We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Loved it!”
other travelers have booked this property
Thornbank Cottage in Coldingham.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Thornbank Cottage in Coldingham.
Thornbank Cottage dates from the mid 18th Century. Traditional Scottish cottage refurbished to modern standards.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Thornbank Cottage in Coldingham.
Thornbank Cottage dates from the mid 18th Century.
Traditional Scottish cottage refurbished to modern standards.
Snuggle up in front of the fire.
Relax in the sun room.
South facing sun room.
Save on the washing up with a dishwasher.
Kitchen
Enjoy dinner with the family.
Dining kitchen room will seat six for diner.
From out bedroom to the kids' room.
From the kids bedroom to our bedroom.
Power shower
New bathroom.
Breakfast al fresco
Enjoy a glass of wine in the sunny south facing patio garden.
Enjoy a glass of wine in the sunshine.
Front garden.
From the kids' bedroom.
Reflect on a summer's holiday in the Scottish Borders.
The Anchor Inn - the closest of the two pubs in Coldingham - has a fine beer garden.
Coldingham high street
The beach at Coldingham Sands.
Coldingham Sands for surfing and rockpooling.
The beautiful Berwickshire Coast.
Heading down the beach for the day.
Blue skies and white waves.
The sun brings out the braver surfers.
Off to catch a wave.
Explore the Borders coast.
Drop in to the Beach Cafe for a hot coffee or a cold ice cream.
St Abbs - fishing port and centre of the St Abbs and Eyemouth Voluntary Marine Reserve.
Take a boat from St Abbs for diving, fishing, or to explore the wild sealife of the coast.
Surf's up.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Coldingham, Scottish Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Maggie V
1 review
“Loved it!”
Reviewed May 12, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

The cottage surpassed my expectations. Following a tough time for the family we wanted a break away just to refuel. The decor and amenities were excellent the little touches made it homely. The hi tech kitchen was well resourced everything you would need for a short break or longer stay. We ate in the village pub and bought our wine and bits in the local shop everyone was friendly and welcoming. Back home we put on the log fire and played scrabble. Very chilled.

If I win the lottery this week I will be in touch with an offer.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 12, 2018
Delighted that our cottage provided you with the relaxing break you needed.

All the best.

Milda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Excellent cottage with fantastic walks and views nearby”
Reviewed May 8, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

The cottage is beautifully presented with a fully stocked supply of toiletries, cleaning products and kitchen food essentials. The conservatory is very comfortable on a sunny day to relax and read a book or have a glass of wine. In colder weather the living room wood burner soon has the room cosy for the evening. The village shop was well stocked which was handy. There is a beach and Priory close by in Coldingham. The local pub looked nice although we didn't go in. St Abbs Head is only a short drive away. There are three walking routes either along the cliffs, out to a lighthouse or round a loch. They can all be combined and give spectacular views. The small fishing village with its harbour is wort a visit. If you enjoy a rural location and are happy to make your own entertainment I could recommend this as a short stay location.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 9, 2018
Hi Iain - delighted that you enjoyed your weekend at Thornbank Cottage in Coldingham. You certainly had good weather for your stay! The walk around St Abbs Head is a fabulous one and at different times of year you can also see baby grey seals.

All the best

Milda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 22, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 9, 2018
Hi Kevin - delighted that you enjoyed your weekend at Thornbank Cottage in Coldingham. I hope that it helped with your birthday celebration!

all the best

Milda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
kevin b
1 review
“Class”
Reviewed April 22, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Just spent 2 nights in the cottage with my wife for my birthday. Excellent 10 out of 10.nice touches all over radios ect.class

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 24, 2018
Thanks so much for the review and I'd glad that you had an excellent stay, especially as it was a birthday celebration.

all the best

Milda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michael17...
lanark
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect & spotless”
Reviewed April 3, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

My wife is fanatically clean and it's always going to be a good holiday when she announces 'this place is spotless' 5 mins after walking through the door'. It was and it was very well equipped.
We have stayed in several cottages throughout Scotland, mainly on the West Coast, this was the best equipped.
Mind you we didn't really do anything other than make toast, cook a pizza and open bottles of beer and wine. But if we wanted to we would have had no problem cooking up anything we fancied.
I would thoroughly recommend this cottage and the area. Coldingham is a quaint little village, with a small well stocked shop, with a cash machine, £1.85 fee, plus two pubs that sell food.
St Abbas is a nice little harbour village, not so keen on Eyemouth, but it seemed you would have plenty of choice for restaurant there.
Pleanty walking routes are available on costal paths, but as it was Easter and either snowing or raining, we preferred to take a short walk to the pubs, or an even shorter walk to the fridge for booze and keep cosy in this lovely cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 5, 2018
Thanks for the review and I'm glad you both enjoyed the cottage and coldingham itself. Shame the weather wasn't better!

All the best

Milda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elainecol...
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“10/10”
Reviewed November 3, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Fantastic cottage rental. Everything you need, all facilities, spotless and beautifully furnished. Location is ideal for walks and exploring. Two village pubs and a spar convenience store. Wood burning stove for cold Scottish evenings. Nice wee patio area is the weather is good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 4, 2017
Hi. Thank you so much for the review. Hope you really enjoyed your stay.

All the best

Milda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 20, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 21, 2017
Hi Caroline. Delighted that you had a lovely weekend. Thanks so much for the review and the recommendation.

All the best.

Milda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing