We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best holidays ive ever had. The place is amazing :-)”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Airhouses

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oxton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Airhouses
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best holidays ive ever had. The place is amazing :-)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

One of the best lodges we have ever been to. The place is amazing. Clean, tidy, well maintained and literally everything you would need and staff are great and the hot tub was first rate. Couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barronshark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airhouses, Owner at Airhouses, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write a positive review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in the Ramsay Lodge and we have passed on your comments to our staff. Again many thanks and we hope you will be back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    3
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
37
34
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stevenston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Booked this lodge for a week with family to celebrate my 60th birthday . The lodge was fantastic and in an excellent location. Everything was perfect from the minute we arrived . The children had a brilliant time feeding the pigs and the shetland ponies . The welcome pack was very much appreciated and very tasty . Hope to return in the near future .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mhairi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airhouses, Owner at Airhouses, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
It is always lovely to receive a positive review and we are delighted you enjoyed the Capercaillie. It is a beautiful house. We use the local butcher in Lauder for most of the items in the breakfast basket. They make their own sausages and haggis. When the hens are laying, the eggs are our own or, if they are not laying, the eggs are free range from a local farm. Again many thanks for your review and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Fantastic get away location, with all the luxuries you could possibly want. Very well appointed bathrooms and beds very comfortable. All the little touches add to the overall experience. The hot tub provides excellent views during the day and at night the sky is so clear you can star gaze.
We will be returning!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetnessedinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airhouses, Owner at Airhouses, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you so very much for your positive review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Sitting in the hot tub looking up at the beautiful stars is an amazing experience. We very much look forward to seeing you back at Airhouses. Again many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed in the Lodge for a week on our honeymoon. The Lodge itself was lovely- up to a really high standard. The slippers and dressing gowns provided for getting to and from the hot tub is a really nice touch, as is the welcome basket of Scottish produce which was delicious. The location is lovely. It's in the middle of nowhere so it's perfect if you want some peace and quiet. The hot tub is lovely- we went in everyday. The view from the hot tub is great but it's best at night, particularly if there's a clear sky. Loved feeding the animals and walking Rosie the pony. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airhouses, Owner at Airhouses, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Congratulation on your weddding and thank you for your positive review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Airhouses. We are very lucky that we are in such a beautiful and peaceful area yet just half an hour from the vibrancy of Edinburgh, so the best of both worlds. We hope you will vist us again and many thanks indeed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We had a lovely stay at the Airhouses complex. The accommodation is excellent and very well presented. The owners are welcoming and always eager to provide advice where necessary e.g. day trips, feeding the animals, directing you towards the treasure trail walk.

The location is relatively isolated but for us that was part of the charm. Every morning we were greeted by the sight of swallows, hares, deer and of course the farm animals including the pig and ponies. The views are stunning and the village of Oxton (with its shop) is a reasonable walk away.

Our family also enjoyed the hot tub and this was particularly welcome at the end of a busy day exploring the local area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geopolitics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airhouses, Owner at Airhouses, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Airhouses. We now have an additional two pigs for children, and adults, to feed and we have added a few more walks in addition to the treasure trail. We hope you will visit us again and once again, many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

A truly fantastic family holiday in the Lamont Lodge. The location is very quiet and out of the way, it won't suit everyone but it was perfect for us. We have 3 children and they enjoyed exploring the area and meeting all the animals; especially feeding Sophie the pig and walking Rosie - one of the 9 ponies!! The lodges are equipped to the highest standard and every small detail thought of, I couldn't fault anything. The welcome basket was excellent and much appreciated. The hot tubs are a great added luxury and enjoyed by all. We found the owners to be most helpful and the children loved talking to Martin and hearing all about the animals. There were a couple of unexpected maintenance things to be done on our lodge during our stay and Martin was most considerate about doing them when it would be convenient to us. Thank you for a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orangecat68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airhouses, Owner at Airhouses, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a positive review. We are very fortunate to be just a half hour drive from Edinburgh yet be in such a peaceful location. We are glad you enjoyed all the animals. They can be very entertaining. There is a lot of wildlife as well which I hope you had a chance to see.

Again, many thanks indeed and we hope to see you again at Airhouses.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anstruther, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Had a lovely break in the Lamont with my husband and 2 other couples, very relaxing the weather and views were fantastic. The accommodation was excellent and had everything required for a self catering holiday. The hot tub as great fun and we had a very relaxing time BUT- the charge of £30 for a bottle of gas for the BBQ is overpriced and the no visitor rule is ridiculous! We had a visitor and got a "row" - never heard anything like this before and have stayed in plenty self catering accommodation and have friends who run self catering accommodation and they couldnt believe it! Would have made it 5 star if it wasnt for the above.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ICLJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airhouses, Owner at Airhouses, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your holiday. The cost for the gas for the BBQ is for a full bottle and includes the VAT. This is the amount we have to pay to purchase BBQ gas per bottle and it is detailed in the Options/Extras on the booking form. Everything else is included in the price. Not everyone wants a gas BBQ so it seems unfair to add it in the total cost. Lots of people bring disposable charcoal BBQs and place them on top of the BBQs we provide which seems a good option if the price of the gas is considered too high.

Regarding extra guests, you had actually booked for 4 but brought 6 which we were fine with. You also had additional guests on one or two evenings which we had not queried. We did question when a fourth car turned up early one morning and it was still there at lunchtime. We agreed it would be fine for another hour or so but not for the remainder of the day. Our Terms and Coditions are very clear about the numbers at each lodge. We feel that if everyone had extra people then the ambience of Airhouses could be destroyed. We are more than happy to accommodate extra people if it is discussed with us beforehand then we can assess the situation as a whole. (Again in our Terms and Conditions). It is also important from a security angle that we are aware of any additional vehicles/people coming and going.

Again thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxton
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,767 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,710 reviews
Bayswell Park Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunbar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Carfraemill
#2 of 3 in Lauder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#32 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,267 reviews
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airhouses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airhouses

Property: Airhouses
Address: Airhouse Airhouse Oxton, Oxton, Lauder TD2 6PX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Lauder > Oxton
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Oxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Airhouses 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 5 star self-catering lodges set in 633 acres of farmland in the Scottish Borders but just a half hour drive from Edinburgh, the capital city of Scotland. Each lodge has its own hot tub and stunning views. Complimentary Scottish breakfast basket using local produce, fresh fruit, chocolates, toiletries and so much more are provided in each lodge. Pet pigs, Shetland ponies, llama and alpacas can all be fed or taken or a walk. 3.5 Miles Circular treasure trail/jogging trail from your lodge incorporating the village of Oxton plus wildlife walks around the farm. Also new in 2016, the Rowan Pod which is luxury glamping (camping) and ensuite with separate BBQ hut. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing