We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“truly stunning”
Review of Airhouses

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oxton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Airhouses
GreenLeadersGold level
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“truly stunning”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

the airhouses were amazing, we have stayed in a lot of log cabins but this is our best so far.
from the truly stunning scenery too the peace and tranquillity this place as to offer it is brilliant. the farm animals are lovely and friendly it was great to feed them by hand. and if your after a more busy place Edinburgh is only half an hour away. the lodges had everything you needed and the lovely breakfast basket they give you was a lovely extra. recommend the Edinburgh dungeons very scary !!! . will be returning very soon hopefully.

Room Tip: all the lodges are well situated and built that way so you all get a good view and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martin_hunt17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airhouses, Owner at Airhouses, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay in the Lamont Lodge. We will certainly be visiting the Edinburgh Dungeons now - they sound a lot of fun. We look forward to meeting ou again at some time in the future. Many thanks indeed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    3
    0
    0
    3
See reviews for
39
35
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed for a week in 'The Lodge', an exceptional accommodation. Everything in this lodge was class down to the small detail. The owners have considered everything for your requirements. Loved the hot tub. This is the perfect place to relax in tranquility but also an excellent location for walking and a visit to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Sarge42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airhouses, Owner at Airhouses, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit a positive review. It is always good to hear that people have enjoyed their stay at Airhouses. We do hope you will be back some time in the future. Again many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This was the venue for my BIG birthday weekend with our adult children and their partners. We had the best time, everything was perfect including the weather on my actual birthday. The hot tub was fabulous and the countryside and views were delightful. We enjoyed petting the animals and had some lovely strolls across fields to the local village for ice lollies. The lodge was equipped to a high spec level and was very warm and cosy. We hired a BBQ for the weekend which was well worth it. The lodges are well spread out so you are not really aware of your neighbours. The weekend was just great, I could not have asked for a better way to celebrate.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MELTED_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airhouses, Owner at Airhouses, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive review and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay in our Buchanan Lodge. It is a great lodge for a celebration. Again, many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Ramsay Lodge for 7 nights and wanted to stay an extra week we enjoyed it so much but couldn't as it was fully booked. So we will definitely have to return. The welcome hamper was a lovely touch as was the fresh fruit on arrival. It was perfection in a spectacular location. The Lodge itself was spotless on arrival good high standards have been achieved. The hot tub was very enjoyable even in the rain and wind it was fantastic!
Dressing gowns and slippers were another special touch. Feeding the animals every day really made our holiday we love animals so this just topped off our holiday. Thanks Carol and Martin for a great time and all I can say is keep doing what your doing!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan101010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airhouses, Owner at Airhouses, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive review. We are glad you enjoyed your first visit to Airhouses. Next time you come we should have some more hens and bantams as well as an additional pig or two, so lots more to feed. It is good to hear that the breakfast basket was appreciated and we are lucky to have such an excellent local butcher who makes his own sausages and haggis. Again many thanks for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Our 6th visit. Has to be the most restful place in Scotland. Enhanced by the luxury accomodation with the most comfortable beds and now excellent meals available to save preparing elaborate food so more time to just relax. We stayed in the Ramsay Lodge which is excellent if you happen to suffer walking problems all on one level including patio and new hot tub. Highly recommend a visit!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TAtkiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airhouses, Owner at Airhouses, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Many thanks for your positive review and we are glad you enjoyed the frozen ready meals from COOK. They are becoming very popular and certainly save on the washing up! Once again many thanks and we look forward to seeing you again at Airhouses.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalkeith, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Myself and six friends visited Airhouses for the first time this year (2013). The lodge exceeded our expectations inside and the views were to die for. Although self catering a lot of the household necessities were included. The hot tub is where we spent a lot of our time and it was just amazing. Also we loved the breakfast package which is included in the price, we still talk about how tasty this was. We will definately be back and are hoping to make this annual event for us!! Definately worth every penny!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airhouses, Owner at Airhouses, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you so much for writing such a posivie review about the Buchanan Lodge and so glad you enjoyed it so much, particularly as the weather was still very wintry. We do hope you will be back to Airhouses at some stage. Again many thanks for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The Lodge is totally amazing and is a credit to the owners. The lodge is set in idyllic and peaceful surroundings. The perfect escape from everyday stresses. The attention to detail within the lodge is second to none, with the most wonderful views from every aspect. We stayed here for our honeymoon and it was the most perfect and romantic setting from start to finish. The hot tub is amazing and just adds to the five star luxury already in place. You will not be disappointed in your stay. Thoroughly recommend it - we did not want to leave.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airhouses, Owner at Airhouses, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive review about the Ramsay Lodge. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and also managed to get out and about as well. The hot tub is new and is a larger one that previously which seems to make it even more luxurious so delighted to hear you enjoyed it. Many thanks for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxton
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
749 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,819 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#15 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Carfraemill
#2 of 3 in Lauder
182 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
Nira Caledonia
Nira Caledonia
#17 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airhouses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airhouses

Property: Airhouses
Address: Airhouse Airhouse Oxton, Oxton, Lauder TD2 6PX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Lauder > Oxton
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Oxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Airhouses 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 5 star self-catering lodges set in 633 acres of farmland in the Scottish Borders but just a half hour drive from Edinburgh, the capital city of Scotland. Each lodge has its own hot tub and stunning views. Complimentary Scottish breakfast basket using local produce, fresh fruit, chocolates, toiletries and so much more are provided in each lodge. Pet pigs, Shetland ponies, llama and alpacas can all be fed or taken or a walk. 3.5 Miles Circular treasure trail/jogging trail from your lodge incorporating the village of Oxton plus wildlife walks around the farm. Also new in 2016, the Rowan Pod which is luxury glamping (camping) and ensuite with separate BBQ hut. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing