We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great spot”
Review of St. Vedas Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Coldingham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St. Vedas Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coldingham
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great spot”
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Lovely wee b&b right on the beach. Great if you like surfing.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeeboDykstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    10
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
8
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brandon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Stayed in Middle of November and the weather was wonderful, hotel was very clean although a bit tired, brilliant breakfast which really set you up fot the day and the owners were such nice people who couldn't do enough for you. Will stay again

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sugajar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Arrival at the destination was filled with hope, as the previous visits to the area had installed in us the sense of seaside. However, the hotel has been in a limbo of renovation for a number of years and the paint work both internally and externally is looking as tired and seawashed as the staff's attitude. The carpets are worn and although this is probably from pure sand filled footwear, does give you a sense of lack of effort. The surf hire facility is run well, however, and with the hire being arranged in a typically laid back surfer style, does leave you chilled out and a bit like whatever dude. The food was fine, the range of drinks fine and the main hotel restaurant and breakfast area has superb view of Coldingham Bay. This is something that's not enitrely capitalised on, and they'd do well to have better access to seating with the view in front of guests. As for my four year old wanting a hot chocolate after being on the beach, the staff brought out a boiling hot full to the brim mug, and promptly had to have it taken from her, before we ended up in A+E. A little forethought again wouldn't have gone a miss, and if the staff want to attract families to enjoy their experience, they may want to be reminded that they had little ones in their care once too! Overall, I will go back, I will enjoy their food and drink, but hope they'll have remembered to tidy up a bit after spending too much time in the sea and surf!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlie_cheeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2010

we stayed at St.Vedas in June 2010. The hotel is situated overlooking Coldingham sands (bay). we were watching the gulls on the beach with binoculars from our room window while sat in a comfy wicker chair, also lots of birds in the trees around the hotel. the beach has been awarded a blue flag & there's no wonder, beautiful clean water & sand with a multitude of facinating rock pools at each end of the bay. a magnet for surfers & very safe for youngsters.
our large double room with en suite bathroom was exceptionally clean, well furnished & tea tray well stocked. fantastic views. there is also a small pretty garden to the side of the hotel.
The owners are lovely,as is the waitress. very friendly, nothing is too much trouble. we had an exceptional full english breakfast with juice, gallons of tea & tons of toast, a great start to the day ahead.
St. Vedas is a nice comfortable & welcoming Hotel, we enjoyed our stay very much & left feeling relaxed & content.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank latestarter50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coldingham
7.3 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#2 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
461 reviews
9.1 mi away
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
#3 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
294 reviews
6.5 mi away
Chirnside Hall Hotel
Chirnside Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chirnside
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#1 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
409 reviews
16.2 mi away
Dunmuir Hotel
Dunmuir Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunbar
295 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Home Arms
The Home Arms
#1 of 12 in Eyemouth
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Vedas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Vedas Hotel

Property: St. Vedas Hotel
Address: Coldingham Bay, Coldingham TD14 5PA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Coldingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coldingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Vedas bed and breakfast accommodation and bar is a family run business overlooking the beautiful Coldingham Bay in the Scottish Borders, perfectly located if you are looking for a relaxing break or looking for a more active time. The location is popular with family holidays, walkers, divers, surfers, bird watchers, golfers and fishing enthusiasts. With comfortable spacious accommodation, fully central-heated guest rooms which have Tea & Coffee making facilities, TV and Wi-Fi, most rooms having stunning sea views. Breakfast is freshly cooked and served in our restaurant overlooking the bay, your choice of a traditional Scottish cooked breakfast as well as a selection of cereals, tea, fresh coffee and fruit juice is included in your stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
St. Vedas Hotel Coldingham, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing