We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“warm welcome”
Review of Lornebank Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lornebank Homestay
Ranked #1 of 3 Lauder B&B and Inns
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“warm welcome”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

My husband and I stayed last week at Lornebank and booked literally on the spot having been let down with other accommodation. The room we had was lovely and so clean and comfortable. Margot and her husband gave us such a warm and friendly welcome. Breakfast 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lornebank, Owner at Lornebank Homestay, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and that we helped to ease the disappointment you had earlier in the day. Hope you had a super holiday in Scotland and thank you for a lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
33
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Scotland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stopped her for one night, whilst walking the Southern Upland Way. It was the best B&B of our walk - a beautiful, elegant house, with charming hosts and a lovely lounge for guests. Also the best breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarkMaidofPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lornebank, Owner at Lornebank Homestay, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for commenting on your recent stay with us. It is lovely to hear that people enjoy their stays at Lornebank. Hope the weather was kind to you for the rest of your walk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We stayed one night. The house is splendid, with large, dramatic rooms. Our room had an extremely comfortable king-sized bed with ensuite bathroom (the other rooms have an external private bathroom). Warm and very comfortable. The breakfast was excellent, well cooked and with a good choice.
Margot and Leslie gave us a warm welcome and were very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lornebank, Owner at Lornebank Homestay, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and your lovely comments are very much appreciated. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

The room I stayed in was large and airy, proper wood furniture and nicely decorated the bathroom and toilet was adjacent just outside the room, a lovely comfortable bed with nice quality bedding. A slight problem I en-counted was that all the sockets are very low on the skirting boards which makes it a little difficult to get plugs in. A great breakfast. I received a welcoming pot of tea and shortcrust biscuits.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lornebank, Owner at Lornebank Homestay, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for your nice words, and taking time to review Lornebank.Your comments about sockets is noted, and we hope to rectify the height by adding an extension to the originals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

What a lovely experience and great guest house. You will not find a better place for the money. We arrived late and found nowhere was open for food and Margot very kindly made us a cheese sand which (which she didn't need to do). The room was stunning and the breakfast was perfect.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank S1y_xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lornebank, Owner at Lornebank Homestay, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments. Hope the stars keep shining for you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

My partner and I had the most wonderful weekend here. Having not stayed in many guest houses previously I am now a complete convert. They really went out of their way to cater for our every need and are incredibly friendly. We enjoyed wonderful shortbread and the most fantastic morning breakfast.

Our room was comfortable with a living room we could relax in as well.

This was five star treatment at such an affordable price.

We would definitely recommend staying here and we will be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruthmc19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lornebank, Owner at Lornebank Homestay, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Looking forward to your return visit, and a very big thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Recently stayed here one night walking the southern upland way,everything about Lornebank was great,rooms maintained to a high standard,very clean and airy throughout,breakfast spoiled for choice and Margot and husband very helpful.would certainly recommend to other walkers.

Room Tip: All rooms maintained to same high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shetland62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lauder
0.1 mi away
Black Bull Hotel
Black Bull Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lauder
225 reviews
10.4 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Boswells
914 reviews
4.0 mi away
Carfraemill
Carfraemill
#2 of 3 in Lauder
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lauderdale Hotel
Lauderdale Hotel
#3 of 3 in Lauder
41 reviews
6.1 mi away
Broomfield House
Broomfield House
#2 of 4 in Earlston
75 reviews
8.0 mi away
Binniemyre Guest House
Binniemyre Guest House
#5 of 11 in Galashiels
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lornebank Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lornebank Homestay

Property: Lornebank Homestay
Address: 10 East High Street, Lauder TD2 6SU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Lauder
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lauder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lornebank Homestay 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lornebank Homestay is a lovely Georgian house with a warm welcoming atmosphere, the old and the new in perfect harmony. Conveniently situated on the A68 in the Scottish Borders Lornebank is perfecly situated as a base for visiting Edinburgh or for discovering the wonderful countryside of the Scottish Borders. Stay a night or a week and enjoy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lornebank Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lornebank Homestay Lauder, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing