We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, staff and atmosphere”
Review of The Old Bakehouse

The Old Bakehouse
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $38
Cuisines: Scottish, British, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Fabulous fresh produce, carefully prepared, simply cooked and beautifully presented. This Historic and Popular restaurant sits in the beautiful and picturesque village of West Linton in the Scottish Borders. Serving a large range of locally sourced, seasonal fresh produce with a diverse range of tastes in mind. We pride ourselves on great hospitality and the very best food in a relaxed welcoming and cosy environment.
Biggar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Excellent food, staff and atmosphere”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Been here quite a few times.
The food has always been excellent and the staff are always friendly.
This is a great place for lunches/dinners/special occasions.
Highly recommend.
:-)

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AngieB89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    64
    21
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, UK
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“SCRUMTIOUS!”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Ate at The Old Bakehouse for the first time on Sunday. Decor, ambiance, service and of course food were all truly first class and will definitely be returning soon. The mash potato side is to die for!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Enjoyed it very much.”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Went for lunch and very good it was. The staff were efficient and attentive. The order was taken quickly and the food was presented very soon after. It was well cooked and well presented. I had a very good duck breast.
Especially enjoyed the ambience. Clubbable, I thought. Quiet and nicely appointed. Lunchtime was not too busy. A few people were obviously just in for a quickish, reasonably up-market lunch.
Two people each having two courses (no booze!) came to £37. Not half bad. I will go again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Jas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Went here with the Inlaws..... was a success!!”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Went here for a Sunday lunch with the inlaws, we travelled from Edinburgh, and while it was a bit of a drive, it was worth it.

The place looks very unassuming from the outside, it fits in with the local village very well and isn't overdone with signs and advertisements. When you walk in, you're straight into a lovely welcome room with seating and a roaring log fire (in the winter only I would assume).
Here you can place your drinks and food order, before being taken through to the table where your drinks are waiting.

Then menu is not huge, but it is varied, and you can tell that what they do, they aim to do well. From calamari to Mussels in a Thai broth, right through to the Surf and Turf Steak and Italian pasta, we were impressed with the flavours and the presentation of the food. Piping hot throughout and a healthy portion as well!

There are only 2 little things that let me down personally here -
The main restaurant was a little too warm from the moment we walked in, don't get me wrong, you want to be warm, but you don't want to be sweating the entire time you're sat having dinner....
The sticky toffee pudding, whilst home made (good good), in the making of it, apparently the whisk broke and I found a little bit of solid plastic in my portion. Luckily I saw it, and no harm done, and the apologies were sincere and the dish wasn't charged for.

I wouldn't stop this from recommending The Old Bakehouse to anyone, it's a gorgeous little place that you must sample if you're anywhere near! I will certainly be returning next time I'm there!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Schmikes19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“"Favourite Restaurant"”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This restaurant has it all ! We especially love the old part of The Bakehouse. Always greeted by friendly owner's and staff who make you feel welcome. Very relaxed atmosphere and have never been disappointed with our meal. Problem is deciding what to choose! Feel very lucky to live locally to such a fantastic restaurant.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Bakehouse also viewed

West Linton, Scottish Borders
Penicuik, Midlothian
 
West Linton, Scottish Borders
 
Peebles, Scottish Borders
Biggar, South Lanarkshire
 

Been to The Old Bakehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing