We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing visit”

Serenity By the sea Spa
Attraction details
Reviewed January 7, 2017

I booked a half day at the spa and was so glad I did. I really enjoyed my massage! I also loved the mani/pedi I got. I have received so many compliments on it! Just wish I would have allowed myself more time to spend in the relaxation area.

Thank Jennifer E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSBGeneralManager, Assistant Spa Director at Serenity By the sea Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2017

Dear Jennifer E,
We are overjoyed that you had a relaxing visit at our spa! We appreciate your kind words regarding our services and will share them with our team. We look forward to having you spend more relaxing afternoons with us at Serenity by the sea Spa.

Kind Regards,
Katherine Chapman —Assistant Spa Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"hot tub"
in 4 reviews
"steam room"
in 6 reviews
"zero gravity chairs"
in 2 reviews
"infused water"
in 2 reviews
"excellent experience"
in 2 reviews
"esthetician"
in 4 reviews
"pedicure"
in 4 reviews
"amenities"
in 4 reviews
"provider"
in 3 reviews
"relaxation"
in 3 reviews
"therapist"
in 3 reviews
Filter

9 - 13 of 22 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2017 via mobile

I personally went into the spa Wednesday to book our appointments for the following Saturday. I told the receptionist that I wanted a Mother/Daughter pedicure/manicure for both of us. I also told him that I would need the Shellac removed from my nails and wanted Shellac added. I asked for a 2:00 appointment and he was able to set us up for 2:15. They called to confirm the appointment on Thursday.

We arrived on time for our appointments and were quickly taken back to the nail salon. The lady, Su, asked us to choose our nail colors, and I asked what Shellac colors were available. I told her that I needed the Shellac removed and she quickly told me she didn't have time. I explained to her that when I scheduled this appointment, in person, that this had been clearly communicated. She again told me that she didn't have time. At this point, the manager was contacted. The manager came over and told Su to go ahead and do my manicure and pedicure and she would personally add the Shellac afterwards.

Su spent about 20 minutes removing my Shellac and then began my pedicure. They charged me $15 to have the Shellac removed.

The man that was doing my daughter's pedicure/manicure was very nice. She had her feet soaking while she was enjoying some ice cream. He was very friendly and professional. He did a great job cutting her nails, massaging her feet and legs, and painting her toes. While her toes were drying, he painted her fingernails. Her manicure and pedicure took just under 45 minutes since he had another appointment scheduled at 3:00. The receipt and the services menu states that I paid $35 for a 40 minute pedicure and $40 for a 30 minute manicure. So, my daughter was shorted at least 25 minutes worth of service.

Su was very kind and worked on my pedicure. It was a very, very basic pedicure. She scrubbed my feet, clipped my toe nails, quickly put hot towels on my feet and painting my toes. It was by far, the shortest pedicure I've ever had. She did not rub lotion on my legs or massage them at all. She was rushed since she had an appointment at 3:00, with one of her regular clients. The pedicure lasted about 25 minutes. I paid $60 for a 40 minute pedicure.

Su started scraping the Shellac off one hand and then the manager had to step in. She trimmed my nails and filed them down. When asked what color of Shellac I wanted, I told her I wanted the same color as my toenails. She said that they didn't have the same color. This would have been nice to know before I had my toe nails painted since she knew I wanted Shellac back on. She brought over several shades of colors for me to choose from, but there wasn't anything similar. So, I was forced to have them painted with the regular nail polish. The manager was very nice and friendly. But, never apologized for the error on their part or me being inconvenienced. She painted my nails quickly and sprayed a quick dry spray on top. It left a few of my nails looking clumpy. I had her fix one. But, they still look clumpy and unprofessional. (See attached photo.). I paid $40 for a 30 minute manicure.

I've had much better pedicures and manicures at the nail centers in a strip mall. This was definitely not what I would expect from a Spa!

On top of the poor service, I was charged $38 gratuity that was added automatically to my bill.

For my daughter and I to have pedicures/manicures, our bill was $237.63

Thank latraveler393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSBGeneralManager, Assistant Spa Director at Serenity By the sea Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2017

Dear latraveler393,
We apologize that you had an unpleasant experience while visiting us at Serenity by the sea Spa. We appreciate your loyalty to the Hilton brand and are sorry to learn our team did not provide you the best service possible during your visit. We apologize on behalf of our entire team for making you feel rushed during your appointment and can assure you this was not intentional. We have taken note of the shellac color you requested and are working to provide a better selection of colors for future guests. We understand your frustrations with the time frame of your daughter’s mani/pedi however with younger children, manicures are not as extensive and therefore do not last as long. We pride ourselves on our team member’s ability to provide exceptional service and we apologize if you felt shorted during your pedicure experience. We would love the opportunity to make this right for you. Please email me at kchapman@hiltonsandestinbeach.com so I can explain how we plan on resolving this for you. Again we appreciate you reaching out to us and look forward to hearing from you soon.

Kind Regards,
Katherine Chapman —Assistant Spa Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2016 via mobile

Facility-5, Attendants- 5, Esthetician-3. Booked a facial and asked the operator if I would be able to customize a facial due to my skin being very sensitive to many products. Unfortunately that didn't work out well. After throughly enjoying the very hot, dry and steam saunas I met my friendly Esthetician and explained what ingredients my skin is sensitive too. She pointed out a few products that she said didn't have those ingredients and I asked to read the labels and they ALL had copious amounts of those ingredients. She then said that all high quality products contain this and I should be fine (not true on either point). After asking a lot of questions, reading every label myself, we found one product and one treatment that I could use (face lifting technique using the "nuface " tool) but no facial. I really appreciated her patience but think it's important for Estheticians to know what's in the products they use. I would definitely visit again for non facial services.

Thank Kcknowsitall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSBGeneralManager, Spa Assistant Director at Serenity By the sea Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2017

Dear Kcknowsitall,
We are sorry to learn you had a disappointing experience while visiting us for facial services. We understand your frustrations and can assure you we train our team members to be well educated in the products they use. We will speak with our team to ensure they are all providing the best care possible and thank you for bringing this to our attention. We look forward to having you back again soon and apologize on behalf of our entire staff.

Kind Regards,
Katherine Chapman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2016 via mobile

Highly recommend this service...it is new. The therapist was really great! She even sent me home with the rest of the oils.

Husband had a massage...loved it. Was fantastic.

I had a pedicure to top things off. My guy was very efficient and did a great job.

Not sure why people complain about the prices. They are listed everywhere. And you are explained about the auto gratuity more than once.

Why not a 5 rating? My husband couldn't enjoy the rest of the facility...too crowded. Otherwise, a great experience!

Thank Tammy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSBGeneralManager, Spa Director at Serenity By the sea Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2016

Dear Tammy V,
We are so delighted to know how much you and your husband enjoyed your afternoon with us at Serenity by the sea Spa. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your next moment of rejuvenation at Serenity.

—Shanelle Lucas, Spa Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2016

I enjoyed the spa and all the atmosphere, but for the price of a massage with mandatory gratuity I was disappointed in the time(way less than paid for) and the pressure of the massage here.

1  Thank DrHollingsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSBGeneralManager, Spa Director at Serenity By the sea Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2016

Dear Chellephotog,
We appreciate you sharing your experience with us at Serenity by the sea Spa. We are sorry to learn you were dissatisfied with the amount of time and pressure of the massage you received. If you would like to further discuss your experience and how we may improve please let us know by emailing me at slucas@hiltonsandestinbeach.com. Again we apologize that you did not receive the 5 star experience we strive to provide and hope you might consider visit us again in the future.

—Shanelle Lucas, Spa Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Serenity By the sea Spa also viewed

Miramar Beach, Florida Panhandle
Miramar Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Sandestin, Florida Panhandle
Miramar Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Serenity By the sea Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing