon. Good fire roaring in the grate (we ate in the bar), excellent service with a good choice of food. I had the Mushrooms - mmm so good followed by lambs liver & bacon which was cooked to perfection. My partner had the mussel's and said they were very good. All in all a excellent lunch and good find. I will be back.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolphinton, Scotlad
1 review
Reviewed December 21, 2009

This was an informal lunch where everyone was most friendly, the food was superb, great value and served promptly and within 4 minutes of starting table service.
The guests were made to feel welcome, but were never pestered. The food was, without doubt, excellent quality, beautifully cooked and well priced (the fish was 'poached' from the junior guests until sense of "more to come" prevailed!)
The coffees and extra drinks were served by the warmth of the delightful open fire and everyone was reluctant to go home. We wish to thank all at the Gordon for their kindness without overdoing it (as is often the case) and we recommend it as a venue for lunch, dinner and/or a wee dram any day of the year.
Smith Christmas Party (second year) 2009

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mackenziehorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orkney
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2009

Stayed for two nights and found the staff friendly, the food fresh and well cooked with plenty of variety. The room was clean and bright with excellent facilities. I felt thoroughly at home and took advantage of the beautiful border countryside, driving along the back roads between Biggar and Peebles.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveGOrkney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh / Toronto
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2009

We booked the Hotel for our Wedding reception which was a family affair and we can't speak highly enough of the attention to detail and the service we received.The rooms were very comfortable,the restaurant and bar were very atmospheric and on the day of the reception we were treated like royalty ! The owners even printed out mails to be read at the speach which were sent from friends in Canada to the Hotel.....also a very touching thought was when we arrived for our meal a framed photograph of us both was at the head of the table which unbeknown to us was taken 30 minutes earlier....we even received lovely gifts each !!! I'm not making this up ! The Table layout was immaculate and the service we received was second to none and the food was to die for.We can't thank you enough Keith and Donna....you made our day very special.
Anne and Steve (Toronto, Canada)

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chulain9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
high Wycombe
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2009

A really friendly and inviting place. brilliant food and drink. far nicer than any of the other pubs and cafe's in the area.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Texnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2007

Stayed at this hotel due to the other recommendation - they weren't wrong.
Very clean, very well laid out room (I had room 4 - overlooked the main road but still OK).
Very friendly - I arrived about 4 ish and had a couple of beers (excellent beer by the way) in the bar and then out in the beer garden - reading the paper & enjoying the fresh air.
Had dinner in the restaurant, was offered a table in the bar but due to travelling all day I just wanted to eat and rest.
The food was excellent - I started with the Garlic Bread, with melted cheese - I'm glad I didn't ask for a double order or I would not have been able to eat my main course! The steak was perfection served with home made chips (with the skins on and very deep golden brown - lovely taste to them to) and an unusual variety of vegetables - it was extremely nice to have something different. The staff were very friendly and I was served very speedily.
Breakfast next day was also very good - an excellent small Hotel choice - I greatly recommend it!

  • Liked — The beer
  • Disliked — Main road - but quiet later on
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Linton
9.6 mi away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
11.1 mi away
Robertson Arms Hotel
Robertson Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnwath
170 reviews
6.2 mi away
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
750 reviews
9.5 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#5 of 8 in Peebles
224 reviews
14.8 mi away
Traquair Arms Hotel
Traquair Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Innerleithen
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gordon Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gordon Arms Hotel

Property: The Gordon Arms Hotel
Address: Dolphinton Road, West Linton EH46 7DR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > West Linton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Linton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Gordon Arms Hotel West Linton, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing