We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rutherford House Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
The Gordon Arms Hotel(West Linton)(Great Value!)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$197
$189
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Peebles Hydro(Peebles)
$160
$133
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Edinburgh West(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Livingston(Livingston)(Great Value!)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Jerviswood(West Linton)
bedfinder
View Deal
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveler rating
76
3
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
76
3
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf clubdawnluxuryaccommodationownercountry
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 80 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Such a clean. bright and tasteful house. Very accomodating and friendly and nothing too much trouble - Dawn is a very beautiful person in every way! Thanks from Frank (guitar man) and Heather

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Rutherford House is exquisitely charming, along with the lovely owner, Dawn. The house is beautiful. It is roomy and beautifully furnished. The bedrooms are bright and sophisticatedly decorated. Dawn's breakfast's were enormous, but healthy and with a great selection from which to choose. The location is wonderful, just outside of the charming town of West Linton. No one would every go to a hotel if all B&B's were this lovely. Dawn is so gracious and provided us with coffee and a snack in the late afternoon. Doug gave us great recommendations on things to see and do in Edinburgh. Loved it!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindylod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Looking for a friendly bed and breakfast in Edinburgh? The family, a party of five, traveled to Edinburgh, and found the most incredible B and B in the out skirts of Edinburgh. Run by the owner Dawn. Located at 20 minutes drive from the city Centre it is a most interesting Georgian house in magnificent shape, very nicely decorated. Located near a golf course with very nice views out of your window. It offers a nice welcome cup of tea. The 4 bedrooms each with a bathroom were in pristine state, including shampoo and toiletries. The breakfast was absolutely delicious. But most important the owner´s amiability and warmness made our stay unforgettable, We highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Try the Kingsize bedroom.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoseFSaaibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We cannot rave enough about Rutherford house and about Dawn, Doug and little Sam!
The service was 5 star, the room was 5 star, we were so sorry to go! Definately the place to stay. Nothing was too much trouble, we will definitely be returning

Cris and Macka

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cris7393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

Rutherford House was like a dream come true. My adult son and I were so impressed with our stay, from the moment we arrived Doug and Dawn made us feel welcome and catered to our every need. The house is exquisitely decorated and spotlessly clean. Our room was so inviting with crisp white bed linens and down comforters. The soft plush carpet was clean and warm, and we had plenty of room in the double wardrobes, complete with bathrobes and extra blankets. The ensuite bath was beautiful with marble floors, high end fixtures and lovely soaps and shampoos. The dining room was set for breakfast each morning with china and linens. Fresh fruits, juices, assortments of cereals, yogurts and breads were readily available, and then made to order were wonderful eggs, bacon and sausage. Dawn went out of her way to make hot chocolate for us as we don't drink coffee or tea. We relied on the bus to get us into Edinburgh each day. If you had a car it would be 30 minutes to town. During the busy morning and evening times the bus commute took a little over an hour, but the country side was beautiful. The bus drivers were gracious enough to drop us off at the Rutherford house driveway on our return from town, as the bus stop is about .5 mile away from the house. Dawn and Doug graciously offered to take us to the bus stop each morning, or into West Linton for our evening meals. We visited two restaurants in West Linton; The Gordon Arms, and The Old Bakehouse, they were both delicious and reasonably priced. It will be hard to top this experience, our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer.
Michelle & Randall Meier, Salt Lake City Utah, USA

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chellester58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews