We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Trip to Scotland”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Linton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rutherford House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 West Linton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Dawn was an absolutely perfect host. Rutherford House was perfect for our first day in Scotland. It was a great place to unwind after a long flight. Rutherford house was very relaxing and just perfect for us.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
There are newer reviews for Rutherford House Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 80 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2012

This was our second stay at Rutherford House and, as with the first, it was an absolutely perfect experience. Immaculate accommodation, beautifully decorated calming bedrooms, delicious breakfast and wonderful hosts who go out of their way to make your stay extra special. Many thanks again to Dawn and Doug for some wonderful chill-out time. Patricia and Darryl Smith.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

I was lucky enough to spend a week at Rutherford House recently and would thoroughly recommend it. Beautiful decor, fantastic food and a wonderful host, Dawn. It really is worth a visit, close to Edinburgh and a golf course nearby. Many thanks from Victoria.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicbakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Such a clean. bright and tasteful house. Very accomodating and friendly and nothing too much trouble - Dawn is a very beautiful person in every way! Thanks from Frank (guitar man) and Heather

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Rutherford House is exquisitely charming, along with the lovely owner, Dawn. The house is beautiful. It is roomy and beautifully furnished. The bedrooms are bright and sophisticatedly decorated. Dawn's breakfast's were enormous, but healthy and with a great selection from which to choose. The location is wonderful, just outside of the charming town of West Linton. No one would every go to a hotel if all B&B's were this lovely. Dawn is so gracious and provided us with coffee and a snack in the late afternoon. Doug gave us great recommendations on things to see and do in Edinburgh. Loved it!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindylod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Looking for a friendly bed and breakfast in Edinburgh? The family, a party of five, traveled to Edinburgh, and found the most incredible B and B in the out skirts of Edinburgh. Run by the owner Dawn. Located at 20 minutes drive from the city Centre it is a most interesting Georgian house in magnificent shape, very nicely decorated. Located near a golf course with very nice views out of your window. It offers a nice welcome cup of tea. The 4 bedrooms each with a bathroom were in pristine state, including shampoo and toiletries. The breakfast was absolutely delicious. But most important the owner´s amiability and warmness made our stay unforgettable, We highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Try the Kingsize bedroom.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoseFSaaibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We cannot rave enough about Rutherford house and about Dawn, Doug and little Sam!
The service was 5 star, the room was 5 star, we were so sorry to go! Definately the place to stay. Nothing was too much trouble, we will definitely be returning

Cris and Macka

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cris7393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Linton
7.7 mi away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
768 reviews
6.5 mi away
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
10.4 mi away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Castle Venlaw Hotel
Castle Venlaw Hotel
#4 of 8 in Peebles
370 reviews
14.7 mi away
Cornhill Castle Hotel
Cornhill Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coulter
341 reviews
1.0 mi away
Allan Ramsay Hotel
Allan Ramsay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carlops
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rutherford House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rutherford House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Rutherford House Rutherford House, West Linton EH46 7AS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > West Linton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in West Linton
Price Range: $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by extensive mature gardens, Rutherford House offers all the comforts you would expect from a country house. This historic property, which retains many original features, dates back to circa 1800 when it was a Coach House for travellers between the North and the South. Situated on the edge of Edinburgh and the Scottish Borders, it benefits from the quiet rural countryside, whilst only a 20minute drive will take you straight into the heart of Edinburgh city center. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rutherford House Bed & Breakfast West Linton, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing